We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel but nothing special”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Blockley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived and hotel was very quiet, room not yet ready but no one around to order drinks from. Room was nice very old furniture quite quirky but felt it was a bit tired. Didn't eat here as we had our dog and couldn't eat in the restaurant, this hotel has a great position for the area and although I have nothing to complain about I wasn't wowed and felt it wasn't a welcoming hotel. There didn't appear to be anyone who was front of house or enthusiastic about the place. Shame because it could be lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Paid a very good price for a two night break using groupon. The room was attractive making a feature of the inglenook fireplace and the bed was comfortable. Would have slept well had the guests in the room above not clomped around at 5am both mornings.

The breakfast was included in the nightly rate and was freshly cooked with great service. There is a nice lounge area next to reception with wifi access.

The bar/restaurant could be improved, the menu was fairly limited and not as appealing as that of the Great Western Inn at the other end of Blockley. In fairness 3.5 out of 5 would be a more accurate rating in my opinion. The Crown Inn is well placed for many of the Cotwolds attractions assuming you have transport.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidLittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel room was lovely but the noise from the room above was very disturbing at 5am. The breakfast was okay, although choice quite limited. Bed was comfy, shower effective and cleaning to a good standard. The village has very little in the way of amenities, visited both the crown pub, and the nearby Great Western and they were practically empty, it wasn't really for me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank woooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here using a Groupon voucher and we were very impressed. The hotel was in a beautiful location close to all parts of the Cotswolds and we travelled around to local villages like Chipping Campden with all it's little shops and restaurants and Bourton on Water for Birdland and the Butterfly Maze. There is not a lot to do in the village although there is a pub which serves food and village shop, lovely for a quiet walk and seeing the beauty of the Cotswolds. The room was ok, very clean and comfortable which all you can expect to pay for the price, the bathroom was small and could do with updating but we were happy. The food in the hotel is absolutely delicious and would recommend eating here, there is a small bar and all the staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again but maybe upgrade the room next time.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the four poster room if you can afford too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful ancient inn situated in a gorgeous village. Top marks for location and for good quality cooked breakfast + tried two v nice bar meals. Experience let down by the room we had in the annex (3) which did not appear to have had a proper dust for months (webs in corners, ceilings, under sink in bathroom etc), a bed that had definitely seen better days & a lot of noise due to extremely squeaky floorboards from people in room above. Not their fault but I have never experienced such a lot of noise & it was very intrusive. Thanks fully the linen & towels were very clean & nicely presented. Also it was hard to find staff; there only appeared to be young fellow on duty doing everything himself! Gave impression of something once good now being run on a shoestring. A real shame as this place could be fantastic with a little investment & effort. Perhaps rooms in the main building are better but would recommend avoiding the annex rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid annex rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gapples_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked the hotel as part of a Groupon offer at £49 for BB. I knew there was a suppliment of £20 to stay on a Saturday and I was happy to pay that. When I made the reservation, only the Four Poster suite was available on the date I wanted, and so another £20 surcharge was added. I thought £99 for a four-poster suite on a Saturday night was reasonable. The room however was quite dissapointing on check-in. There was a rather large damp patch on the ceiling with paintwork falling off. I was quite suprised as that could have been temorarily patched up in 30 minutes. Not what you expect from the best room in the house. Also, quite a bit of mold in the shower cubicle. I was also dissapointed with the breakfast as it was swimming in grease.

That being said, all the staff were very friendly and there was ample parking.

Room Tip: I don't think the Four Poster suite will live up to most people's standards. The room is lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fantasyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Crown is a traditional hotel (with oak beams etc) which is a bit off the beaten track. It is however well located for visiting the main Cotswold attractions at Broadway, Stow, and Bourton on the Water We had a good sized room with a four poster, decent sized TV, shower and tea/coffee making facilities.The breakfast was a typical hotel fry up individually cooked. The evening meals were appetising though the menu was not extensive. The car park was not easy to access because of inconsiderate people parking opposite the entrance meaning you had to manoeuvre to get in. They could do with a couple of yellow lines opposite the hotel. Service was excellent and the staff were pleasant and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blockley
3.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,992 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,142 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,068 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,179 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High Street, Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9EX, England (Formerly The Crown Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Blockley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blockley
Price Range: £54 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Blockley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing