We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are a credit to the hotel”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff are a credit to the hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous meal at Stonehouse Court Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were looked after, the staff made us feel very welcome and special. I would like to thank Emmanuel, Dom and Nicole, they are all a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank - you for your kind comments on the team, it is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    215
    125
    63
    35
See reviews for
96
356
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. This is lovely hotel with lots of history and flair. But everything from the furniture to the rooms looks and feels tired. This place needs a revamp and not staging one wedding after the next. The old part of the hotel and the facade is gorgeous tho and it's definitely worth a short stay and a snoop around.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Edmond_Dantes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank – you for your feedback on your stay, the lounge and bar have recently been refurbished in January as well as 6 rooms this year. We are continually working on improving the traditional Cotswold Manor House and extensions whenever we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My third stay in this hotel due to business and the same excellent standard was experienced again. The garden wing bedroom was immaculate again - the cleaners do an excellent job. The marble bathroom was immaculate. The bed was comfortable and bedding was fresh and clean. Breakfast had a good choice with many healthy options. Dinner was ok, although a little too fancy and pricey for my preference, although there was a bar menu which featured more classic and basic dishes and snacks. The hotel grounds were lovely with daffodils now in bloom. All staff I met were friendly and helpful. I hope I have the opportunity to stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for the haunted room in the original building if you dare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annabel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay on business with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with great grounds you can have a lovely walks, for what you pay it is great value, the staff are excellent here especially reception no trouble to book restaurants or taxis. The food was very good and we would come here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My Husband and I enjoyed a mid week break at Stonehouse Court I loved the character and history of the hotel,although at times found it quite cold,however we were fortunate to have a room in the new building which was warm and the bed was so comfy.Our room overlooked the beautiful garden,with views of the canal and rolling hills which were so scenic,and made a refreshing change from a sea view. The breakfast is exceptional and really defines the word 'Full English' and also to have a waitress like Caroline, who is very chirpy and nothing is a problem! We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked into the hotel and Jessica is the ideal receptionist as first impressions are lasting and she was very helpful and interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible and going that extra mile. Angela S.D.

Room Tip: Good idea to have one of the rooms in the new building as they are more stylish and not so dated.Als...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Many thanks for your feedback, I am sorry it was a little cold in the Manor House however we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Stonehousecourt on a Friday afternoon/evening and took advantage of a Groupon offer.

Overall the building and accommodation was absolutely fine, adequate for the normal prices offered. Our room was in the extension block overlooking the garden and was nicely decorated and very clean, although a little noisy during the night from the very creaky ceiling from the room above us.

We had an afternoon cream tea included in the deal, which was very fresh indeed and also enjoyed some equally fresh and tasty sandwiches from the bar menu.

Before our evening meal we enjoyed some very good real ales in the small bar area, which offers a more relaxed dining experience if you don't want the more formal surroundings in the restaurant. We had a 2-course meal included and also paid for additional starters and cheese board. In general the food was good, although the steak wasnt the best. The staff and restaurant was pleasant although perhaps in hindsight the more relaxed bar area may have suited us better. That's no reflection on the Stonehouse Court though, just our preferred option.

Next morning we had a very good breakfast with lots of choice. We couldn't find anything at fault it was very good indeed. We also took a walk in the extensive grounds after breakfast and there is a nice church between the gardens and the canal at the back of the hotel with fields beyond.

The staff throughout the hotel were exemplary, from Emma on reception, to the house-keeping staff, the bar man and restaurant staff. Excellent throughout.

We may not be returning soon, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Many thanks for the feedback on your stay and we are pleased you enjoyed your break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a wonderful experience today for the Mother's Day special. The staff were absolutely fantastic very friendly and attentive " Marian, Dom, Molly, Rita, Janiene" made me and my family feel very welcome and there service was BRILLAINT.... Wow the food that we had I'm going to find a way to get the recipe for it :) the quality of the product was fresh and cook to perfection. The grounds are lovely sitting out on the terrace enjoying a nice drink in the lovely weather. Thank you so much to everyone who made the day special for me and my family and a massive thank you to the names mentioned for the great experience. Will definitely be back soon :)
Siobhan x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your day with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing