We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's already been said!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edale House
Ranked #4 of 4 Parkend B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's already been said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I can only confirm all the excellent reviews already here. The hosts Terry and Jane are charming, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful but would have been even better if served a little longer, till at least 9.30 perhaps? We had Room 6 which was at the back overlooking the garden and had a huge comfy bed plus a sofa. Everywhere was spotless. My only tiny gripe would be the noisy Saniflo system and extractor fan in the bathroom for this room but it didn't really detract from the enjoyment of my stay.
The fact that the majority of the reviews are 'excellent' with only a few 'very goods' must tell you something about this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
38
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A perfect example of how to run a top quality B&B. Terry and Jane were great hosts, welcoming my mother and me with a pot of tea and a selection of freshly baked cakes. Great breakfast, lovely thick cut bacon and tasty sausages. Very clean and tidy and excellent attention to detail. Only downside was that there was no mobile phone signal in the area, seemingly on any network, but there was no charge for modest use of the hotel landline and free wifi was available.
Pub next door served reasonable evening meals.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have never actually been to Edale House I was booked in for 4 nights with friends but due to a change in circumstances we had to cancel the day we were due to go.

As it was short notice full charge was taken but several days later I had an email refunding almost a third of the money as they had managed to let room.

Really impressed by their honesty I would never have known they had let again. Will be re booking for next year. Also very impressed by the way they communicated. Look forward to meeting them face to face

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annecavadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

As the title said - best B&B ever stayed at. Lovely couple who run it who couldn't do more to help you. Was welcomed with a lovely cup of tea as I arrived after a long journey. Rooms are lovely and clean with all the amenities you can ask for. Even a pair of slippers! Would highly recommend Edale house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles198111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Highly recommend a stay at Edale House if your in the locality. Lovely clean room and super cooked breakfast with locally sourced produce. Owners are very welcoming and helpful.

10 out of 10 in my view cant fault Edale House

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonsgoodeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights during July 2013, which was our first stay at Edale, after such an excellent experience we had no hesitation and we’ve booked again for 2014.
Terry and Jane's hospitality was top class, we were always greeted with a smile and when we arrived we were welcomed with tea and cake, much appreciated after our long journey. They were ready to answer any questions we had about the Forest and lots of other information was available to us in the very comfortable guest lounge. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean with a good tea tray in the room. The breakfast was tip top, best we've had whilst away and cooked just how we like it. The off road parking which is at the front of Edale meant our car was safe during our stay which also meant a lot to us.
Top++ marks from us, Richard and Muriel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We've been going on our annual 'jolly boys outing' for the the past 8 years, and we've stayed in some good to average b&bs. Edale House is without doubt the best we have stayed in. The facilities and accomodation are top notch, the breakfast is excellent and Terry & Jane are the most helpful and friendly couple. If I'm ever in the area again I will definitely stay here. Don't bother looking anywhere else, book this. You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: We stayed in numbers 5 & 6 and they were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
2.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edale House

Property: Edale House
Address: Edale House Folly Road | Royal Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Edale House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edale House is a comfortable and relaxing Georgian guest house located in the centre of the village of Parkend and in the heart of the Forest of Dean. We have 6 twin or double bedrooms (5 ensuite and 1 with private shower room) resident's lounge and bar, dining room, forecourt car park, pleasant accessible garden, central heating and free Wifi. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and extensive toileteries. Complimentary tea/coffee and homemade cakes on arrival. A breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals and a wide range of cooked food, to include our exclusive hand sliced bacon and eggs from our own chickens, together with local farm sausages and homemade whiskey marmalade will set you up for a full day in the Forest. Numerous local attractions are within easy reach including Nags Head Nature Reserve, Dean Steam Railway, Clearwell Caves, Puzzlewood, Go Ape, Cannop Ponds and the Dean Heritage Centre.Parkend is well situated for Forest walks and cycling, cycle hire available, and has 2 excellent food orientated pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Edale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edale House Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Parkend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing