We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked a smoking room by accident. Big mistake.

Facilities as expected for the price. Bed could be firmer and room needed a bit of a spruce.

Fine for a 1 night stopover but have low expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaws81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Michaelwood M5
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Useful and convenient location for overnight stop on M5. Close to Bristol, Stroud, Gloucester, etc.
Secluded quiet location in corner of service area. Useful access to A38 via back lane, to find local pubs etc.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Shower could have been a bit more powerful.
Very pleasant and helpful reception staff - at night, in the morning and on the phone.
Best prices in the area.

Room Tip: Not a big deal for its purpose, but I'd say first floor on the side facing fields rather than ca...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Upon arriving the hotels systems were down and I was told to check availability online and book through those means. As I opened the door to my room the smell of dog was overpowering. I wasn't told its a pet friendly hotel or pets had stayed in this room- lucky I don't suffer a pet hair allergy. Couldn't change rooms as the hotel was fully booked. I suggest the cleaners use some carpet deodoriser as the smell is quite unpleasant (even if you are a dog owner). The bathroom was cleanish- a few pubes remained from what I assume was the previous occupant.
I wouldn't stay again unless I had to.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank VictoriaSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed recently en route to my sisters. Hotel was lovely, very clean and the room was quite spacious. Had a sofa in the room, plenty towels and TV, coffee/tea facilities. Gentleman on reception was lovely, a nice change for someone to be pleasant who's working a Saturday night and you're not! Would definitely stay here again if I'm passing through the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Do not be put off by the fact that this Hotel is part of the M5 Services, as it is situated in a quiet location and despite having a front facing room I was not disturbed at all by the motorway traffic.
The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, bed settee, occasional table and chair at the desk area. Only 1 small drawer, but plenty of hanging space and all complemented by a clean bathroom with bath and shower.
Food is not included in the price but discount vouchers can be purchased for use in the Eat In in the service area, a short walk away.
This was my first stay at a Days Inn in England, although I have used them throughout the USA, and I'll be looking to stay at more of them in the future when they are convenient. Very good value.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the car park, whereas the rear facing rooms overlook farmland.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We used this hotel on a long trip from the north of England to the south-west. It was a simple overnighter but we were surprised at the standard of the hotel and the quality of the rooms. The room was large and airy and fully provisioned. There is a 24-hour reception and the staff were attentive and helpful. As this hotel is sited on a motorway service area we were concerned about the quality of sleep we might get - we should not have been concerned at all. Noise was at a minimum and we had a good night's rest in a very comfortable bed. This hotel is a bit of a hidden gem. We would use it again if doing a similar trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Because of the Races at Cheltenham, I had to say here on a business trip. The location is not as close to Cheltenham as I prefer it, yet the hotel was clean, the room was nice and the staff was always friendly (I am from Mexico, so extra bonus). For a family I consider to be nice as well. Just be careful when you select the room because you could get a smoke room and it will be really smelly.

Room Tip: Pay attention when selecting the room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Wick
1.2 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
1.8 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,595 reviews
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Severn View M48
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
177 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
6.1 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Michaelwood M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Michaelwood M5

Address: Michaelwood Service Area Mule Street | M5 Northbound, Dursley, Lower Wick GL13 9JS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Lower Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Wick
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Michaelwood M5 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the M5 just north of Bristol, Days Inn Michaelwood offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, 24-hour reception and has easy access to the Gloucestershire countryside.The spacious rooms are en suite, with tea /coffee making facilities, Freeview TV with over 60 channels, ironing facilities are available. Free daily newspaper.The Days Inn Michaelwood offers a continental breakfast delivered to your room or a hot breakfast voucher to take to the nearby service area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Michaelwood M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Wick Days Inn
Days Inn Michaelwood M5 UK/Lower Wick, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing