We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stay here whenever I'm in the area on business. Wonderful atmosphere and excellent food. Staff are so courteous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    144
    37
    21
    8
See reviews for
68
467
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Meals are sublime. The lobster and chips are the best in the world. Really recommend

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okehampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This is how a hotel should be. Fine food. Fine wine. Fine rooms and large ones too. This is a very good hotel and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The owner seems to always be there taking dinner orders!! So without knowing it you will speak to the top of the tree. There are lovely walks in the grounds. You can take your dog [for that matter your horse as well!!!} They have some splendid offers throughout the year a hotel to visit. It is not far to Tewkesbury/Gloucester/or Cheltenham. Bearing in mind it is in a very quiet location really out of the way you will have no trouble having a good nights sleep after an excellent dinner and a sumptious breakfast. Well worth a vist

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The classic country house hotel experience. My first visit was in 1988 my latest was in May 2010 during the volcano disruption (remember that!). I had to extend my stay and was looked after like a prince. The staff at reception are exceptional, gracious, knowledgeable and consummately professional. Mrs. Hine is a gem. The rooms are excellent with fresh ground coffee, leaf tea, home made shortcake and fresh fruit awaiting your arrival. This is the only hotel where I know I will sleep well. Excellent food and a terrific wine list, served attentively. On my last day on earth, (given the option) breakfast will be at the Corse Lawn House Hotel (Pol Roger or Krug with the toast) .

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveThalomid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed one night here in November, having enjoyed two previous stays. The hotel and its staff are warm and friendly, and the public rooms spacious and nicely decorated. The food and the wine list in the restaurant are outstanding: my husband’s fish soup and my partridge were very good. We did not try the brasserie, but that also looks very promising.

As before, our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and comfortable, with decent toiletries, a fine fruit bowl, tea- and coffee-making facilities and home-made biscuits (but don’t expect a stocked mini-bar). The furniture and furnishings are more than adequate, but could strike some as old-fashioned without being anything like antique;
the chintzes are handsome, but not necessarily well-matched. These things did not detract from our visit, but visitors should be prepared for them, and the cracked handle for the loo and some black mould around the bath. We would certainly go back ourselves with pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We took a risk choosing an hotel we had not used before for our 54th wedding anniversary. The subdued elegance and refined ambience together with excellent food made our day something special. Our room was large and comfortably furnished - the bath had enough room for 4. There were some minor details that needed attention but this would be picky. The complimentary bedroom supplies were of a quality we have never experienced brefore - sugar, tea and coffee in caddies , fresh milk, a big variety of fresh fruit and home made biscuits - none of those dreaded little prepacked portions. As you may have gathered we are traditional in our tastes and this hotel fitted us perfectly. No background music anywhere and the majority of quests at dinner "properly" dressed. Dining was at tables having spotlessly clean damask linen and served quietly and efficiently by polite staff. We ate from the Table de Hote menu, the food being excellent with some interesting touches. The reception staff were exceedingly cheerful with broad smiles. The hotel is set in attractive grounds which accomodate a covered large pool. The real pleasure was the refined ambience- probably not appreciated by the modern generation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darby_and_joanRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Was on business for 2 nights. Room was very comfortable and spacious. I have travelled a lot and have never had fresh fruit including some exotic passion fruit, fresh ground coffee/tea leaves and a bottle of fresh mill served as complimentary in the room. Only reason marking this as a 4 was because the shower was dated and I struggled to get the mixer to work correctly.

Dinner was excellent. Only real complaint would be that they do not serve hot breakfasts before 7.30 am. so I did not get to try this out. Hence the 4 on the service. Does not help when one has to get to the office on time.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.7 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Property: Corse Lawn House Hotel
Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing