We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a relaxing romantic getaway”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed in a very spacious room, with a separate seating area, and a massive bathroom with top-notch amenities. The room was funky but very comfortable (sometimes it feels like hotels sacrifice style for comfort / purpose which kind of misses the point), the windows large, the views fantastic. Cowley marries new with old seamlessly and it's amazing that a building so grand and imposing can also be so cosy and welcoming. We enjoyed chilling out in its varied seating areas, had a game of pool in the games room, wandered around the beautiful grounds, browsed the shop, ate in the restaurant. It was a really easy, relaxing, pleasurable weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Cowley Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

Fantastic hotel, beautiful buildings and spa, great food at good prices

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Given the initial visual impact when you first visit Cowley Manor, it's easy to see why the novel Alice In Wonderland was inspired by the location - truly magnificent location, gardens and house. When entering the hotel you are taken back by the outstanding unity of both old and new, with the perfect twist of modern furnishings providing a fresh feel to an older property.

The staff go out of there way to ensure that your stay is a great one, while not being too intrusive. The bedrooms and bathrooms (as big as the bedrooms!) are outstanding, and furnished to a very high quality. The evening meal was superb, as was breakfast in bed the next morning!

The purpose of my trip was for a romantic weekend away, of which this location ticked all the boxes. I take away fond memories of proposing to my now fiancee in the gardens of the manor, and the pure relaxation of the Spa experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0tc0mguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The approach to the mansion is very grand and we expected the interior to match the traditional exterior so it was a shock at first to see that the interior had all taken a very very modern minimalist theme that on first glance we felt looked a bit on the "cheap" side!

..... however! once we accepted the difference in concept and saw the very well furnished if small room with a fabulous bathroom and huge walk in rain shower, we saw through this and saw the hotel as being very cosy and relaxing without any of the sometimes "stuffy" feeling with some country hotels

The room was a standard room but perfectly acceptable with good quality fittings - the best bit was by far the bathroom which was wonderful apart from the slipping wooden floor - take care as this could be a safety hazard if you dont take care - the huge rain shower was great and the bathroom had a very lovely cosy romantic feel - the bath was a good size ,,,, not huge but room for two!

There were no complimentary drinks - no water - everything was charged as an extra - good quality toiletries in the bathroom though]

my partner needed as shirt ironing for dinner and they collected it from us within 5 minutes of calling down and brought it back beautifully pressed less than an hour later!

The spa is fabulous but unfortunately its quite a walk from the hotel without any covered walkway which kind of spoils the experience - when you get there though it is worth the walk and very cosy - all very modern and inviting with great chairs by the pool and magazines and newspapers - lovely changing rooms and a good sauna and steam - ,,, unfortuantely no jacuzzi though

There was music in the bedroom and their own CD which we played over and over again and in fact bought it on checking out - it would be a lovely parting gift as a wonderful memory to keep if the hotel gave these to guests rather than charged £12 for them

We had dinner in the restaurant - the bar area was fairly cold and not the usual cosy traditional bar we liked - however once we had a good G and T we settled into the chairs which were actually more comfortable than they first appeared

We enjoyed a good dinner - it wasnt he best food we have ever had but it was a nice experience in a beautiful dining room - I agree with the other reviews that breakfast is superb - very good quality - well presented - lovely quality food - .... freshly squeezed orange juice - good selection of quality breads - superb espresso coffees - great smoked salmon and scrambled eggs

We relaxed after dinner playing monopoly in the lounge and having games in the lounges for guests to use was a nice touch

No free wireless internet - the hotel has quite a corporate feel about it - the staff are very professional although I couldnt single out anyone I particularly remembered for oustanding service - I am used to a little more interaction with staff but this is quite a large hotel and that might be a reason for feeling it did feel more like a top end chain hotel service wise rather than an intimate country house hotel - because of that I cant make my mind up whether this interesting concept works or not for me - some things did and some things didnt - I guess its very much down to personal taste

This isnt a cheap hotel and I think over all it is a bit overpriced for what it is but its worth trying if you are in the area and want to try something a little bit different to the usual country house hotel

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had a two night break here early in January and weren't quite sure what to expect based on the Hotel website. We were pleasantly suprised how well relaxing modern chic worked for Cowley. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.

We stayed in one of the "great rooms" which was absolutely stunning and enormous with lots of small nice touches.

The only formal part of the hotel is the dining room, meals were very good and the place was full with hotel guests and visitors both nights.

The spa is well reviewed and justifiably so according to my wife who had a couple of very relaxing treatments during our stay.

Whilst you may baulk at the price when booking, it is an excellent retreat set it gorgeous grounds and provided a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobamory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This was our second visit to Cowley, our first with a small child in tow. The last time we visited was in spring 2004, and it has improved since then. The staff no longer consider themnselves too achingly cool to talk to the customers, and have become genuinely polite and helpful. The facilites have been maintained exceptionally well, and show no signs of wear and tear. The spa, especially its pools, are blissful; swimming in the heated outdoor pool in spring or autumn under the stars is a truly magical experience. We stayed in a "Great Room", which is really more like a small apartment, and has best-in-class beds. The mezannine bathroom is small, and not very private,
which is the only drawback.
Its getting very difficult to eat badly in the cotswolds, but even by those standards we found the restaurant to be good (and reasonable value) in the evenings, and breakfast was superb.
The only legitimate criticism of Cowley Manor today is that it remains nosebleed inducingly expensive on peak rates, and totally out of line with compable hotels. Nobody spending their own money should go their except on discounted off peak periods, which is what we do, and even on these it rates as two stars for value. On full rates i would rate it as zero for value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Lovely grounds, very nice spa with good treatments. Good play rooms as well as common seating areas in the hotel. Large sized bedrooms with huge bathrooms, that are well heated.
Breakfast was the best meal here, otherwise the food was average. Perfect for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,333 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,395 reviews
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,059 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
9 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range: £171 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing