We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe won't return”
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #20 of 29 Restaurants in Thornbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Maybe won't return”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Heading for a birthday lunch at a known pub, we decided to save travel and try here. Once a Coaching Inn, inside is 'quirky' with low beams and features of a previous stable in the dining room. None of the chairs match and despite identical food, our crockery didn't match either.
Our starter of stilton and peppercorn mushrooms on a muffin was very tasty and I wished I'd had double the portion. In comparison, the hand battered fish was tasteless, the chips were obviously mass produced frozen, not fresh homemade, while the minted peas were simply peas with a spoon of added mint sauce .
From a nice welcome and good table service, the food overall was very disappointing. At 2pm we were the only diners in an area that can seat up to 200. As this venue is part of a big chain, we were surprised at the 'lack of' quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    111
    88
    73
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“tatty pate”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

just wanting a snack we decided on the pate ,what a mistake. To be fair the pate didnt taste bad but what a shame about the garnish. Two pieces of sliced bread only toasted on one side so soggy and a bunch of very very limp watercress,not a sign of a piece of tomato or onion.Its a nice pub but leaves a lot to be desired onthe food side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Drove past late in the day and noted the Ship Inn as a possibility for an evening meal. Checked a few reviews on several restaurants in the Thornbury area and decided to try the Ship Inn as it was close to where we where staying. We weren't disappointed. We were greeted by friendly staff and quickly shown to a table. The menu had some good choices within a reasonable price range. Our order came promptly and the meals we had were well prepared and very enjoyable. The Inn seemed a fairly typical English pub and was well patronised and had a nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“needs a good refresh”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for lunch, the food was basic, ham and egg was cheap thin ham, risotto was tiny portion still hungry. You get the feeling the kitchen were making pub food to a budget. Staff were good though.
Toilets were shocking.
Graffiti, cracks in tiles, toilet bowl dirty brown in the bottom. Lights in the ceiling stuck in with brown filler. Around the hand driers, the outline and raw plugs left from the old model. It felt like a dirty pub toilet, hardly fitting a restaurant.
Not everyone wants the minimum, if you are charging 8 - 12 pounds for main courses, deliver some value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening out”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We wanted somewhere that we could sit outside and enjoy an early evening meal and make the most of the summer sunshine and the Ship Inn did not disappoint. Things I didn't like: The outside tables were filthy and we had to ask for the table to be cleaned and then only half the table was cleaned. The chairs all had bird poo on them, which made picking where to sit a little difficult...but:
Things I did Like: The food was very good; large fresh portions and we were not kept waiting. There is a separate outside area for smokers, so it was very pleasant to sit outside. The children's portions were a bit pared down (burger with no lettuce) but perfectly adequate and reasonably priced. I liked that there were alternatives to chips and baked beans, if so required. I liked the fact that dogs were allowed and clearly welcomed, although we did not have our dog with us on this occasion, we will be back this summer and now know we can take him, or stop off on our way home from somewhere. Easy to park,but we were there early (5-7pm).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Dursley, Cotswolds
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Stonehouse, Stroud
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Alveston, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing