We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Accommodating”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the few hotels in the area that offer a 24 hour Reception. They really can and do welcome guests arriving after midnight!

The hotel is situated on the busy A419 Bristol Road but is set far enough back in its spacious grounds for traffic noise not to be a problem.

There are a number of grand rooms in the original building (smaller on the top floor) but most are in a modern extension to the rear, which meanders into the rear garden. These rooms are adequate, but not what one might be expecting from the name of the hotel. It can be quite confusing working one's way back to the breakfast room from some of the more remote "garden rooms".

Breakfast offers a good selection (cooked to order) and evening restaurant meals are good too. There is also a bar and a large sitting area at the front of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    219
    129
    66
    36
See reviews for
99
367
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penkridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 days at hotel on a short break with fiance. Staff were very friendly, hotel was very comfortable and cosy and very well decorated and views were simply amazing. Had a meal in restaurant which was simply delicious. Will definitely be visiting again and will recommend to all

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Like many other recent contributors we made our way here by way of a voucher deal. Also, like several previous contriutors I would say that for what we paid we had no reason to complain. On the whole the staff were polite and efficient, the room was clean and the evening meal was cooked to a very high standard. I had thought of awarding 4/5 to this visit for those reasons. However, despite the good points there were aspects of this stay which were disappointing and would have felt more disatisfying had we paid full price. The room was small and badly laid out; and the furniture included grey painted units which were slightly scuffed and stained. The whole building had a tired look to it; in the restaurant for the evening meal we were seated in a small area with a stone fireplace and wood panelled walls which would normally have delighted me, but even this seemed to lack ambience.The food was excellent so the dining experience on its own would proabably rate higher than the overall stay.
A friend of mine whom we visited during this trip told me that the building had once been used as a nursing or care home - if this was correct then that seemed to make sense from a point of view of the annexe rooms which were more suited to being single than double rooms, and would explain the utilitarian look of that part of the building - I agree with Louise C - okay for £25 per head per night but definitely not a 4* hotel experience.

Room Tip: I was advised to ask for a room in the main building rather than the annexe and wish I had taken tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We also stayed here using a groupon deal and I had booked it before reading past reviews. Upon reading them I was a little apprehensive about our stay. However, all the worry disappeared once there. We were giving one of the refurbished rooms in the newer part of the hotel which had a Garden view. Although a little tired in places eg, curtain was a little damaged and a few scratches on the walls etc. the room was clean big enough for two and the bathroom was immaculate. The hotel was still having restoration work done but it didn't affect our stay. we enjoyed a cream tea which we could have anytime before 6pm. Dinner was gorgeous and all staff made you feel so welcome. The grounds and surrounding area is beautiful and we enjoyed two lovely walks around the river. Breakfast the next morning was perfect and of good quality. The location was brilliant for us as we don't drive.We got on a train in Gloucester and went from there to Stonehouse (10mins) and then a simple 10-15 minute walk from the train station. we would defiantly go again but my husband and I both agreed we had such a great stay but we would defiantly upgrade to stay in the main house next time. Overall beautiful place to stay if you can get it at special offer either via the website or groupon even better

Room Tip: garden view in the newer part of the hotel have gorgeous rooms but if it is for a special occasion a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlekim87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed on a Groupon deal and were delighted. We had been slightly nervous having read various reviews which all seemed to say pretty much the same thing - that rooms in the old building are much better than in the newer annex. So we were really pleased to discover that we had been allocated a room in the main hotel anyway - result! The room was great (bathroom was a little bit tired but absolutely fine), whilst the restaurant food, atmosphere and service were all spot-on. Refurbishment works appeared to have been largely completed. Staff were really warm, polite and accommodating - nothing appears to be too much bother. Overall, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We had a voucher through Amazon Local, which meant we paid a heavily discounted rate, however had we paid full price I would have been extremely disappointed.

The hotel, whilst registered as a 4*, in my opinion is nowhere near. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was good, so this was not the fault. We found the following concerns:

Pollyfilla had been used badly on the walls in our room when fixtures and fittings had been moved. Overall made the place look untidy and was similar issue in ladies toilets which serve the restaurant/bar
Cobwebs on the ceiling
Plastic broken off one of the socket covers, not sure if H&S risk - did not use
The ceiling in the gym was falling down, the equipment tired, and some equipment badly placed i.e. treadmill under low roof which meant we had to duck or hit our head
The room was quite small, only one side of the bed had a bedside cabinet.
I agree with previous reviews about the overflow carpark, badly potholed and flooded - was very concerned about driving our car on there
Took 30 minutes for our drinks to arrive on one occasion when we had ordered them with dinner, so we had finished dinner before they arrived.

All of the above are only minor points, but altogether made the stay disappointing which is why I've described this as not a 4*. It looks like lots of voucher deals are available, and if you don't pay full price, your stay will probably be just fine, like ours was, but I wanted to share our experience to avoid anybody paying full price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

is my second time here and this time i stayed a week longer than in 2010. i am making comparison with the previous stay that i am more happy with than this recent. this time i was given room at the garden wing, nothing significant has changed other than they are renovating the restaurant/seating area at the entrance.

Likes:
- Medieval building of few hundred years old
- Nice and friendly staffs especially the kitchen/dinning staffs (Nicole, the waitress being outstanding came to my rescue from an unpleasant guest's remark, morning staff on shift offered to drive guests including me to the nearest train station due to the ordered taxis did not turn up at the hotel.)
- Nice delicious english breakfast
- Nice garden
- Comfortable room

Dislikes (areas for improvement):
- Menu has not been changed since the last time I visited. For long staying guest, a little innovation or change in the menu is appreciated.
- Several potholes at the entrance driveway.
- Wifi was not accessible at the garden wing. Made a few days' complaints before it gets better.
- Laundry service not returned on the same day. On both of my stays, it was required to be collected by the reception on shift before I do a checkout on the very day. This round, I sent it on Thursday morning and check out on Saturday morning, needs more than 2 days to get it back? Outsourced vendor needs to be evaluated for their delivery performance.
- The flowrate from the shower head in the room was not strong enough. The temperature is hard to control as well. Requires a lot of effort and water wastage before getting the right temperature for shower during cold weather.
- Location wise no pubs or restaurants within close proximity, unless you drive.

Overall, i would still recommend this hotel to travellers. It would have got one more star if the above issues can be improved.

Room Tip: request for rooms at main building rather than the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
475 reviews
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
230 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,311 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing