We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“filling!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Parkend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“filling!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just been there to eat on a few occasions when in the Forest. Either quaint or old fashioned depending upon your point of view. Food is hearty and well priced ( especially on two for a tenner Mondays and Thursdays). Very few places worth eating out around the area and this offers good value family eating.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mretw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

After trying to arrange some camping in the area and reading the long list of reviews on here, I thought well why not try and arrange some camping at a pub. This I must say was done faster than I thought and of course made our plans for staying in the area and at the Fountain that one filled of much excitement! (Big Children... Of Course!)

We arrived and got parked up and made our way into the pub, we had a few drinks after chatting to locals and the staff all of which were friendly and helpful and made for an amazing night of Entertainment, Great company and relaxation... all at the same time!

Food at the Pub was of a high standard and has to be one of the highlights of our stay in the Forest of Dean, good quality food at a reasonable price. Michelle, Alan and family were amazing hosts and we cannot wait to make our way back to the Fountain and their lovely village for another stay and some well deserved relaxation in the most beautiful areas in the world.

The steam railway station is right next to the pub and was great watching the trains when they pulled in and out, we didn't go on the train, but was a delight to watch them.

Room Tip: Stunning all round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrwurzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We've just had a super weekend here - our large group was split between the bunkhouse and the inn itself. The beer was perfect and the welcome warm. In a cold January, it was great that we in the bunkhouse were urged to keep the gas boiler running for as long as we liked (... no fumbling for 50p coins to top up the meter). A fine base for outdoor activities and walking. With such a large group, we didn't want the hassle of self-navigating a day's walk in an unfamiliar location, and so hired a guide from the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley Tour Guides (http://www.ftg.org.uk/) who made our short stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ropleywinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainInn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Many thanks indeed for the kind review. We're glad you enjojed your stay and hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed here with a big group of friends for a birthday celebration, some stayed in the adjoining bunkhouse, we stayed in the pub. Very good and friendly service throughout, and a perfect pint of Goff's for only £2! Central location in the Forest of Dean means this is ideal for walks in every direction.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vine_Man_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainInn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Many thanks indeed for the kind review. We're glad you enjojed your stay and hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights while some friends stayed in the lodge next door. Friendly staff and good beers (and good value) in the bar.

Our room was at the end of the building, above the TV room. This was good, as we didn't get any noise from the bar when we retired. This could have been more of an issue as there was live music in the bar on the Saturday night. The room is carpeted throughout, including the bathroom. It's weird to find accommodation that doesn't have a shower, but this was one; just a very long bath. Room was clean and spacious, with comfy bed. Big floral wallpaper and artex ceiling gave the room a 70s feel.

Breakfast was a disappointment. Bacon was excellent, but overall everything was lukewarm, with the feeling that it had all been microwaved when possible. Instant coffee served in a jug; how hard is it to get decent filter coffee? Scrambled eggs were overcooked (microwaved), tomato undercooked.

The location is excellent for the Forest of Dean, with walks straight from the door. A shower in the room, and a bit of effort put into the breakfast, and this would be a great place. As it is, I'd recommend a visit for the bar, but not an overnight stay.

For info, this is a mobile free zone; no reception on any network so far as we could tell, and no wifi in the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainInn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Fountain Inn. We are a small family run business and take a lot of pride in our accommodation - so I'm sorry to read that you were not completely happy with your stay. We actually get very few complaints and most guests compliment us on the standard of our rooms. You are, however, not the first person here to mention carpets in the bathrooms and we have begun a programme to replace all of these with contract flooring. Only two of our rooms don't have showers, with most having baths and showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stumbled on this gem while exploring the Forest of Dean, and stayed to have dinner (but did not experience the rooms at all, so can't comment on them). The sheep crossing the road outside actually made us stop, and I'm glad they did as we might not have ventured inside otherwise - first impression is nothing special, but do make the effort to go in. For us, it was just so nice to find somewhere serving great quality food in this tourist area, and the place was clearly family-friendly on account of the children running riot quite happily around us! (These belonged to several families who had clearly been canoeing that day and were staying here.) Anyway, our experience was of a great, cozy little place with a dining facility that seemed popular (we ate in the bar as we did not have a reservation), with great quality food - did I mention that already? My partner had the garlic mushrooms which were officially the best he has ever had. And the prices were not astronomical - another bonus. The staff also seemed friendly, another plus point - especially as this was over a busy bank holiday period and most places we visited seemed too stressed by the number of customers to be nice to them! Overall we love this area, but won't visit over a bank holiday again. We will definitely have this on our list of places to return to though.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larfincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainInn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meals and hope to welcome you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

As a dog owner we spent 3 nights at the inn, as they accept dogs. I'm not a person that is manic about cleaness but I must admit I hate carpets when dogs are around. It looks like the premises has carpet everywhere, and sadly it was in our bathroom as well. The location is great but I'll find a different accommodation next time!
By the way the restaurant is ok but we like real fire not gas/electric one especially when set in a beautiful fireplace surround.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainInn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We were very sorry to read that you were not completely happy with your stay. You are not the only person to mention carpets in the bathrooms and, since your stay, we have begun a programme to replace all of these with contract flooring and have restructured our housekeeping department. Our return visit ratio is actually very high and we hope that, one day, you will consider us again if you visit the Forest of Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
110.4 mi away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
110.4 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
110.4 mi away
Edale House
Edale House
#4 of 4 in Parkend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#1 of 1 in Ruardean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Parkend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning village inn, well known locally for its excellent meals and real ales. We are located in the heart of the Forest of Dean, less than one mile from RSPB Nagshead, and less than three miles from the cycle centre - making this an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside. All rooms are 4 star rated, en-suite and furnished to a high standard. Accommodation is offered in a variety of twin, double and family rooms. All prices include full English Breakfast and our staff will be happy to advise you on local tourist attractions and places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Parkend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing