We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with good service!”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel with good service!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Having stayed for two nights as a break away for myself and my husband our overall experience was quite good. The lounge area was very cosy for afternoon tea, we were allocated one of the more modern rooms in the extension, which was nicely put together with amazing views across the gardens. It was a great base for our weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    215
    125
    63
    35
See reviews for
97
356
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We drove up the impressive drive way and the old house looked lovely, well kept gardens, clean outside. We walked into reception and greated us well, told us about afternoon tea and gave us our key. The room was right the other end of yhe hotel in the new build, which we didn't think fitted well in with the building, room very small, MFI style furniture, No iron, No sky TV,bed was clean, but two spiders on ceiling which I had to remove. Afternoon tea was lovely.Evening, ordered drinks, bar lady did not know how to pull a pint of Guinness, it was painful to watch, we sat in the small hall which was very old and on the side a hifi stereo was playing, not really the look.DINNER omg , menu sheet A4 paper, not much choice, dining room needs up dating big time, paper falling off walls, I ordered beef, it was the worst beef I have ever had (old mat u wipe your feet on) I did complain, but to no help or answer. To sum this nightmare up we left that night as it made me feel quite ill and very let down. It was a birthday gift from my husband, never again. Ps In price two glasses of prosecco, these were never offered to us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksonaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry for the problems you encountered with the service and food in the restaurant. I understand how disappointed you must have felt on a special occasion. We have discussed the issues with our team and are making the changes to get our good standards back on track. Thank you for giving us your comments and once again we are sorry for the problems you experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

thought WOW! when i drove up. same goes for reception and my greeting.
problem came with the rooms.
room 33 was small but OK for single occupancy, but priced for top quality. my concern here was i wanted to sit at a desk and work on my laptop for a few hours, but there was only a small "desk" with a "poof" pushed under. no use at all. carpet was dirty behind the bed, but needed a little TLC.
second room i was given; No. 25 was much bigger and there was a desk & chair, but still niggled me.... they make the effort with the bedding, but the room and carpets look old and need updating. and a cheap free-view box with an old TV with no remote control. come on - this is basic! and I sit at the desk as i right this with my lap-top on battery as there are no spare plugs to plug it in..... sad.... basics!
Frustrating as i want to stay away from chain hotels, but you know what you are going to get and this hotel just dissapoints. it just needs updating
really old TV with no remote control

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you were disappointed with the room and I understand your frustration in not being able to work as you would wish. We are currently working through a rolling room refurbishment programme and will be modernising the rooms. Your comments are very valuable in giving us feedback on the items we are addressing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice old house with additional modern extension. Stopped in the old house with solid stone window frames and leaded windows. Room 1. Had lovely room over looking the gounds and the canal and surrounding country side. Bathroom had roll top bath that you could almost swim in and a walking shower. B & B English Breakfast was really large (man sized) could not eat it all. Staff were all very friendly and accomodating. Very clean , Lacked a little bit of atmosphere but that maybe because it was quiet. Would recommend a good base to explore the surrounding area, lots of walks and history. Plenty of old pubs in local villages, like The Bear Inn in Bisley, 1600's or there abouts open log fires, old church pews for seats and good food nice staff

Room Tip: Book main house for atmosphere Had room 1 nice big room with big bay window overlooking rear garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your short break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Me and my husband have just got back from a 2 night stay here,we stayed in the garden wing which was very nice but lacked the character of the main house.The room was very good for the money,the room had all the amenities that you would need for a short stay.
The only negative thing i would say is that me an my husband are 34 an 41 an we felt like we was looked down upon by other residents of the hotel,we was the youngest couple there an felt out of place here.We had dinner in the restaurant which was outstanding but once again felt uncomfortable,we then spent the rest of the time out of the hotel visiting neighbouring pubs an restaurants where we fitted in quite well.
Locally the area is amazing with some lovely views and loads of history surrounding the stonehouse area.overall we enjoyed our stay,the maid that attending our room was very nice an helpful.Rooms need a bit of tlc on them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careyanne1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you had a good break with us and enjoyed the room, service from the team and amenities. I am sorry you felt uncomfortable with the other guests. We do have a number of varied events for all age groups that may be more appropriate in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Beautiful castle. Food is wonderful, i strongly recommend the duck. So delicious. Anyway, its a good and very quiet hotel, if u are looking for peace and silence in stonehouse thats the right place. If i have to go back to stonehouse again for sure that will be the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Girlfriend booked this as a birthday treat and although the weather might of been bad. This was definitely a great weekend. Rooms were a great size if a little out dated. The restaurant as part of the hotel was excellent as was the buffet style breakfast in the morning. Nice friendly staff completed a really enjoyable experience.....top notch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank - you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and good to hear you had a great weekend with our friendly team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
120 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing