We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corse Lawn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
2 reviews
“Lovely short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

OK, a little old-fashioned, but in a ripe and mellow sort of way, rather like the surrounding countryside. The place had a lovely atmosphere, where everyone clearly cared - a real credit to Mrs Hine. The room was huge and had everything you could want. The bathroom had a double bath, bathrobes, and even a bidet! The staff could not have been more courteous, friendly and helpful. The food was beautifully tasty, with excellent, fresh ingredients and particularly delicious sauces and gravies (and a wonderful iced lavender and honeycomb parfait with poached nectarines!). The wines that we had, even at the bottom end of the price list, were really good. Expensive, I suppose, (£100 B&B pn, provided you eat in), but when you look around at what else is on offer you realise that it is fantastic value for money. A truly memorable four nights there - we shall be back!

  • Liked — Everything we needed, in plenty of space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    139
    36
    21
    8
See reviews for
64
452
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

I stayed at the Corse Lawn last weekend with my wife and young daughter and was a guest at a wedding there. The service was faultless throughout the weekend and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food is some of the best I have ever had and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. We had good weather so we were able to enjoy playing croquet and tennis and my little girl met the horses. I would thoroughly recommend the Corse Lawn for anyone with young children who is looking for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClarinetCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

This is a traditional country house hotel with a style and ambience that harks back a few decades to the recent past (an era in memory if you are over the age of 50). If that sounds appealing then you will find Corse Lawn House much to your liking. Regardless of anything else, the rooms are much larger than average for this type of hotel and are very comfy, having both sofas and chairs, and ample wardrobe and storage space (not that common these days). The rooms are supplied with fresh fruit, real coffee and tea, fresh milk, still and sparkling water, and homemade biscuits – a very nice homely touch.

A notable feature of the rooms is the décor, which is a throwback to the early and mid decades of the 20th Century. Quite possibly this style would not appeal to a lot of younger people, and, to be honest, it does reflect an era that is not now generally regarded as a golden age of interior design. Nonetheless, it works for me inasmuch as it lends the place a quirky charm. An important point here, though, is that the décor is not in a shabby condition – it would be absolutely awful if it were. The en-suite bathrooms are also spacious and are kitted out with replica Victorian/Edwardian fixtures and fittings. These bathrooms would be improved by the installation of separate shower cubicles, or, failing that, by the replacement of the shower curtains around the baths (tubs) with shower screens.

The main restaurant offers a three-course table d’hote dinner menu (canapés are served before the meal but there is no amuse bouche, sorbet or pre-desert). The cuisine, like the accommodation, is also rooted in earlier decades and is particularly gutsy in style. A starter of wild mushroom risotto was pungently flavoured with truffle oil and this was followed by a rib-eye steak, which came with horseradish mash, spinach, a small amount of roast vegetables, a dollop a béarnaise sauce and a heavy jus with the flavour of Bovril – nothing light or delicate here. The wine list is particularly good and features many bottles of mature Claret at reasonable prices. The service is polite and efficient but maybe a tad sombre – again very redolent of a previous era.

To sum up: this is most certainly not a swish modern hotel and the yesteryear style would not appeal to everybody. If you do not mind this style, though, you will find much to enjoy here, particularly the spacious accommodation, polite service and hearty food. A final point is that this hotel cannot be faulted for value for money: B&B and dinner was only £120 (wine was extra, of course), which is less than you would pay at many an inferior establishment. I would certainly be happy to go back.

  • Liked — Large size rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TedMeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

Corse Lawn House Hotel is located in a scenic part of England that is dotted with Tudor and thatched-roof houses. The entrance to the historic property offers the promise of a delightful stay. Indeed, the rooms are very large, furnished with antiques, and the windows (our room had 6 counting the bath) are adorned with window treatments made of yards and yards of beautiful fabric. Fresh fruit is on a table in your room and is replenished daily. There are tins of home-made biscuits, ground coffee and loose tea (no tea bags here) and fresh milk in your own fridge. Our huge bed was very comfortable and we loved that the sheets were so white and crisp and inviting. Towels in the bathroom were huge and thirsty and it's always so nice to have a hotel provide a terrycloth robe (although one of ours had seen better days).

The staff at Corse Lawn is very cordial. We ate in the bistro one night and had dinner in their dining room on two additional evenings. The food is beautifully prepared and it is served by polite, attentive waiters who serve you at tables covered with clean, crisp linens. It was clear that their level of inter-action with their patrons is dictated by the guest. If you choose to refrain from discussion with the staff, that is your choice. However, we found that any course of conversation was well met.

It boggles the mind that every picture on the dining room walls was crooked (we watched a guest stand up to straighten one) and that paint on the trim was obviously added to rather than stripped occasionally before repainting, leaving a very thick coat of years of built-up paint. In the dining room, it was impossible to avoid noticing that sections of the same wall were a combination of repaired plaster and textured wallpaper - not one or the other. Corse Lawn is not an inexpensive place to eat, drink and sleep. It might be advantageous for them to invest some of the profits in proper maintenance and decorating of the common rooms, thus adding to the ambiance and helping to take them from their 3-star to a 4-star rating that this place might be able to achieve.

Some of the furniture in the common rooms was tired, not in keeping with the rest of the motif or needed to be reupholstered. One night, it was necessary to ask for a different chair in the dining room because the one at our table was wobbly and seemed on the verge of collapse.

Would we go back? Probably not, because for the money spent here, it will be fun to investigate other places that have at least as much (if not more) to offer for the same amount of money. However, we would not hesitate to recommend this place for others to try. It certainly was not a disappointment.

  • Liked — antiquity
  • Disliked — needed some sprucing up
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

The food and service was amazing.
The guest rooms perfectly charming
such a romantic place

  • Liked — romantic charming good service and food
  • Disliked — the stairs/ there is no lift
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler#4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

My wife and I with Australian friends were touring Wales and the Marches, and spent our final night at this super little hotel. We were warmly welcomed, the staff were effiicient, polite and friendly. The bedrooms were a bit old fashioned but comfortable, spacious and well appointed. However the highlight was the dining and wining experience. Pre dinner drinks and canapes were served in front of a welcoming log fire, the menu was interesting, and the food of a high quality. The wine list was outstanding, helped by the fact that they had bin ends on offer at good discounted prices! Breakfast was also a very enjoyable experience. Everything, even the freshly squeezed orange juice was served by a professional waiter. No DIY breakfast here! Overall this was a very happy and enjoyable stay. The level of customer service and satisfaction is obviously extremely important to the management of this gem of a hotel.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere and food/wine
  • Disliked — only stayed one night
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

Not a bad little place, although a bit stuffy for my tastes. Pleasant location, nice room.
I thought the food was a bit disappointing for the price. You'd last about five minutes in London charging the amounts they do for the fare on offer. Service in the restaurant was alarmingly formal. I suppose some people must like having soup ladled out into their bowl in front of them at the table. I find it a bit unnecessary.
The breakfast "menu" was a rather regimented affair. If you want a bit of cereal and a fruit juice before your eggs, you'll be paying extra for the privelege. Not what you'd usually expect when paying for a country house hotel experience. However, I can confirm that the biscuits supplied in the room are very nice.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
9.7 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
15.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Property: Corse Lawn House Hotel
Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing