We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a treat this was - a real old fashioned (in the best sense) country hotel, with spacious well equipped rooms, marvellous service and delicious food. A particular treat were the unexpected 'extras' - homemade shortbread in the room, canapés with our pre-dinner drink and petit fours with coffee. There was a real sense of customers being cared for, and a really personal experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for such kind words. We particularly like the phrase 'real old fashioned (in the best sense)', as we totally believe that too many shortcuts in service have become fashionable in recent years - eg. buffet breakfasts, automated check-ins etc..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Corse Lawn House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for one night. Welcome and rooms of an appropriate standard for rating. Dinner in the bistro of a high standard and professionally served. Sadly did not get a good night's sleep due to the sound of running water until 2am. I appreciate that the building's charm is it's age and history, but I imagine all guests would expect to get some rest.
Also breakfast in the dining room was very formal,which some would enjoy but a more casual bistro option would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I am so sorry to hear that you had issues with the plumbing. If you could please let us know which room you stayed in we would like to investigate further as we can find nothing wrong in the system and nobody has mentioned it before or since. (That is NOT to say that it wasn't nooisy during your stay).

Perhaps if you had told/rung reception on the evening we may have been able to sort it out or at worst move you to another room. We are always keen to solve problems where there is an issue with a bedroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed over the late May Bank Holiday with another couple. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel over the two nights that we stayed. The hotel is a countryside gem, our rooms were generously sized and well appointed - including the bathrooms with large corner baths. Nice touches like homemade cookies, real leaf tea and ground coffee in the room set the bar high and we were not disappointed. We ate our evening meals in the Bistro ( there is also a more formal dining room) and they were delicious. Breakfasts were very good too and in all areas the staff were courteous and helpful. The Corse Lawn is just a few miles from Gloucester or Tewkesbury and is surrounded by scenic countryside. We will definitely be keeping the Corse Lawn in mind when visiting this area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnpike_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely venue set in a very peaceful grounds. Food was delicious with a very good range to choose from. Didn't stay over night but I imagine accommodation facility is very good. It is tempting to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here a few days ago, and brought our dog along. Room was lovely and very spacious. Food was ok, but I didn't understand why you had to pay extra for the vegtables..? Also one of the vegetables was some sort of dough ball covered in almonds? Breakfast was lovely. We had a margarita cocktail, but the glass was less than half full.
Overall good visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotsRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've eaten at Corse Lawn before but this was the first time I'd stayed in the hotel. My cousin with whom I was sharing this stay, hadn't been before and was bowled over by the setting, location, look of the hotel and the room, service and food, so much so that she's booked to go back there with her husband later in the year.
Our room was excellent, with loads of space, comfy chairs and beds. It overlooked the garden and swimming pool at the back of the hotel and had all the home comforts we could have wanted - proper coffee and a cafetiere, leaf tea, fresh milk, home made biscuits, a fridge and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

The food was excellent - fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and served and reflective of Corse Lawn's well-deserved place in the Good Food Guide. We ate both evenings in the Bistro, where there was plenty on the menu from which to choose. We enjoyed breakfast very much as well, so thank you to Baba Hine for that. The second day we had breakfast in our room, and the standard of the food was just as good as we'd had in the dining room on the first day. We thought this was specially good as we had boiled eggs and poached eggs, which it would be very easy to have over-cooked in the delivery to our room. But they were perfect - we guess the product of lots of years of experience.
The service was similarly top-notch, from the warm welcome and continuing hospitality we received from Giles Hine, to the attentiveness (but not fussiness) of the staff, to the generosity of the chef in sharing a recipe with us.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quieter, but the rooms at the front overlook the beautiful pond and front g...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for this. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the location and food on our first visit we have just returned for a 2 night break with our friends and our dogs. Wonderful food good service and lots of nice touches in room inc fresf fruit great tea and coffee , fresh ill and homemade shortbread .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiegreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corselawn, Owner at Corse Lawn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
524 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
847 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range: £106 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing