We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite as Good as the Last Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ronnies

Ronnies
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$56
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ronnie's restaurant in the heart of Thornbury has turned a crumbling 17th century building into a lively, stylish eaterie and coffee lounge. Recently voted South West Restaurant of the Year by The Good Food Guide, the dining room features exposed natural stonework and beamed ceilings hung with art works from Castle Gallery. Chef-owner Ronnie Faulkner brings years of training and experience in the kitchens of stars like Anton Mosimann to his inventive modern European cuisine prepared with a British twist. Signature dishes include seasonal dishes like seared scallops wrapped in bacon, Cornish lamb with baby spring veg and lemon. Local produce is the rule, and wines are supplied by boutique vintners with many available by the glass.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not Quite as Good as the Last Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have eaten at Ronnie's several times and it has always been somewhere one could guarantee not to be disappointed. The last time, however, the food, both taste and presentation, had lost it's edge. This was the difference between memorable and very good. The service was disappointing as the young waiter appeared not to know ,or understand, the chef's offerings. His lack of understanding meant the dishes were not adequately explained.
We had the multi-course tasting menu so being told what we were eating was an integral part of the dining experience.
This will not prevent me going again as everyone is entitled to one less than perfect occasion!
Don't make it two!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeP478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    87
    32
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable long dinner at this super restaurant. My venison was cooked to perfection and my wife very much enjoyed her seabass.
Desserts were good and best of all was the excellent coffee at the end - a rare treat in any restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Reg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special Wedding Gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had received a voucher to dine at Ronnie's and finally could use the voucher.We arrived on a really wet night to receive a warm welcome from the Front of House staff. We were pleasantly surprised to find the restaurant fairly busy for a Tuesday night. We were swiftly offered our menus and received the complementary appetizers shortly afterwards along with the wine we had ordered- both were delicious! My wife chose a scallop starter and I chose ox cheeks-both were really lovely. For a main course, we both ordered duck breast with was beautifully pink and tasty. For a sweet, my wife chose apple crumble with mulberry ice cream and I chose apple tartan,also with a tasty ice cream- we were delighted with both! The service we received all night from the delightful French brother and sister team was great,friendly and humorous.. In all a very nice experience! We had to laugh, as we arrived without our vouchers, so are delighted that we will have to return to use the vouchers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukangiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reassuringly excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were concerned to hear the suggestion that Ronnie was no longer chef here, and it was suggested by a friend that we reconsider our booking. Fortunately a check on Ronnie's twiiter feed proved this was not the case and I am very glad that we didn't cancel.

The dining room at 7pm on the Saturday night looked at first very dark, but once our eyes adjusted it was sufficient light and I didn't need my reading glasses which would be usual in such low levels. We were served attentively, although one waitress seemed to have some trouble describing the amuse bouche as her English was not sufficient. Although polite, this seemed to make her nervous and unsure.

Other than the proffered water our initial drinks order took some time to arrive - the amuse bouche and bread basket had been and gone before a glass of prosecco and carafe of shiraz arrived, but fortunately these came before the starter.

Our starters of sea trout pastrami and pheasant rillettes were excellent, perfectly seasoned, and attentively presented. Fresh and an excellent combination of flavours, my pheasant particularly seemed almost a "sweet and sour" combination that balanced very well.

The mains of roast cod and venison were equally well cooked. The deep-fried croquette that accompanied my venison had charred slightly at one end - the only bitter note of the meal in both senses - affecting solely one mouthful, and after that the deep-flavoured venison matched expertly with the red cabbage, carrot and swede & chocolate.

My partner's mulberry ice cream with apple crumble and custard was pronounced delicious and my choice of cheese arrived on a slate on which had been chalked the names of the cheese - a clever but simple touch that surprisingly I'd not seen before.

Well done Ronnie - any concerns shared with us about the experience at your restaurant were quashed and we look forward to coming again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tres Bon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Well cooked venison and and an amazing wine list. What's not to like???
This restaurant is simply perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ronnies also viewed

Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
Thornbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Ronnies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing