We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Peoples Home of Stonehouse Court”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Old Peoples Home of Stonehouse Court”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked this through Groupon and it was sold to us as a stay in a 17th Century Manor House, however, on arrival we were directed to our room, the journey to which was arduous to say the least! Up and down stairs and through corridors, which seemed to go on for ever. When we finally got to the room we gained entry but the key got stuck in the lock. When we reported this to reception, we were told, "Room 48?,oh that happens all the time". The room itself was ok but probably built in the 1980s! The shower was just a trickle, the TV was ancient and too low to view, however, thank goodness the bed was comfortable.

On a positive note, the evening meal was good although the dining room was in a poor state of repair, the staff were friendly though not very helpful. All-in-all a very disappointing visit when compared to the publicity information.

On departure we informed the receptionist of our disappointment and was told that the manager would give us a ring - we are still waiting!

Room Tip: Avoid room 48
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with the visit. We are currently working through a refurbishment programme to upgrade our bedrooms and restaurant. Unfortunately I was on holiday when you stayed and am sorry you received no call at the time, we have rung a number of times since then but not been able to get through. Thank you for the positive comments about the meal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    208
    120
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
347
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived just in time for a proper cream tea with scones etc. yum. deffo not slimming!
Dinner was excellent, the room a delight with great linen, towels and a four poster bed to boot.
In the morning had my first full English for ages. The ingredients were top class which is so rare these days. Perfect start to the day.
A vest enjoyable stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay and the food, it is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My partner a I have just had our wedding on a groupon deal at this hotel 26th April,
I do not have one bad word to say about the hotel and staff. Nothing was too much, so helpful and attentive. Beautiful hotel and surroundings. They made it a perfect day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments on your Wedding Day. Our team enjoyed making your day special and glad you had a fabulous time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Four of us dined in the restaurant on Saturday evening; the hotel was very busy with a wedding and other functions taking place.
The service and all the staff were brilliant and treated us like real guests and diners, nothing was too much trouble. All three course were excellent, well cooked,well presented and very tasty and an extensive wine list.
Stonehouse Court is in a lovely setting, an interesting old character building; if we did not live so close I think we like to try out the accomadation aswell.
If you want a good meal good service and be treated like a guest this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments on your meal with us, it is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked for two nights in this hotel, only stayed one…

Changed the first room as you couldn't swing a cat in it and was dark. The second room was much better at least we had some windows.

The shower had hardly any water coming from it, that was when you held the shower head as it kept falling down. There was paint peeling from the ceiling where either water had come through or was just damp.

On the good side the food was ok although some items were a bit overpriced.

Every one of the staff were friendly and helpful couldn't fault any of them they were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank - you for your feedback on your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with the room we are working through a rolling refurbishment program on the bedrooms. Thank - you for your kind comments on our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were married at Stonehouse on 7th March 2014 and the venues quality was only surpassed by the efforts of the staff.

In the time leading up to the venue, during and after our needs and those of our 50 guests who stayed at the venue were met with professionalism and care, even when a third party supplier let us down the staff at the venue were happy to get involved and save the day.

Food, rooms and the sweeping gardens of the grounds ensured everyone was well fed, rested and had some great photos of the day.

We would like to thank Freddy and everyone at Stonehouse for ensuring our big day was a special one and we will be back on our anniversary next year and for years to come.


In

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OlearyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments on your Wedding Day with us. We are delighted you had a fabulous time and appreciate your nice remarks about our team.We thoroughly enjoyed the day and glad you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the Easter weekend, we were warmly greeted when we arrived. We travelled with a baby and it was no trouble for them to sterilise the bottles for us in their microwave. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were a little dated although comfortable and had all you needed. We had a garden view room although the mass ivy was covering the window this unfortunately restricted the view. The garden area outside is lovely and relaxing, at the bottom of the garden behind the little door is a lovely canal and a walk along the canal in the sun was lovely. Food was delicious and faultless, restaurant was nice, war,m and comfortable.. Breakfast had all you could ask for too. As the Easter egg hunt couldn't go ahead because of the weather, they gave my daughter an Easter egg instead - lovely staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo6686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your Easter break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing