We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming retreat”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Gloucester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming retreat”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Myself and friends are very regular customers at this delightful Country House Hotel . We like it so much we spent Christmas there and were delighted at the whole experience. The dining room was decorated in a very stylish and attractive way. The Christmas lunch was superb and all of the staff always go that extra mile to make us feel welcome. The Restaurant Manager is superb and his team are faultless. Nothing is too much trouble. We even received a very generous gift for each guest that was there. We will always return to this hotel. I cannot wait to see the new decor that is taking place in January.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    212
    123
    63
    35
See reviews for
95
352
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
559 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,665 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

.
We had a booking for the hotel in a few weeks' time, were in the area today, decided to go and have lunch there.

Access drive full of very bad potholes, carpark full of floods; this latter not their fault, of course, but jumping over puddles wasn't a good start!

Front entrance very muddy, we soon saw why: large piece of cloth draped over whole of left-hand side of Reception, workmen (muddy boots!) with radio blaring and sign apologising for inconvenience as they refurbished the Lounge.

This is fine - January is the best time to do maintenance, but we could have done without the builders' radio.

Especially as we stood at Reception, tinging the bell, for a considerable length of time. There were no chairs, my elderly father finally gave in and went to sit on the stairs as we waited, and waited, and waited. With the radio blaring.

Still no-one came, so we gave up and went to Tortworth where we had a pleasant meal, as always, in their bar.

And cancelled our room in Stonehouse Court, since their front-of-house experience was so bad.

.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The main building is beautiful. The staff are the most friendly and helpful you could meet but they are fighting a losing battle. The first room (25) was shabby. Handles missing, poor décor and very grubby. The damp smell was so strong we asked to be moved. The second room was initially nicer but then we looked at it. I quickly ruined a hand towel cleaning the bathroom before my wife saw it and it spoiled our break. The curtains were filthy and hanging down. The shower leaked onto the floor and the bath decanted silt if you turned it on too fast. The fluff dropped onto you from the shower curtain. The window in the bathroom wasn't sealing properly and dirt was blowing in as we were partially below ground level. I moved a bedside cabinet to plug in my mobile phone. It was disgraceful. The weather was poor and the car park had become an impassable swamp. You need wellies! We got £20 off when I showed them the towel. I really should have demanded a full refund.

Room Tip: Choose a different venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'd love to give this a 4 star review given the nice views of the rear garden, the nice dining experience, the beautiful decor as well as the nice bar and staff. However, the room which we stayed in was unfortunately not great. Upon booking this hotel I asked to be upgraded to Manor house room as opposed to the garden view. There was no problem in doing so which was great. However the sample pictures provided were totally different and showed no resemblance (no four poster bed) of what we were in. I awkwardly had to ask whether we had in fact received the upgrade I requested. The most disapointing part was our room back on to the boiler room seemingly and throughout the night there was an extremely loud rumbling noise that woke me and my partner up on several occasions.

All in all, a very nice place. However I don't think I would recommend it to family and friends. I do hope it improves to match the beautiful house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Beautiful old building full of atmosphere and the best staff you will find anywhere. Nothing is too much trouble they are cheerful, helpful and dedicated to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and the rooms are on the small side. However that said, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was roomy, the shower was great, oodles of hot water and the room was clean. The rooms could do with an overall but we were only there for 3 nights and it was perfectly adequate as we didn't book Christmas to sit in our room! We had a garden view which was lovely. Having read one or two of the reviews on here I honestly think some are grossly unfair and at one point I did wonder if they had stayed in the same hotel! We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: When booking check which part of the hotel you will be staying in. The new part is quite a walk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Staff were wonderfully attentive during Christmas stay. Nothing was too much trouble. We were originally in Garden Wing however had requested a twin instead of double. Never thought we would be moved to beautiful room in Manor House overlooking grounds, church and canal. The Christmas package was everything we expected and more! The food was wonderful and plentiful. The little touches such as the present waiting for us in our room and not forgetting Caroline's edible glitter on the butter! must find secret staircase now!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janegillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

An overnight stay and when we arrived we were given a room in the newer part of the hotel. Quite small but adequate. However we were disappointed at the peeling paint in the bathroom and when we commented to the reception staff we were told that the room was due to be refurbished and that we could have a discount or move to a room in the older part of the hotel. We chose the latter and were thrilled to have an enormous room with a lovely comfortable 4-poster bed. We also liked the secret staircase to the bar! The food in the restaurant was from the festive menu. Lighting in the restaurant was a little dim, which did mean that you couldn't see the menu well or what you were eating, although the taste was good. Breakfast too was very good with plenty of choice. We didn't have a chance to explore the beautiful grounds. It is full of old world charm with open fires. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. I think that when booking, people should be aware that there are two very distinct types of room so that they do not get the wrong idea.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the hotel are bigger and more luxurious. The newer rooms are small but ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing