We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best out of town hotels in England”
Review of Cowley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cowley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of the best out of town hotels in England”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We have been visiting for years and always enjoy it.

The rooms are all modern and have worn very well. The more expensive rooms are obviously bigger, but the good rooms are perfectly ok and have the same amenities (flat screen tv, dvd player, cd player, fluffy robes etc etc). Not quite as good value as it used to be but still not bad.

The spa area is fabulous with a well appointed gym, indoor and outdoor pool (heated), plenty of sunloungers, nice towels and good changing rooms withlotions etc.

Breakfast is very generous and included, all a la carte with a good choice of cooked and basically as much as you can eat. Dinner is reasonably priced compared to other country house hotels - same price range as a good but not too expensive London restaruant - and there is always a good choice.

The only downside is that it has become a bit too child friendly!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHolidayQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    189
    108
    55
    25
See reviews for
155
424
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I stayed at Cowley Manor with my husband and 2 small children.
Beautiful setting in breathtaking Cotswalds. Relatively easy to reach from London.
Relaxing atmosphere in beautiful mansion. Nice spacious bedroom and very large bathroom, ideal for a family of 4 with small children. However, I would expected a couple of the cliches you usually find in any hotel, especially in this luxury category (or maybe it is not luxury after all, but just country): I have never been in a hotel where you are not offered free miniature toiletries! The shampoos were not be bring home! Also, no tea making facilites. I know, all cliches! But I would have loved a warm cup of tea in my room. There are ways of making this experience quirky and cutting edge if you really want to stand out from the crowd. Or simply hide the kettle in the cupboard if your that style conscious!
Kids menu great but expensive. Adults menu not impressive, quite average food and extremely expensive!
Nice spa, which i could not experience as all treatments were all fully booked.
Service and staff good, but I was expecting to be a bit more pampered and spoiled by the whole experience. It is a small hotel, staff can definitely make a greater effort to offer a greater personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaolaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We booked 2 nights at Cowley Manor for a relaxing weekend away. We hoped for some good food, a nice room, spa treatments and a general relaxing 48 hours.

Having stayed at a number of the UK 5 star Spa hotels; Babbingdon House, Barnsley House, The Grove, Seaham Hall, Four Seasons Hampshire, Whatley Manor I would say Cowley Manor overall was a little disappointing and would only be able to give it an overall 7/10.

Whilst the general atmosphere of the main building was very relaxing the overall property, especially our room and the Spa, felt like it was time for an overhaul.

The main area of disappointment was our room. We booked an 'Exceptional' room, the 2nd best grade at GBP 385 per night including breakfast. Room 9 is in the stable block looking out onto a courtyard. As the back of all the rooms are floor to ceiling glass windows it lacked any privacy and esp. as Room 8 next door was a two bedroom family room the young children of which enjoyed running around the courtyard looking into all the rooms ! The biggest problem was however the general layout of the room esp. the "bathroom".

I can only describe the whole bathroom area as a "portacabin" suspended in the air above the room. The area was very small and could not accomodate two people at the same time. The toilet felt like a portaloo with a temporary door! There were no solid walls between the "bathroom" and main room so all running taps, flushing toilets could be heard. The plumbing for the sink/toilet/shower sounded as if it was encassed behind the wall the bed was against. Not a "bathroom" to enjoy a long shower or bath in !

Food: We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Friday pm and had a perfectly good meal. Not amazing but perfectly tasty. Saturday day we had lunch in the lounge which was very good with a excellant menu selection to choose from. We walked to the The Green Inn in the afternoon for a drink which looked like a very good spot for lunch. Saturday pm we went to Daffodils in Cheltenham. The cocktails were a bit dodgy but the menu and food good.

Spa: Again the C Spa was a little tired however I had the 'Creak' massage by a fantastic thereapist called Holly. 10/10 for massage technique. We didn't try the indoor swimming pool but looked quite busy during the Saturday with families and small children.

Gym: Poor selection of old equipment, no air con. Be careful on the outdated running machines !

Staff: The staff were extremely helpful. There was an issue Sunday morning with breakfast (we had to wait nearly 1 hour for ours to arrive) but the staff kept unpdating everyone ("the chef was struggling" !). When breakfast eventually came it was excellant. They also deducted £50 from the room bill due to the delay.

In summary whilst we had a perfectly ok time I would not go back and not sure I would recommend based on our room in the stable block.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Having stayed at Cowley Manor many times in the past I feel we are well positioned to make a judgement on the current quality we recently experienced. It seems like either the manager has changed or the place has changed owners.
On our stay in September, we experienced some disappointing issues. The food did not seem as good as it was and the red wine selection was especially disappointing. The prices did not match the quality.
We also noticed a lot more families with small children running around. While we are not completely against this they seemed to have taken over the lounge, lots of screeching shouting and toys all over the floor. The children were allowed into the dining room for dinner when there is a designated children’s dining room available next door, it has changed the atmosphere considerably.

The room cleanliness was not good especially the bathrooms, toilet and shower not good! The organic, luxury toiletries have been replaced with an inferior range.
Staff were generally friendly but few and far between and service was slow and distracted.
Such a shame for such a great place!
What is surprising is why a hotel like this does not have some kind of internal feedback system for example a feedback form in each room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The drive up to the hotel is nice but to arrive at the back door is dissappointing. Once inside it feels very basic and boring. Looks shabby as if it needs a complete make-over.
The staff were very pleasant. The room was poor. No tea/coffee facilities in the room - even a travelodge has this! Was very expensive and very bad value. NOT child friendly.
The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KacyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Have just stayed here for 2 nights and would go along with most of the comments on here. Stayed in "Good" room which an excellent size as was the bathroom. Pretty much all you need although I would have preferred the room to have tea and coffee making facilities - perhaps this is seen as a bit "naff." Hotel itself is an intriguing mix of classical English country house fitted with trendy furnishings - wasn't sure if this worked at first but grew to like it more over my stay.
With a concept like this it's easy for a hotel to fall flat on its face, particularly if the service isn't up to par. No complaints on that score - service was polite, friendly and professional throughout.
My wife enjoyed the spa - had massage and used indoor and outdoor pools.
Setting is lovely and grounds worth a wander.
Only thing not quite 100% was the food - nothing really wrong with it and not too overpriced given the setting but nothing special - think good home cooking and you're about there - there needs to be a bit more "wow factor" for the money you're spending. Wine list could do with a few more choices below the £30 level...
We ate at the Green Dragon (mentioned by others on this site) the 2nd night which good and of course cheaper - easy walk there and back in 10 mins but bring a torch for the way back as no street (country lane) lighting.
Overall highly recommended if you want a bit of a splurge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights in mid week with our three year old son.

The house and the grounds are great....we really enjoyed walking around the lakes and generally hanging out by the pool. I would say the pictures on the website do not do it justice.

The inside of the house is very trendy, but in a relaxed, comfortable way. The whole set-up is a nice change from the usual country house hotel and does not feel at all stuffy.

We stayed in a "great" room, which was very spacious and comfortable - the bathroom was really nice. They supplied a bed for our son. There were a few couples with kids, but the place was not over run with the - I think they limit the number of children to stay in the place so that does not happen.

The food was good, but did not justify the prices. We walked to a nearby pub (I think the green dragon) which was good pub grub if you fancy a break from the restaurant.There have been some negative comments about the service, I thought it was fine.

We had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowley
6.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
17.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
15.1 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley Manor

Property: Cowley Manor
Address: Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cowley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cowley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley Manor Hotel Cowley
Manor Hotel Cowley
Cowley Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing