We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed as wedding guests at this beautiful location. All was excellant - the wedding reception, the food, the rooms particularly the amazing bathroom, the spa.... Just wish we had more time to enjoy all!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyloo272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    189
    107
    55
    25
See reviews for
154
420
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

had a very relaxing break at Cowley Manor. Beautiful grounds which you have a walk round if you get chance.
For the price I thought the breakfast was average nothing special.
Stayed in the stable block the rooms are nice but be warned what ever they say the Internet signal is very poor.

Room Tip: Rooms in stable block poor Internet signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach23el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the visit. A wonderful old home converted into a great selection of rooms to lounge around in and relax and given a contemporary feel whilst retaining the grandeur of a country house. Lively colourful rugs and big sofas and chairs adorn the lounge and seating areas and the restaurant has comfortable chairs to get you through a long sitting. The bar area with open fire and good waiter service means you can relax and admire the amusing crafted animals on the walls of the bar. A nice welcome from the staff with drink and a hot towel to start you off, wonderful grounds to wander in, far enough off the beaten track to be peaceful and some great room choices. The Spa is nice if a little small and appointment times taken quickly so book in advance. We've seen some reviews suggesting the food is "bland" - which we feel is unfair as the choices were good and the right flavours there to experience and at least everything is local/UK supplied. You shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a separate building with the deluxe/special rooms in (1 minute walk from the main hotel) wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiV26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Cowley Manor with my mother and brother for a get together.
As we were three in the room, the hotel had tried to give us a special room with three single beds. It's a super retro designed attic room, very quaint, but I didn't want to stay there. We asked to be moved, so for the occasion we were taken to a tour of all the hotel rooms. Each room is different from the other, layed out and designed with a totally different feel. We settled for the mews/stables and had a very big spacious modern double bedroom with an extra bed and access to the courtyard with deck chairs and lounges.
There's a special feel to the place. The building is an old manor and yet the inside is trendy. It looks as if the designer had a ball giving a different theme for each room. A very funny and playful playroom, a relaxing lounge a serious restaurant a trendy bar and a quick easy going cafe.
The spa in the hotel is beautiful, outdoor and indoor pool, good spa treatment and the toiletries which we also had in the rooms,are special and made locally with natural ingredients.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alzouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed two nights in a great room with a view of the grounds and lake. The whole experience was fantastic. The room was beautiful and spacious with a sumptuous comfortable bed. The bathroom was stunning, with a walk through shower and large tub. The best was the view, whatever you were doing in the bathroom or bedroom you could see the stunning grounds and rolling hills in the background. The design of the room was a wonderfully modern but in a way which blended in with the old manor house.

The service was first class, from your greeting on arrival with warm smiles right through to departure. Every member of staff had one goal - to make guests feel comfortable, welcome and cared for and this shone out like a refreshing beacon. Nothing was too much trouble, service as good as this in such a warm style is rare.

The food was high class both in the restaurant and the more relaxed bar area. Top quality ingredients are used and the style is very modern British throughout. One dish, lamb cooked three ways was one of the best executed dishes I have ever eaten. The breakfast is amazing, made to order and you can pretty much have any kind of breakfast you like. Portion sizes are huge, there is no cutting corners here. A mention has to be given to the amount of locally sourced ingredients - especially the cheese.

The spa is wonderful, with a stunning infinity indoor pool and heated outdoor pool and the staff giving treatments kind and very professional. This is a spa to relax every cell in your body.

After 3 days myself and my wife felt renewed. The hotel is expensive but it is fair value for the experience. We have already booked to return in June. This place is highly recommend it is as if somebody designed a hotel solely for guests in a modern style but still with the best of the country tradition.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We're fresh from an all-too-brief stay at Cowley Manor, having secured a brilliant value-for-money last minute rate listed on the website. This beautiful retreat has been on my list of must-visit places for years and so I was worried that the eventual experience wouldn't live up to my high expectations. My worries vanished, as soon as we crept into the snowy grounds and we caught sight of the gorgeous manor blanketed by snow.

It really is an impressive place, with lovely grand proportions, yet a homely snug feel. In fact, I think the photographs somehow don't quite do the place justice. Scandinavian wood leads the furnishing design within ornately panelled rooms and splashes of vibrant, retro colour come through with quirky rugs and artwork.

There is plenty of space to wander around, inside and out and it's easy to find a comfy armchair near a crackling fire to read the papers or play a board game. Staff are attentive and really friendly and there is no air of pretentious stuffiness that sometimes attaches itself to the rising price tag. We indulged in afternoon tea on our arrival and settled for some great quality grub from the all day menu later on, rather than taking dinner in the restaurant. Again, service was what you'd expect and hope for and food tasted scrummy.

The spa was heavenly, particularly at dusk, when the pool area was cosy and inviting and the glass walls gave views of the snowy gardens outside. Another space to simply recline on a lounger and unwind.

Although we had a 'good' room category, it made me wonder what on earth more the higher categories could possibly offer. Ours had a cosy, hunting lodge feel with all of the luxuries you would hope for; Bose sound system, Blu-Ray player, coffee machine, CD player complete with specially compiled music. And the bathroom was huge, with superb lotions and potions, a bath fit for two and separate shower, complete with stunning views across the water to countryside beyond. We enjoyed a silent night's sleep, rare for an old mansion that you would expect to groan and creak with age.

I'm so pleased that the staff we encountered everywhere were so lovely and welcoming because I believe this can really make or break a trip away; from the gentleman clearing snow out front on our arrival, to the little treat of hot chocolate with marshmallows handed to us as soon as we crossed the threshold, and the little package of body creams delivered just for me (due to being pregnant and unable to use the hotel's preferred ones) - nothing was any trouble and all of it was appreciated, including the wine tasting and advice that my husband enjoyed! Special mention goes to Pippa on reception, who was great.

After a delicious cooked breakast, followed by a yomp around the grounds this morning in the hotel's Hunter Wellies, we left refreshed, mightily impressed and wondering why we didn't do this sooner!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is the second time that we have visited Cowley in six months. We first came in August when we really enjoyed our stay but unfortunately at times the restaurant service was chaotic and front desk were inexperienced and at times inefficient.

We were honestly in two minds whether to go back or try somewhere new for a mini spa break. We are so glad that we gave Cowley another go.

The service this time was amazing, smiles everywhere, friendly, timely and efficient. I'm not sure what happened in the summer, it may have been the sheer volume of people but this time everything was spot on. Cowley has really upped it's game.

I really cannot fault any of the team, they were all amazing. I must single out Izzy in the Spa, she was uber friendly, great customer care and an excellent therapist, my massage was great. The spa was clean, well run and it was so relaxing to take a dip in the warm indoor pool and watch the cold weather outside.

Our room was fantastic, large, clean and it had a great bed. The turn down service was also excellent, as was the maid service.

Both the bar and restaurant were warm and inviting. Service was quick and the food was excellent. We ate in the hotel for 3 nights and could not fault the food.

The grounds are well kept and great to have a stroll around. It was cold and crisp when we visited with a little snow, so the wellies provided were useful and allowed us to explore and take some great shots of the house.

In summary, the house is great, quirky and well looked after. The spa is bliss but it's the people that make Cowley special. This time it all ran like clock work. From the waiters to the chef, from reception to the spa, thank you all for a great stay. We'll definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
17.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
15.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing