We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food”
Review of Roobroo

Roobroo
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £4 - £15
Description: Roobroo is Licensed Indian Restaurant, based in market town of Thornbury. This is Chef run and managed restaurant. Here we believe in cooking fresh and serving fresh food everyday. Our menu is simple, concise and will make you smile.
Restaurant details
Description: Roobroo is Licensed Indian Restaurant, based in market town of Thornbury. This is Chef run and managed restaurant. Here we believe in cooking fresh and serving fresh food everyday. Our menu is simple, concise and will make you smile.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

We have now visited Roobroo a nunber of times and the food has been exceptional each time. Do not expect the usual greasy dishes served in Pakistan / Bangladesh type restaurants, this is genuine Indian food as would be served in India.

Thornbury is very lucky to have this gem.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chrisrN6014CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roobroo Indian, Owner at Roobroo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2023

Namaste Chris,
Thank you so much for your kind 5* review! We are glad to you enjoyed your meal with us! Thanks for continuous order. We appreciate your comments regarding our food and service it is very important to us to provide excellent service and achieve customer satisfaction every time see you soon.
Many thanks,
Team Roobroo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2023 via mobile

Best Indians we’ve been too for a long time makes a great change to not eat processed meat. The service was good waiter was friendly and not over bearing and the food was wonderful not one complaint about it. Worth every penny as it’s not the cheapest place we’ve been too but definitely one of the best. Will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: July 2023
1  Thank steves742
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roobroo Indian, Owner at Roobroo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2023

Namaste Steve,
Thank you so much for your kind 5* review! We are glad to you enjoyed your meal with us! We appreciate your comments regarding our food and service it is very important to us to provide excellent service and achieve customer satisfaction every time see you soon.
Many thanks,
Team Roobroo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

We had a delivery takeout, after all the hype we were disappointed, the food arrived luke warm and we only live a few minutes away, the flavour weren’t what we were expecting, we did not get the wow factor that we were expecting based on the reviews.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roobroo Indian, Owner at Roobroo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2023

Namaste Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your delivery, i do delivery bag all is stranded insulate keep worm. bat i except your complement same time bad weather.

Please do not hesitate to contact the restaurant directly if you wish to discuss any of these points in more detail.

All the best,
Team Roobroo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023

You have not had an Indian until you have had Roobroo. I dont enjoy currys usually as they are too oily and creamy but Roobroo is fine dining. Very fragrant and delicious. Great value for money.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxannew602
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roobroo Indian, Owner at Roobroo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2023

Namaste Jewell,,
Thank you so much for your kind 5* review! We are glad to you enjoyed your meal with us! We appreciate your comments regarding our food and service it is very important to us to provide excellent service and achieve customer satisfaction every time see you soon.
Many thanks,
Team Roobroo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2023

The food was quite good, though a rather limited menu (eg no chicken tikka) and not particularly cheap. The service, however, was attentive and very pleasant. The restaurant had been recommended to us. The environment and decor is quite basic, but we still enjoyed the experience.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RIAFT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roobroo Indian, Owner at Roobroo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2023

Namaste Riaf,
Thanks Gabrielle for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience. we not make normal curry house. my food all is different you not camper other restaurant. We have chicken Tikka under the Name is Murgh Tikka. sorry to small menu because. we are cook all food every day fresh meet & use local ingredients. Please you feel free Any time email me at (roobrooindian@gmail.com) as we would like to discuss further in detail. I hope you reach out as we take your input with serious consideration. We next time explain the menu. I hope see you soon.
kind regards
Team Roobroo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roobroo also viewed

Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Roobroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.