We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth it if you buy from Groupon without upgrade”
Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff are great at this place, really friendly and helpful but we stayed in the extension to the Stonehouse Court hotel. I was so excited about staying in the 17th century manor house as advertised! Really disappointed about that and about the noisy wedding music going into the night, hearing people's conversations in our room and other noises......It was a shame as we really were very excited to stay in the beautiful stone house. The location is great with beautiful canal walks but I think next time I would stay in a B&B close by as it would be cheaper and probably better quality of room.

Room Tip: Pay more or pay less elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I am sorry that the room you stayed in was not the one your expecting. As we advertise, we have both rooms in the Manor house and in the Garden Wing. Thank you for the lovely feedback for the staff, I will pass on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding and have to say the place needs a good makeover, the rooms are grubby, the TV didn't work and the shower had a non existent water flow to barely be able to shower. The food was of poor quality. Not somewhere I would stay if I had the choice again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Stonehouse Court to celebrate a special event. We stayed in one of the mid-priced rooms which was generally clean, but very tatty. Some surfaces (eg laminate tops) were chipped and featured rings where hot cups had been placed. The bathroom was also clean but in need of repair of some fittings and seals. The room had a nice view, but felt a little dated, basic and lacking in luxury. The evening meal was average, but the service was friendly and informal. The visitors pack didn't contain any information about how to connect to the wifi, but in the end it wasn't difficult and a code / passphrase wasn't necessary. We had a decent night's sleep and had a perfectly reasonable breakfast in the morning. My advice, this is a perfectly fine hotel, but go somewhere else if you want some romance or something special - you can achieve this at the same price as Stonehouse with a bit of research.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I am sorry that you feel we did not live up to your expectations. I fully take on board both your positive and negative comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one night at Stonehouse Court Hotel. Having got there we wished we'd booked for longer. We can only echo other positive reviews. The location is excellent, minutes away from the M5 motorway but in a tranquil location.The hotel is a charming building, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, they were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We stayed with a Groupon offer and chose to up grade and were given the four poster bedroom which is very spacious and the bed was very comfy. The room has fantastic views across the countryside.The evening meal and breakfast were both of good quality and value for money. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, the views are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. What a lovely review, it really does echo what we are all about with a beautiful hotel, tranquil location, fantastic Staff and good food. I will pass on your feedback to all of the team for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A very old (1601) property with many historic, querky features (spiral stairs etc.).
Modern rooms are well equipped and surround the front lawn area. Dining and breakfast were excellent if a little slow in terms of service (10 minutes to bring coffee for breakfast? But at least it came with hot, freshly made toast!).
The only downside was that despite rooms being available, officially, from 14.00, when we arrived at 16.00, our room was not yet serviced and ready. Receptionist said it would be a few minutes and she would let us know; meanwhile we waited and had a drink on the terrace (paid for by ourselves!). Checked after 1/2 hour but still not ready so given free drink and we were advised it would be 2-3 minutes and we would be called when the room was ready - again failed to do so, consequently we eventually got into our room at 17.15. Really not good enough - we had booked and were expected. Hopefully this was a 'one-off'.and we might give them another chance to get it right.

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate your arrival time when you book and ask for the room to actually be ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bigmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I am sorry that you could not check in to your room on time, we always aim to ensure all rooms are ready by 14:00. If you do give us another chance to put it right, please give me a call personally and will ensure you are looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a Grade 11 listed Manor House built in the 17th century. The building is wonderful and steeped in history. The Stroudwater Canal and Cyr’s Church are at the end of the grounds.
The Stonehouse Court Hotel provided a lovely relaxing one night break. The weather was sunny and on arrival and we thoroughly enjoyed our walk along the canal and around the gardens. We have previously eaten in the restaurant but as it was such a balmy evening, we opted to have a bar meal on the terrace. The food was rather pricey and average but the view is stunning and the service was excellent. In fact the staff throughout the whole hotel were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style and very good.
We were on a special discounted rate so did not mind too much about being in a very, very tired room in the modern garden wing. However, the room was not particularly well equipped or set out – the TV was in front of the mirror, there was only one chair between us and the position of the loo paper required you being a contortionist. Don't mind tired if the room is clean but the Head Housekeeper needs to do some more careful inspections as the walls and ceiling were covered in cobwebs – both in our room and in the restaurant. I mentioned this to the Receptionist on departure and fair play – she did apologise and say she would pass on my comments.
Despite the cleanliness issues, we would stay again as the building and grounds are very pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorelei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I must apologise that you felt that the cleanliness in your room was not up to standard, I have raised your points with the head housekeeper. As you mention the team I have here are very friendly and helpful and I will pass on your feedback to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a for a family wedding. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. In particular, Shobian. She was so helpful throughout our stay,when she brought us the Al a carte menu, my husband didn't fancy anything off it so, she informed us that if he had seen anything off the bar menu he did want she would channeled his request much to my husbands delight. As this option wasn't advertised, the information was greatly received. The food was lovely. The grounds are spectacular and the ideal place for a break away.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. We really appreciate such brilliant feedback. As you point out we do have fantastic staff here, it is what we pride ourselves on and as you mentioned Siobhan is a great member of the team who always goes that little bit extra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
14.7 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range: £71 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing