We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unique experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for a Sunday night over bank holiday weekend for 30th anniversary, staff were very polite,and helpful check in very quick and efficient our room was amazing! a fantastic but very high 4 poster bed in a beautiful large room with a large gas effect fire and views overlooking the vineyard and front lawn,wonderful bathroom with bathrobes and slippers with all the usual hospitality items,in addition to the complementary bottled water and sherry. The only problem I had was trying to get into the bed as it was so high I had to use a chair which caused great merriment.. Our evening meal was devine with the staff very attentive, breakfast in the morning was in a wonderful room upstairs from the reception,usual continental with a choice of cooked from a menu but they are happy to adapt to what ever you wanted. Overall this was a unique experience and one I would recommend for any one to try you won't be disappointed. We used secret escapes and this inculded the evening meal excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    225
    89
    36
    24
See reviews for
212
731
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Thornbury Castle. The Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and were delightful. Our room (Tudor) was just beautiful with a lovely large bathroom with separate shower. We have stayed at many hotels around the world and Thornbury Castle is right at the top. It certainly merits 5 Stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are planning on going for a stay at the castle its good, some really nice rooms, free wifi (that worked properly in every room except one we stayed in)

Stafford room has windows that are see through with no curtains straight into the bathroom. Same with one of the other windows as part of the wooden window cover was missing/broken.

Friendly staff who help out as much as possible, friendly when walking around or if you need extra towels, these will be supplied quickly.

the management of the wedding - jennifer and julie - trying to get a response out of them was hard work, either no response to emails or frequent out of office replies. You either have to try catch them on the phone to be told they are normally not available or actually have to drive down to get hold of them.

With regards to having a wedding at the castle

Great to start with when planning it and dealing with Jennifer, after the initial meeting trying to get responses to emails was hard work. Either her or her stand in when she was away didn't respond unless repeated emails sent, half the time they was ignored or ended up receiving out of office responses.

On the day of the ceremony it was left to me to sort out what should have been done for the vicar so I was running around trying to get the staff to come and organise everything.

Our bill was messed up and we was not charged everything even after we told them that it didn't seem right. We was issued a refund and given a copy of what we've paid for. After arriving home we receive an email from jennifer who had messed up and not charged for the main hall even after we specifically asked if everything had been charged for.

£875 for a 7 1/2 minute ceremony

After reading some of the other people's comments about the hotel I must agree, it has some good scenery and the castle is nice but its let down quite a bit in other ways.

3 of the rooms we had when you used the tap's you had a high pitch noise from them.
not being told how to turn the fires down made sleeping uncomfortable.
the main room for the wedding had a massive fire behind us resulting in all the guests struggling with the heat including us when we was trying to do our vows.
The pottery on display opposite the reception desk is bought locally, if you go and speak with the nice chap who makes it you get a LOT better deal on prices.
As mentioned in the other comment in all the rooms we/my family used I don't think anyone drank the sherry

Room Tip: The refurbished deluxe rooms are the one's to aim for, the smaller rooms are nice but not as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1982pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I spent my birthday weekend in this wonderful castle and it was an amazing experience .
The room was beautiful, the food in the restaurant delicious, and the service second to none.
It was a romantic and unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Audley room with views to the tudor gardens and it was just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly_F5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had booked into Thornbury Castle as a surprise for my wife on her 70th birthday on 28th April 2014. The look on her face when we arrived just said it all. At reception we were greeted by a very polite member of staff, who explained everything about the hotel, he then showed us to our room overlooking the courtyard, and that was fantastic.
We went down to dinner and again ALL the staff who were on duty in the dining room were also very polite and nothing was to much trouble. we were both looked after as though we were "King & Queen",

Room Tip: We were happy with our room overlooking the courtyard, didn't look at any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and were pleasantly surprised. Hotel and grounds take you back to the Tudor era, when kings and queens ruled. Take your time and stroll through the gardens. Our room had four poster bed and fireplace. Staff was more then helpful, arranging a taxi back to Bristol. Taxi to and from Bristol is about Thirty pounds. It is very quiet at hotel, if you decide you need a little shopping, Thornbury, the town, is a short walk, and has lovely shops. Make sure to visit church next to castle. I'm sure you have a lovely time at the Thornbury.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thornbury Castle is an incredible hotel on the edge of the Costwolds in Gloucestershire. The hotel itself is certainly one of the most beautiful and unusual places I've ever seen. It looks like a castle and it's the only Tudor castle in England to open as a hotel.
My family and l stayed at Thornbury castle during the period 4th-10th April. From the minute we walked through the door I could not stop smiling. We were greeted at reception by very professional and friendly staff. The receptionist ushered us to our room. When the door was opened a beautiful four poster bed was revealed I was totally overcome with emotion and unable to speak. The bed was perfect and so comfortable and the room was very clean, the sun was shining and we sat in the garden where the waiter brought us drinks and nuts; it was delightful. The gardens are glorious. The evening dining experience was exquisite we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We were offered the turndown service which we took advantage of a real nice tradition.
The Thornbury Castle has 27 bedchambers, 2 private dining rooms including a Tudor hall and beautiful walled gardens. They cost around €190 for 2. For outdoor activities the best times are August/September as the weather will be as changeable as it is at other times of year, but is always a chance for mild days and clear evenings with a snap of autumn in the air.
There are lots of things to do in and around England and we were never bored in the six days we were there. You can go walking, cycling and do watersports, but there are also opportunities for anything from rock climbing to pony-trekking. You can go to the Natural History Museum, and Victoria Museum. In addition, you can go with an excellent guide to visit different places such as Windsor Castle, Hampton Court Palace, and Buckingham Palace. You can go on a trip to see Tower of London and Times River.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rewaida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
3.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
11.4 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Property: Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing