We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here last week with a friend on a DBB deal with Groupon. We found the hotel very good value for money. It's an attractive building, furnished stylishly, with stunning gardens. The only facilities are a bar and gym, but we knew that before we booked! The staff were exceptionally cheerful, friendly and helpful, to an impressive level. The hotel was a bit on the quiet side, so lacked atmosphere in the evening, but that's my only gripe! The evening meal was good but not excellent. We were happy with it, considering the deal we were on. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with fresh fruit salad available, lovely fresh croissants and cooked breakfast cooked freshly to order. Our room was in the new section and was enormous with a huge bathroom as well. We walked around the gardens the next morning and through the gate at the bottom which led to a stunning canal and sweet little church - all very idyllic. I'm re booking to take my family in September!

Room Tip: Certain rooms have a better view of the garden than others so I'm going to request one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked several rooms here for the night before our wedding (which was not at the Stonehouse). We got free upgrades for all of our rooms! All rooms were very spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. All the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. We booked a table for 14 of us to have dinner in the restaurant. It took over an hour for our mains to arrive! This was our only real gripe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynEJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. I am sorry there was a delay with the food however there was only 3 starters in the group and had to wait for the course to complete before serving the mains. Many thanks for the positive comments about our helpful and friendly team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked this through Groupon and it was sold to us as a stay in a 17th Century Manor House, however, on arrival we were directed to our room, the journey to which was arduous to say the least! Up and down stairs and through corridors, which seemed to go on for ever. When we finally got to the room we gained entry but the key got stuck in the lock. When we reported this to reception, we were told, "Room 48?,oh that happens all the time". The room itself was ok but probably built in the 1980s! The shower was just a trickle, the TV was ancient and too low to view, however, thank goodness the bed was comfortable.

On a positive note, the evening meal was good although the dining room was in a poor state of repair, the staff were friendly though not very helpful. All-in-all a very disappointing visit when compared to the publicity information.

On departure we informed the receptionist of our disappointment and was told that the manager would give us a ring - we are still waiting!

Room Tip: Avoid room 48
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with the visit. We are currently working through a refurbishment programme to upgrade our bedrooms and restaurant. Unfortunately I was on holiday when you stayed and am sorry you received no call at the time, we have rung a number of times since then but not been able to get through. Thank you for the positive comments about the meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived just in time for a proper cream tea with scones etc. yum. deffo not slimming!
Dinner was excellent, the room a delight with great linen, towels and a four poster bed to boot.
In the morning had my first full English for ages. The ingredients were top class which is so rare these days. Perfect start to the day.
A vest enjoyable stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay and the food, it is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My partner a I have just had our wedding on a groupon deal at this hotel 26th April,
I do not have one bad word to say about the hotel and staff. Nothing was too much, so helpful and attentive. Beautiful hotel and surroundings. They made it a perfect day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments on your Wedding Day. Our team enjoyed making your day special and glad you had a fabulous time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Four of us dined in the restaurant on Saturday evening; the hotel was very busy with a wedding and other functions taking place.
The service and all the staff were brilliant and treated us like real guests and diners, nothing was too much trouble. All three course were excellent, well cooked,well presented and very tasty and an extensive wine list.
Stonehouse Court is in a lovely setting, an interesting old character building; if we did not live so close I think we like to try out the accomadation aswell.
If you want a good meal good service and be treated like a guest this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mr Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments on your meal with us, it is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked for two nights in this hotel, only stayed one…

Changed the first room as you couldn't swing a cat in it and was dark. The second room was much better at least we had some windows.

The shower had hardly any water coming from it, that was when you held the shower head as it kept falling down. There was paint peeling from the ceiling where either water had come through or was just damp.

On the good side the food was ok although some items were a bit overpriced.

Every one of the staff were friendly and helpful couldn't fault any of them they were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank - you for your feedback on your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with the room we are working through a rolling refurbishment program on the bedrooms. Thank - you for your kind comments on our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing