We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening away...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonehouse Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonehouse Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely evening away...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were staying in the manor house, as opposed to the additional wing, so I cannot really comment on that area at all.

The room itself was massive and very comfortable, although a little impersonal. The large expanse of wall was simply crying out for some artwork!

The bathroom was equally huge - big bath, big shower, etc...

Food wise, we ate off the table d'hote menu in the evening and were not disappointed. Everything was gorgeous. Breakfast was equally substantial with a "fill your boots" buffet to set you up for the day. Service was excellent - staff were helpful, cordial, discrete and quick!

Lovely area and nice grounds.

Only slight negative would be noise from around the hotel seemed to travel a long way, but not all that off putting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T0MW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. We really do appreciate your lovely feedback, all of the team will be pleased with your comments. If you are talking about the room I think you are we have already ordered artwork for the wall in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    208
    120
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
347
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at The Stone House for a 2 night weeekend break to escape London. We had a really lovely relaxing time. The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel to it. The staff were always pleasant and a pleasure to deal with. We had dinner included in the price for the 1st night (with our Groupon voucher). We couldn't fault the service or the food. So much so that we ended eating there on the following night too. We had breakfast in bed both mornings.. The 1st morning was a full english and the second continental. Both of which came when we had ordered it too and with extras of green tea as requested. They were both delicious and eating brekky in bed under the thick crunchy duvets whilst looking out onto the gardens was a real indulgent treat. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel in a garden room which although was fairly small was perfect for our needs. The location is great with a lovley walk along the Cotswolds canal and close by car to many beautiful little villages. All in all - a perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shellyc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. What a lovely review, the team will be so pleased with your lovely comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is a lovely old building set in very attractive grounds and is very popular with weddings which for us was the problem. The function suite was remote from the bedroom so we couldn't really hear the music but the wedding guests came crashing back to their rooms at one in the morning and woke us up. As our room had a connecting door to the next we could hear all that was going on. The following evening another wedding, this time there were older children whooping around the grounds until almost midnight. Personally, I would never stay here again if they had a wedding party on the same night.
The restaurant meals were excellent, breakfast more than adequate and the staff were friendly and professional (especially little Caroline who was a delight). As it's an old building there are lots of ramps and steps so not really suitable if you have a mobility problem. Our room was in the 1980's bedroom wing, and I don't think much has changed since it was built so it's looking a little dated now. As a standard room it was unremarkable but adequate. The shower fell short of expectations, I could not get a half-decent shower at a constant temperature so gave up and ran a bath instead.
I would consider staying there again but not if they were running a wedding at the same time. It's a shame, and I can't blame the hotel for the behavior of the guests but they need to be smarter with allocating the bedrooms so the wedding guests are bunched together, also being pro-active at keeping excessive late noise down.

Room Tip: Ring before booking so you can avoid your stay coinciding with a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I really do appreciate the lovely comments with regards to the Staff, Food and the hotel itself. We have started a refurbishment program in the Garden Wing so I do take on board your comments with regards to the bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff are great at this place, really friendly and helpful but we stayed in the extension to the Stonehouse Court hotel. I was so excited about staying in the 17th century manor house as advertised! Really disappointed about that and about the noisy wedding music going into the night, hearing people's conversations in our room and other noises......It was a shame as we really were very excited to stay in the beautiful stone house. The location is great with beautiful canal walks but I think next time I would stay in a B&B close by as it would be cheaper and probably better quality of room.

Room Tip: Pay more or pay less elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I am sorry that the room you stayed in was not the one your expecting. As we advertise, we have both rooms in the Manor house and in the Garden Wing. Thank you for the lovely feedback for the staff, I will pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding and have to say the place needs a good makeover, the rooms are grubby, the TV didn't work and the shower had a non existent water flow to barely be able to shower. The food was of poor quality. Not somewhere I would stay if I had the choice again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Stonehouse Court to celebrate a special event. We stayed in one of the mid-priced rooms which was generally clean, but very tatty. Some surfaces (eg laminate tops) were chipped and featured rings where hot cups had been placed. The bathroom was also clean but in need of repair of some fittings and seals. The room had a nice view, but felt a little dated, basic and lacking in luxury. The evening meal was average, but the service was friendly and informal. The visitors pack didn't contain any information about how to connect to the wifi, but in the end it wasn't difficult and a code / passphrase wasn't necessary. We had a decent night's sleep and had a perfectly reasonable breakfast in the morning. My advice, this is a perfectly fine hotel, but go somewhere else if you want some romance or something special - you can achieve this at the same price as Stonehouse with a bit of research.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. I am sorry that you feel we did not live up to your expectations. I fully take on board both your positive and negative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one night at Stonehouse Court Hotel. Having got there we wished we'd booked for longer. We can only echo other positive reviews. The location is excellent, minutes away from the M5 motorway but in a tranquil location.The hotel is a charming building, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, they were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We stayed with a Groupon offer and chose to up grade and were given the four poster bedroom which is very spacious and the bed was very comfy. The room has fantastic views across the countryside.The evening meal and breakfast were both of good quality and value for money. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, the views are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Stonehouse Court, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Stonehouse Court. What a lovely review, it really does echo what we are all about with a beautiful hotel, tranquil location, fantastic Staff and good food. I will pass on your feedback to all of the team for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehouse
16.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.6 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Court

Property: Stonehouse Court
Address: Bristol Road, Stonehouse, Stroud GL10 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Stonehouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stonehouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonehouse Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Our attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll, glass of Pimms or even a game of Croquet the most traditional of English summer pastimes! You can enjoy the fragrances of our flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond.In the main Manor House you'll find our restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites and some guest rooms. Our Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.We are an ideal venue for wonderful weddings. Magnificent grounds and gardens will provide the all important backdrop for stunning wedding photos and the attention to detail will be remarkable in every way to make your day unique and memorable.So whatever the reason for your visit you will receive a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonehouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Court Hotel Stonehouse
Court Hotel Stonehouse
Stonehouse Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing