We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as on previous visits - restaurant disappointing”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have enjoyed previous visits here, but this time ( a weekend break) we were disappointed, mainly by the restaurant - we recalled having excellent meals, whereas this time, they were unremarkable, bland with everything tasting the same. Most people on a short break probably want to eat in, so the restaurant needs to up its game. Also the restaurant staff seemed under-trained with little knowledge of the menu, etc. Breakfast was short-staffed so often long delays in getting dishes/ tea etc. We had a courtyard room which was a waste of money as the sitting room was too cold to use. Overall, our sense was of a place which has let standards slip somewhat and which is content to rely on corporate events and weddings for its income.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nollaigbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel set in its own Capability Brown style landscape complete with lake, Italianate cascade,
the best Spa in the area with fabulous outdoor heated pool, is the ideal romantic setting for a wedding.
There is a quaint Old English church a mere 50m from the hotel within the grounds which can accommodate max 85 guests, most of whom can stay in the hotel and its converted stables if the entire place is booked for the wedding and the night after. That is the way to do it! one big happy family gathering, friendly staff, fabulous food, quirky 1970's retro decor, spacious rooms and cool cucumber laced water in the spa coffee area to sip after an outdoor dip.
We had a brilliant time here and would recommend it for a weekend retreat or a big occasion.
The nearby Green Dragon pub serves the draught ales a short country lane walk away which is the only thing lacking at Cowley. Hardly a problem, try it and chill out or celebrate.

Room Tip: the best rooms are in the hotel itself facing the lake: the 3 at first floor level have wonderful te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookstours69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

This is my second review of Cowley this year but we had such an amazing time during our recent stay that I just had to comment again. We stayed at Cowley for my birthday in the very lovely room 19. Gorgeous bathroom overlooking the lake and the usual Cowley big fat bed. From the moment we arrived to the moment we (rather reluctantly) left, we were treated like royalty. From champagne in my room to flowers (thanks Jim!) to an amazing cake (thanks Amy - we ate the lot!) to fabulous service from a great, long standing team, this was one of my most very bestest birthdays. There is something magical about Cowley - you just have to try it. The surrounding landscape is stunning - the walking is fabulous - but it's more than that - I can feel my blood pressure dropping like a stone as soon as I arrive. It's the ultimate chill out spot and nothing is too much trouble.

Special thanks to Jim (you're the best), Elliott, Madarah (I just know I've spelt that incorrectly), Amy, Dom and Helen. You made my birthday wonderfully special.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkandLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

just had a spa day at cowley manor with a friend and found it quite disapointing. The drive up to the hotel is wonderful. The building is so impresive and the gardens beautiful. however, the spa is clinical and unwelcoming. for me, the reception area is like a local leisure centre cafe. The treatment rooms are OK but nothing special. however the real let down were the pools. The outdoor pool was not sufficiently well heated to use and the indoor pool nt much warmer. I recently visited pennyhill park where the outdoor pols are like getting into a bath - such a treat in the winter.
So much more could be made of this spa. Why not have an outdoor hot tub and open fire like they do at calcot manor?
We took lunch in the bar in the main house. We sat by the fire which was lovely but the waiter got our order wrong and trying to catch anyone's atention was difficult. The food was just ok, but absolutely nothing special.
Overall our experience of the day was a bit of a let down. It was such a shame the spa expereiince and service did not match the lovely setting and building.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Lulu041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My adult family of 3 couples enjoyed a 3-night weekend there in late November. We were warmly welcomed and looked after magnificently throughout our stay. We had "better" rooms in the Stable block, each spacious and comfortable, extremely well-appointed. The only downside was the absence of tea/coffee-making facilities in the rooms, although for no extra cost they did supply hot drinks.

The 3 dinners were delicious, and beautifully presented. Breakfasts were leisurely and with a wide choice. The restaurant overlooks the extensive and beautiful grounds which are lovely to walk through.
The heated pool, sauna and steam room etc are all excellent.

The service of every single member of staff was exceptional. They went out of their way to make us welcome, booked the cinema for us, answered queries, saved CDs, & DVDs for us. They suggested that our final dinner was in the small dining room "en famille" where we had a great game of Trivial Pursuit during the meal and felt really relaxed. This crowned a wonderful weekend stay.

Room Tip: "Better rooms" in the Stable Block are on 3 floors, like little apartments, only a short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Its been a while since we've been to Cowley so I was pleased to see on our recent visit that there has been no let up in standards.

The rooms still feel as fresh as ever, the staff strike that perfect balance between being efficient and professional but not stuffy and the food was outstanding.

We indulged a bit with spa treatments this time and they compared with the best we've had anywhere.

Even when it's pouring with rain it's still the best place to be and having tried most of the other hip boutique country manor type hotels I'd always come here in preference now.

Room Tip: I like no 21!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigwilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

As our first spa break/country retreat we searched hard to find somewhere with a contemporary edge and not too traditional and Cowley Manor has just the right mix.

Set in breathtaking surroundings this beautiful manor house has been restored with a chic modern environment whilst still retaining the essence of an English country retreat. Making the most of the mid-week out of season deal we stayed in Room 11, one of the ‘Better’ category rooms in the stable for ultimate peace and quiet. The room was a good size with a huge bath in the bedroom, the only draw-back being the floor boards were pretty creaky so we could hear the residents in the room above every time they moved around. A minor grumble though.

The room was also the closest to the impressive spa (handy as it rained the whole time we were there). The spa has a huge pool and with decent treatments was a great place to chill out for the day, helped by a good music selection.

The staff throughout were very efficient and friendly and always a pleasure to deal with. The breakfasts were equally impressive and the dinner in the main building was a good standard in the beautiful dining room overlooking the grounds. This truly is a retreat (although the nearest pub – Green Dragon only a 10 minute walk away also did great food in a cosy, country environment).

We came to chill out for three days and totally wind down and did just that, to escape the bustle of London life we can’t fault it – will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Our room in the stable seemed more private and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,413 reviews
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range: £158 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing