We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very oldy worldy but loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2007

I stayed here in April 2005 but felt compelled to write about this hotel as it has some very happy memories associated with it. We were recommended this hotel by my husband’s boss at the time as a romantic getaway which it certainly was! We stayed here for one night in the early stages of our relationship and remember thinking when we got into our room how very old and traditional everything was and I was wondering why I was going out with a guy that had such different taste to me! Turns out he thought the same as me! Sure we poked fun at the oldy worldliness of the room but I learnt to appreciate the décor and in fact it is very suited to the hotel. The fresh milk, the biscuit tin and fruit bowl did it for me, you just don’t get things like that in hotels these days. The room was huge, the bathroom could’ve fitted a double bed within it too I’m sure!

Being in the middle of the no where, we splurged at this hotel, having breakfast in bed and a lovely meal in the restaurant. It was all quite expensive but worth every penny.

I haven’t stayed at the hotel since as it was so expensive but we did go back last year for a meal in the restaurant on Valentine’s day. We left the hotel that night engaged to be married! I’m really looking forward to staying again – it’s one to save for that special occasion!

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spongebobs_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2007

Arrived for a one night stay on business. The hotel is in a quiet rural location - very pleasant - but I couldn't get a signal on my mobile which was an unexpected nuisance. In addition they didn't have a note of my booking though fortunately had a spare room - so I ended up with a large bedroom which they kindly charged me only a single room rate for.

I ate in the bistro on the evening - the food was excellent, as was breakfast the next day - good quality products, beautifully prepared and served.

I liked the fact that my room had not just the usual hotel-style tea and coffee facilities - but rather proper tea and coffee (plus cafetiere), home made biscuits amd a bottle of fresh milk in the fridge.

Service was good though I have to say I found the proprietress, Baba Hine, a bit intimidating - I'm sure that wasn't her intention and more regular patrons seemed to get on very well with her !

The decor and furniture was very traditional - good quality and generally in good condition (the soft furnishings in my room all looked quite recent, including chair and sofa upholstery).

I found it difficult to make my mind up about the hotel. It has a lot going for it (eg the garden flower display was beautiful) but somehow it wasn't quite what I had expected and I found it impossible to feel 'at home'. Probably a lot better suited to couples and families than single travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taxmancometh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed: May 2007
Thank JChalmerswannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coffeechris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corse Lawn
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
536 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
20.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corse Lawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corse Lawn House Hotel

Address: Corse Lawn House Hotel | Corse Lawn, Corse Lawn GL19 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Corse Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corse Lawn
Price Range: £99 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corse Lawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Queen Anne listed building set in 12 acres of gardens and fields. Owned and run by the Hine family (of Cognac fame) for the past 37 years. AA Top 200 rated hotel and recent winner of 'Country Hotel of the Year' (awarded by the Good Hotel Guide). Award winning restaurant is the heart of the hotel alongside a popular bar bistro. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corse Lawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corse Lawn Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing