We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay - but cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Stonehouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here several times - at last it has been cleaned up. Problems from the start - allocated a room practically in the reception foyer, but got the room changed. No-one told the cleaning staff that there were two people in the room, so only had one large towel each day and no small towel on the second day. Also, the tea and coffee was not replenished. BIG dis-satisfaction is the wifi - now we have 30 minutes per day free - but nobody told me that it was 30 minutes on one log-in! Equivalent hotels in France provide free wifi in rooms, but not in rip-off Britain. At least I did get a refund and a voucher when I complained and left early.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the end of each wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mindenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel and room spotlessly clean & comfy. Staff helpful and pleasant. Free parking. Convenient location. Overall very happy. One snag: weather was hot and there was no air conditioning (apart from a fan) in the room - probably not often a problem in UK!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank wildnwoolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Cheap accommodation, ideal for a quick visit if you don't mind not being able to sleep but room was unbearable and too hot! Window open and no covers on bed didn't provide much relief. On checkout we discovered you can ask for a fan but they didn't have enough to go round. Pretty poor really in this day and age! I know we don't get much hot weather but air con would have been heaven!
Also room was noisy, you could hear every movement made upstairs and the door outside our room creaked. Not a very relaxing stay at all.
On the plus side, bed was very comfy, just a shame it was too hot to be able to sleep!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TJ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Okay, I don't expect very much from a Travelodge hotel as they are to me just a basic overnight stop to allow me to continue my journey the following day fairly refreshed. We may have been in the middle of a heatwave in the UK but even allowing for this the heat that had generated in the inside of this hotel was unbelievable. It really was like an oven inside and made for a very uncomfortable night even with bedroom window open and no bed covers. As a consequence I only managed a few hours sleep. Air condition definitely required!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brianlescargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Used this Travel Lodge back in June 1014, and found the lodge very hand for visiting nearby towns and villages. The staff were very helpful and had a good knowledge of the area and where to eat. The fact it's just off the M5 makes it handy to get in and out of.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in first class order, if you require a disabled room, please check first though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The room was clean and tidy. We weren't given any meal options at check in and so just didn't bother and went elsewhere. A barrage of excuses for there being no hot water in the morning blaming the Travelodge maintenance policy...But not even an apology. Very poor service really

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank AndyClairD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very good value for money. Nice location. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was very hot and stuffy but the weather was particularly humid at the time we were there. The staff were friendly and helpful.



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
1.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
723 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
213 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Stonehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Stonehouse

Address: A419, Eastington | Stonehouse, Nr. Stroud, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Stonehouse 2*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Stonehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Stonehouse Hotel Stonehouse
Travel Lodge Stonehouse
Stonehouse Travelodge
Stonehouse Travel Lodge
Travelodge Stonehouse Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing