We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family hotel”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb family hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Cowley Manor over the New Year period. It was our first hotel visit with our "energetic" toddler so we weren't sure what to expect but it was a revelation - the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious and when ordering in the bar (where children are allowed) it came very quickly which is always a blessing with children. The spa was gorgeous with an outdoor and indoor pool. I liked the little touches - such as good magazines everywhere, fresh fruit in various locations, wellies to borrow etc...the grounds were also amazing for exploring, including the lovely rock garden which I imagine in the summer would be magical. What struck me most about the hotel was that it managed to be child-friendly but still grown-up enough so that it didn't feel like an expensive centre parcs...we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We booked an exceptional room so we could sit somewhere while our child slept - this made the stay q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    190
    109
    56
    26
See reviews for
157
430
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Not the best hotel if you are a business user. Granted it is a lovely place in a great location and I did not sample all what the hotel has to offer ie spa facilities. I stayed for two nights, food was very good, service excellent but no phone signal and the wifi is supposed to work in the rooms but the signal was too weak. This also meant that many tv channels were not available on the digital televisions. When entering my room for the first time there was no remote for the tv and I had to wait a long time for this to be resolved. Probably best is you are not traveling solo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were looking for somewhere special to take my mother in law so she could catch up with family but the teenagers would not get bored and we would not be rushed to leave after the meal. Cowley Manor offered the perfect solution. The day began with falconry, then a walk with the dogs followed by a brunch. After the meal we relaxed with snooker and scrabble, coffee and mini mince pies. The atmosphere was splendid and the service excellent.
Now the grumble - corn chowder soup was dreadful, tasted like single cream with a tin of sweetcorn thrown in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavallins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a spa break with my aprtner. Massage and day spa for £150. The outdoor pool is brillaint for the summer months. I visited in September but it was still warm enough to enjoy the outdoor pool. It is very much a 5 star experience however it's reasoanbly pricey. The food was lovely too and the choclate brownie is to die for. What recemmended this to anyone looking to take there partner out for a birthday or to spoil them for a special occasion.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Cowley Manor has everything you need for a relaxing time away. Everything here, both inside and out, has been meticulously thought out and it really shows through all the little touches. We recently spent a night at the hotel for a Works party and between the group of over 20, we made good use of all of the facilities.

We arrived just before lunch and went through to the bar; the menu and the cocktail lists were fantastic, you could choose between sandwiches and salads or more substantial main meals. We all picked a variety of meals and everyone’s was fantastic, the sandwiches were all large and had exciting fillings. As we were all going between the spa and our rooms, the bar staff were really flexible and managed all of orders so none of us were left waiting of hungry!
The spa facilities were fantastic even the outdoor pool was lovely in the December mist! All of the treatments were great and the abundance of Green and Spring goodies around the spa to use was a theme that carried on into the hotel. As a guest at the hotel you are free to use all of the spa facilities which include two pools, a steam room and a sauna. Everyone is really relaxed and it is a very calm and chilled place to laze away a few hours, there is also a little café area to have drinks and snacks in between treatments which will extend your time down there.

The rooms in Cowley Manor completely deserve the names the hotel have given them; Good, Better, Great, Exceptional and Best. The Good are more than just good, they may be smaller than the Great or Exceptional rooms but are completely in line with the design and quality. We booked a whole range of rooms and everyone was thrilled with them. They are superbly designed and everything down to the mini bar was perfect and really thoughtful; the mini bar was stocked with unusual and interesting bits including fresh milk for your tea or coffee. Everyone came away talking about the lovely products in the bathrooms and how they came in large enough bottles to actually use.

We had Supper in a private room and had pre-ordered our food but the menu choice was varied and interesting. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal and all of glasses were kept topped up by the attentive waiters and nothing was too much bother. We did see the dining room at breakfast and it was beautiful. The view over the lakes was a lovely way to start the day, as was the incredible breakfasts. The Cowley Breakfast was a popular choice in our party and sorted out any tender heads from the night before.

A huge thanks to everyone at Cowley Manor for hosting a fantastic Christmas party. The hotel itself is so relaxed and friendly and really lends itself for a large family get together, this is a large part down to the wonderful staff. It was a truly special evening and one that will be fondly remembered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Cowley Manor. We made full use of the spa facilities and enjoyed very professional treatments there, as well as tea and cake poolside.

Our bedroom was fantastic - completely unexpectedly we were upgraded to a Great room when we'd booked a Better room. The bathroom was stunning, the products smelt lovely, the mini-bar was stocked with anything and everything we could want, the bed was enormous and luxurious, and breakfast in bed for no extra room service cost was a brilliant touch.

You don't need to leave the hotel - the bar, pool room, sitting room and restaurant are all you could ask for - but their grounds are equally stunning with a few nooks and crannies to explore as well.

All in all one of our best mini-breaks away and the politeness of the staff - who leave you to get on with things but are there if you need them - really make it stand out. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilo_Lil1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My partner and I cam here for a week in August and it was just bliss. A three storey room in the stable block was just perfect and fantastic value. I loved the unusual mini bar..and the DVD collection you could borrow. In fact the design of the room worked so well, with the downstairs lounge, bath and monsoon shower and loft style bedroom that we missed it when we came home.

The staff were incredibly attentive, bent over backwards to help us out, despite a wedding party arriving and another leaving and when the English weather threaten to ruin our picnic quickly improvised and came up with a back up plan that saved the day.

While staying a theatre company came and put on an open air version of Midsummers Nigh Dream. It was beautiful done and the hotel managed to accommodate all the additional people seamlessly.

This hotel and grounds are a real paradise, we ended up not leaving the grounds for 4 days. Brill, but please ...don't tell everyone!

Room Tip: Tip: If staying at the hotel you don't need to pay for a ticket to watch the open air theatre. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
699 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
768 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing