We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second visit - wonderful as ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Solihull
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“second visit - wonderful as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We've just stayed for the second time, for another girly break, at the gorgeous Cowley Manor. Again, the 3 of us shared this huge room (31) - with one of us sleeping on the sofa bed, which is totally comfortable. We think of this room as our "dorm" now! I don't know where to begin to describe how lovely this place is. We previously stayed in July 2013 when the weather was scorching, and we spent most of the time then at the outdoor pool and wandering around the lush grounds. This time the weather was wintry, so we used the indoor pool and spa facilities. We had a quick dip in the outdoor heated pool - it was snowing and dark and very atmospheric! The house was looking as stunning as ever - with log fires and candles everywhere. The decor is funky and contemporary, comfortable and relaxing. The food is fantastic. There are no signs anywhere telling you what you can and cannot do - (not even the normally ubiquitous one regarding towels) so it really is almost like being in a (very posh) friend's home. The staff are friendly and lovely - nothing is too much trouble. Another reviewer complained about the diverse nationalities of the staff - well - I have nothing but praise for the team of charming, cheerful, genuine, hard-working and accommodating young people who will make your stay a joy.

Room Tip: Photos of Room 31 are attached to this review. It's very quiet, with 4 windows - good views - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    185
    106
    55
    25
See reviews for
152
413
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

When we checked in the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and the managaeress personally shook our hands. The views of the grounds were magnificent and there are over 50 acres to enjoy. However, our bedroom was slightly disappointing. It was a standard room on the top floor with a lovely view from the windows. It has panelling all around the room with concealed cupboards (though it was hard to find the hairdryer!) But the lighting was so dim we could barely see. When I was trying to put on my makeup when getting ready for the evening meal I could not see well enough in any of the mirrors and there was no full length mirror. I would therefore recommend getting ready in their downstairs toilets which were well lit and had full length mirror! The bathroom was superb with a lovely free-standing bath and lots of beauty products for our use. However, my husband nearly hit his head on the overhead shower head as it was not high enough ( and he is 6 foot tall which is not exceptional). There was tea and coffee making facilties with fresh milk in the fridge but only one pack of biscuits! There was a complementary bottle of water which was nice. It was also a bit complicated switching off the TV! The food in the restaurant was excellent for the price and there was a good range of wines. They also served decaff coffee and tea which is unusual these days. The breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. There were bottles of natural bio yogurt which I prefer and a good fruit salad and my husband loved the porridge. However, I would have preferred some home-baked seeded wholemeal rolls rather than the sliced white bread on offer for toast. The coffees served during morning were lovely and hot and just the right strength though the cookie s would have broken many a tooth! The spa facilities were very good but were a short walk from the main hotel and it was pouring with rain so not so convenient. The outside pool was lovely even though the air was almost freezing outside. The pool was slate lined and a very good size. but disappointingly there was no jacuzzi.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying extra for a good room as ours was relatively average in size and there was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunbridgeWellsSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I haven't stayed at the hotel but have met for several meetings and cannot emphasis enough how helpful and friendly this hotel is.

Every single member of staff had a smile and went out of their way to be helpful...found I didn't have phone signal and needed to make a call and was able to quickly use a reception phone. Nothing was too much trouble.

I am now looking at their spa packages as the hotel is set in gorgeous Gloucestershire countryside with beautifully kept gardens and I really fancy a treat!

This is my favourite place to meet both clients for a coffee or friends for coffee and cake!!



  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank faulty_towers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend and found our room large and beautiful, equipped with all mod cons. The building is grand and traditional from the outside but modern from the inside so it has a cool but cosy feel. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was great and we enjoyed the cooked choices. In the evening the food was good but not great and we preferred the simpler bar menu. One slight criticism: the daily menu was the same for Friday and Saturday so combined with a rather smallish menu, thats something that could be improved. The spa area is fantastic and the massage I had was one of the best ones I've ever had. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitively be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LionessQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed on a Jan deal but still pricey. I loved the room, couldn't fault it. Spa was great. Service was friendly and relaxed. Dinner seemed overpriced so we drove to Cheltenham instead. The bikes were pretty bad, the grounds were smaller than I expected and the 'lakes' were like very large ponds. But still a lovely place.

Thanks Sonia for the room recommendation! Rm 29 was fab.

Room Tip: We went for the exceptional room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanturistika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Cowley Manor over the New Year period. It was our first hotel visit with our "energetic" toddler so we weren't sure what to expect but it was a revelation - the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious and when ordering in the bar (where children are allowed) it came very quickly which is always a blessing with children. The spa was gorgeous with an outdoor and indoor pool. I liked the little touches - such as good magazines everywhere, fresh fruit in various locations, wellies to borrow etc...the grounds were also amazing for exploring, including the lovely rock garden which I imagine in the summer would be magical. What struck me most about the hotel was that it managed to be child-friendly but still grown-up enough so that it didn't feel like an expensive centre parcs...we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We booked an exceptional room so we could sit somewhere while our child slept - this made the stay q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Not the best hotel if you are a business user. Granted it is a lovely place in a great location and I did not sample all what the hotel has to offer ie spa facilities. I stayed for two nights, food was very good, service excellent but no phone signal and the wifi is supposed to work in the rooms but the signal was too weak. This also meant that many tv channels were not available on the digital televisions. When entering my room for the first time there was no remote for the tv and I had to wait a long time for this to be resolved. Probably best is you are not traveling solo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
17.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
15.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing