We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Corse Lawn is a true pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Staying at the Corse Lawn is a true pleasure”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed over the late May Bank Holiday with another couple. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel over the two nights that we stayed. The hotel is a countryside gem, our rooms were generously sized and well appointed - including the bathrooms with large corner baths. Nice touches like homemade cookies, real leaf tea and ground coffee in the room set the bar high and we were not disappointed. We ate our evening meals in the Bistro ( there is also a more formal dining room) and they were delicious. Breakfasts were very good too and in all areas the staff were courteous and helpful. The Corse Lawn is just a few miles from Gloucester or Tewkesbury and is surrounded by scenic countryside. We will definitely be keeping the Corse Lawn in mind when visiting this area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnpike_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    144
    37
    21
    8
See reviews for
68
467
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely venue set in a very peaceful grounds. Food was delicious with a very good range to choose from. Didn't stay over night but I imagine accommodation facility is very good. It is tempting to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here a few days ago, and brought our dog along. Room was lovely and very spacious. Food was ok, but I didn't understand why you had to pay extra for the vegtables..? Also one of the vegetables was some sort of dough ball covered in almonds? Breakfast was lovely. We had a margarita cocktail, but the glass was less than half full.
Overall good visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotsRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've eaten at Corse Lawn before but this was the first time I'd stayed in the hotel. My cousin with whom I was sharing this stay, hadn't been before and was bowled over by the setting, location, look of the hotel and the room, service and food, so much so that she's booked to go back there with her husband later in the year.
Our room was excellent, with loads of space, comfy chairs and beds. It overlooked the garden and swimming pool at the back of the hotel and had all the home comforts we could have wanted - proper coffee and a cafetiere, leaf tea, fresh milk, home made biscuits, a fridge and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

The food was excellent - fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and served and reflective of Corse Lawn's well-deserved place in the Good Food Guide. We ate both evenings in the Bistro, where there was plenty on the menu from which to choose. We enjoyed breakfast very much as well, so thank you to Baba Hine for that. The second day we had breakfast in our room, and the standard of the food was just as good as we'd had in the dining room on the first day. We thought this was specially good as we had boiled eggs and poached eggs, which it would be very easy to have over-cooked in the delivery to our room. But they were perfect - we guess the product of lots of years of experience.
The service was similarly top-notch, from the warm welcome and continuing hospitality we received from Giles Hine, to the attentiveness (but not fussiness) of the staff, to the generosity of the chef in sharing a recipe with us.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quieter, but the rooms at the front overlook the beautiful pond and front g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for this. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the location and food on our first visit we have just returned for a 2 night break with our friends and our dogs. Wonderful food good service and lots of nice touches in room inc fresf fruit great tea and coffee , fresh ill and homemade shortbread .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiegreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The house is Queen Anne owned by the Hine (brandy) family set in 12 acres. Whilst the decor is a little dated the room are large & include real coffee, homemade cookies & a bowl of fruit. The food is superb. Facilities include a swimming pool, tennis court, croquet & table tennis.

We went on a Groupon break which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived quite late, about 8 o'clock in the evening, and there was nobody at the front desk. A waitress came walking out from the restaurant, but didn't acknowledge us, or notify anyone that we were there, so we instead rang the bell. A gentleman then came through from the restaurant (if only the girl had told him we were there, we would have felt so much more welcome) and showed us to our room. He was friendly enough, but we weren't told about check out or breakfast times. We couldn't find this information in the room folder either, so ended up asking about it later on. The room however was lovely, can't fault it at all, very spacious, and I personally loved the quirky interior.

We then went on to have our meal in the bistro, which is more like sitting in a pub really, I felt a bit overdressed, as I expected more of a bistro/restaurant environment. The food was nice, perhaps a little bland, but beautifully presented. What completely let it down was the incredibly slow service - very friendly, but we had to ask for someone to take our order, then ask to have our plates cleared after the starter, and it took a very long time for our mains to appear. I had a gull egg starter, which was lovely, apart from that the eggwhite was a bit see through and runny in one place, a real pet hate of mine, but because everything took so long, I didn't mention it, but just didn't eat that bit instead. The mains were very nice, but again more attention had perhaps been given to presentation than flavour, as they lacked a little seasoning. We had considered having dessert, but having sat down at 8.45, and it was nearly quarter to 11 by the time we had finished our mains, I had almost lost the will to live by then, and just wanted to get out of there, so we didn't bother.

The grounds are absolutely fantastic, there's lovely seating outside by the large pond with carp fish, and our room was lovely. We were surprised at all the dogs staying though. We love dogs, so it wasn't a problem to us, but I can see how some people might find it a bit offensive to be sat having your meal in the restaurant, and see a dog being walked more or less straight past your table. We have stayed in other hotels were dogs are allowed before, but then they are usually restricted to certain areas. They would not walk through the restaurant area and use the main entrance by the reception.

In the morning, we were looking forward to our breakfast, but were again a little disappointed. There was nobody there to welcome us, but we were advised by the gentleman at the reception to just sit down at any table laid up for two, so we walked in. We were sat there a couple of minutes before a waiter turned up and gave us a menu. The selection was nice enough, but as they seemed a bit short of staff, perhaps it would be better to have a breakfast buffet, rather than having orange juice, cereal, yoghurt etc offered as a starter on the menu, to be brought by the waiting staff.
Again we had a long wait for our food and when it arrived, my omelette wasn't 100% cooked through, and my partners black pudding was raw in the middle. I realise we didn't give them a chance to put things right, as we didn't complain, but the service was so slow that we just couldn't be bothered.

I don't normally write reviews, but I just hope that someone from the Corse Lawn will read this, and try to address these issues, because overall we did have a fantastic stay, and we would love to come back and find that the little niggles we had with the slow service had been sorted out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am really sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the service here, it certainly sounds as
if something went wrong, as it is usually one of our strong points, but obviously we were poor
in your case, and I am very sorry. We do undercook our omelettes unless we are asked to
cook them through. We have all, as a team, noted your comments and will do our best not
to slip up again. Should you decide to risk us again, introduce yourselves and we would like
to offer you a welcome drink as an apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.7 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Property: Corse Lawn House Hotel
Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing