We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel next to very busy motorway services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel next to very busy motorway services”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel room was basic but comfortable and quiet, BUT it is situated on the M5 services which are undergoing building works, and have reduced facilities such as portaloos. The hotel relies on these services for the provision of breakfast and other meals, and it is very busy and like a building site.
Early checkin/out fees of £10 seem unreasonable to me.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet whereas the motorway and services are at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    160
    61
    19
    21
See reviews for
118
135
54
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Bath dog show and the service was lovely the ladies on the reception couldn't have been more helpful there were 3 of us and 4 dogs and they only charged us £5 for all the dogs. There was a lovely walk outside the hotel and we have booked again for Paignton and national gundog show in August.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Being actually ON the motorway ( well, about 500 yds back) expected this to be impersonal and rather 'grubby', but staff very helpful and pleasant, the room was clean (and cleaned every day), and was very quiet. 4 of us stayed in one room, and was spacious enough. At only £30 per night I could not have asked more. See tip below....

Room Tip: If you come out of hotel and go through 'no entry' sign you drive away from motorway area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford, west yorkshire, uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Yet again we stayed here and our room was great, clean and spacious with everything we could need. My husband, 2 boys and myself shared a room and there was plenty of room. The staff on the reception desk were very helpful and polite. The only problem we had was trying to book on the helpline and in the end I rang the hotel direct and booked in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah1bradford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Took two dogs en route to the Bath Championship show and found this a very relaxing stop. Just wish we had known about the fish and chips available "over the bridge" enjoyed by our fellow guests and they made our sandwiches seem a little dull in comparison. Special thanks to the lady on Reception who told us of a shortcut cback to the M5 South, saved quite a bit of time in the morning

Room Tip: Ground floor room was granted on request, much easier with the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Booked online and requested early check in for about 11am. We got there at 1:40pm in the end. As we walked in the woman said "You're not checking in are you? You're too early." I said I'd requested early check in. She said that if we waited 20 minutes we won't have to pay the £10 fee and that she couldn't change the computer. However we were running late for a wedding so had to pay the £10 for 20 minutes use of the room (a room which was empty and ready and waiting for us) Literally a case of 'computer says no'!

I also asked if she could call us a taxi (to the town of Berkeley 5 minutes away where the wedding was) and there was a long pause and she looked like she'd never been asked to do such a task before in her life, so I followed up my request with "or just a number will be fine" and she gave us a bit of paper with some local firms.

Hotel room was basic but clean and acceptable/what I expected but the woman on reception who checked us was quite unfriendly and that's all I remember about my stay really. Management need to look into customer service and attitude of staff. I know it's only a cheap service station hotel but sometimes a smile and can make all the difference.

Also something very strange about the hotel is that when we arrived at Michael Wood we drove to the petrol station to use the cashpoint and then found that we couldn't get back to the hotel, it's a one way road into the hotel from the motorway. Once you drive past the hotel entrance into the service station you can't get back to the hotel, and you have wait until no cars are coming in from the motorway and drive the wrong way along it quickly so you can nip into the hotel car park. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: You can smoke in some ground floor rooms so it smells a bit but upstairs is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed 2 nights. No trouble finding the place, it's located off the motorway at Michaelwood Services (but far enough from the road that noise is not an issue). When I arrived there was a complete disaster as the reservation agency I had booked with had booked me a smoking room, but the lady on reception was very helpful and changed my room - unfortunately she only had a single bed but that wasnt her fault (WARNING! DO NOT USE VENERE.COM to make your reservations!)
She was also very helpful in giving advice on where to eat locally, in fact all the staff I met over the 2 days were polite and professional.
The only bad thing about this place was the bed linen - a new duvet cover wouldn't have gone amiss and the spare pillow was disgusting and covered in makeup! Also the television reception kept breaking up on a few channels.
Good basic accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Wick
1.2 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
1.8 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,501 reviews
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Severn View M48
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
149 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Michaelwood M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Michaelwood M5

Property: Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Address: Michaelwood Service Area Mule Street | M5 Northbound, Dursley, Lower Wick GL13 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Lower Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Michaelwood M5 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the M5 just north of Bristol, Days Inn Michaelwood offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, 24-hour reception and has easy access to the Gloucestershire countryside.The spacious rooms are en suite, with tea /coffee making facilities, Freeview TV with over 60 channels, ironing facilities are available. Free daily newspaper.The Days Inn Michaelwood offers a continental breakfast delivered to your room or a hot breakfast voucher to take to the nearby service area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Michaelwood M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Wick Days Inn
Days Inn Michaelwood M5 UK/Lower Wick, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing