We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit took friends and dogs along this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second visit took friends and dogs along this time”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the location and food on our first visit we have just returned for a 2 night break with our friends and our dogs. Wonderful food good service and lots of nice touches in room inc fresf fruit great tea and coffee , fresh ill and homemade shortbread .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiegreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    148
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
478
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The house is Queen Anne owned by the Hine (brandy) family set in 12 acres. Whilst the decor is a little dated the room are large & include real coffee, homemade cookies & a bowl of fruit. The food is superb. Facilities include a swimming pool, tennis court, croquet & table tennis.

We went on a Groupon break which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived quite late, about 8 o'clock in the evening, and there was nobody at the front desk. A waitress came walking out from the restaurant, but didn't acknowledge us, or notify anyone that we were there, so we instead rang the bell. A gentleman then came through from the restaurant (if only the girl had told him we were there, we would have felt so much more welcome) and showed us to our room. He was friendly enough, but we weren't told about check out or breakfast times. We couldn't find this information in the room folder either, so ended up asking about it later on. The room however was lovely, can't fault it at all, very spacious, and I personally loved the quirky interior.

We then went on to have our meal in the bistro, which is more like sitting in a pub really, I felt a bit overdressed, as I expected more of a bistro/restaurant environment. The food was nice, perhaps a little bland, but beautifully presented. What completely let it down was the incredibly slow service - very friendly, but we had to ask for someone to take our order, then ask to have our plates cleared after the starter, and it took a very long time for our mains to appear. I had a gull egg starter, which was lovely, apart from that the eggwhite was a bit see through and runny in one place, a real pet hate of mine, but because everything took so long, I didn't mention it, but just didn't eat that bit instead. The mains were very nice, but again more attention had perhaps been given to presentation than flavour, as they lacked a little seasoning. We had considered having dessert, but having sat down at 8.45, and it was nearly quarter to 11 by the time we had finished our mains, I had almost lost the will to live by then, and just wanted to get out of there, so we didn't bother.

The grounds are absolutely fantastic, there's lovely seating outside by the large pond with carp fish, and our room was lovely. We were surprised at all the dogs staying though. We love dogs, so it wasn't a problem to us, but I can see how some people might find it a bit offensive to be sat having your meal in the restaurant, and see a dog being walked more or less straight past your table. We have stayed in other hotels were dogs are allowed before, but then they are usually restricted to certain areas. They would not walk through the restaurant area and use the main entrance by the reception.

In the morning, we were looking forward to our breakfast, but were again a little disappointed. There was nobody there to welcome us, but we were advised by the gentleman at the reception to just sit down at any table laid up for two, so we walked in. We were sat there a couple of minutes before a waiter turned up and gave us a menu. The selection was nice enough, but as they seemed a bit short of staff, perhaps it would be better to have a breakfast buffet, rather than having orange juice, cereal, yoghurt etc offered as a starter on the menu, to be brought by the waiting staff.
Again we had a long wait for our food and when it arrived, my omelette wasn't 100% cooked through, and my partners black pudding was raw in the middle. I realise we didn't give them a chance to put things right, as we didn't complain, but the service was so slow that we just couldn't be bothered.

I don't normally write reviews, but I just hope that someone from the Corse Lawn will read this, and try to address these issues, because overall we did have a fantastic stay, and we would love to come back and find that the little niggles we had with the slow service had been sorted out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am really sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the service here, it certainly sounds as
if something went wrong, as it is usually one of our strong points, but obviously we were poor
in your case, and I am very sorry. We do undercook our omelettes unless we are asked to
cook them through. We have all, as a team, noted your comments and will do our best not
to slip up again. Should you decide to risk us again, introduce yourselves and we would like
to offer you a welcome drink as an apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I along with two of our very special friends, spent a mini break at the Corse Lawn House Hotel last week. From the time of arrival to departure, the staff look after our needs with the highest level of professionalism. The double bedrooms were spacious and adequately furnished, with more than sufficient storage space and a very comfortable bed in which to relax after a busy day exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel is set in its own very well established, mature, grounds and is in easy driving distance of many of the Cotswolds popular attractions. We had a meal on the evening of our arrival in the Bristo which had an choice on the menu, would suit everyone's culinary taste. The breakfast, which was served in the main restaurant, again offered a wide selection on the menu to start the day. The only downside, was that we were not staying longer. We have no hesitation in recommending the Corse Lawn House Hotel and will certainly be making another booking in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On arrival we were shown to a suite. A lounge, which was very comfortable, and a large bedroom. The bedroom was on the dark side, but very well furnished, although chilly. Heaters were dotted about to remedy this, though it did take time. Ground coffee, leaf tea, homemade biscuits and fresh milk, together with a generous dish of fresh fruit was wonderful. The highlight though was the food. Fantastic menu with generous portions. The dining room tables were beautifully laid and the staff couldn't do enough for you. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the duck pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphrodite38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was a last minute surprise Dinner Bed and breakfast booking for a 40++ wedding anniversary.
Warm welcome, a spacious comfortable room with all the traditional niceties followed by a countryside stroll before an excellent dinner with good choice of wines.
Breakfast was generous and would set anyone up for a good day in the countryside.
Whilst in the middle of the countryside not far from Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Cheltenham, Tewkesbury and places further North.
Most enjoyable and good value.

Room Tip: We stated in Deerhurst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A charming country hotel which we were sad to leave. We booked for a birthday treat from the kgbdeal site. We were sceptical about deals having not booked one before - but we have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of accommodation, service and food. It is, as described by DerbySunshine-fan, a PROPER hotel. There was far more in the room than we could have expected including fridge, fresh fruit, home made biscuits and real tea and coffee.
However, our room (Upleaden) was in need of re-decoration of the bathroom. It was impossible to have a shower without water flooding over the bath, the wash basin was cracked and more up to date lighting would have assisted me as a contact lens wearer.
The swimming pool was accessed outside and changing in a "shed" did not appeal (although it was attached to the pool), and the pool itself was a pleasant temperature
The food was very good quality but Bistro prices were quite expensive. There was a table d'hote menu for the Bistro but very limited choice that did not change from one day to the next.
That said, the overall experience was positive and we would be pleased to stay there again if we visited the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecclescake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
643 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
822 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Property: Corse Lawn House Hotel
Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing