We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner was a real character and added to the pub ambience.”

The Major's Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Tormarton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Majors RetreatThe Majors Retreat pub and rooms is in the middle of the traditional Cotswold village of Tormarton in South Gloucestershire, just off the M4 motorway, junction 18, Find Us, and offers plenty of car parking space.The Virginia Ivy covered independent 18th century Cotswold stone pub is on the Cotswold Way walk and provides a warm welcome at lunchtime and evenings Opening Times for all hungry and thirsty walkers, families, locals and visitors to the area.The Majors Retreat, formerly the Portcullis Inn, changed its name to avoid confusion with the Portcullis in nearby Chipping Sodbury.The spacious main bar has large tables providing plenty of seating and connects through to a large oak panelled dining room. During the winter a very large log fire keeps everybody warm, including Mutley, the pub’s old dog!The friendly landlord, Roy, takes great pride in his fine selection of real ales, ciders and lagers, sourced mainly from local breweries. Drinks A broad range of wine and soft drinks are also offered. On cold days, ask for a glass of Roy’s secret recipe mulled wine to warm you up in front of the log fire!The Majors Retreat has an extensive menu of traditional pub food, offering freshly cooked and generously sized bar snacks to full meals, at modest prices. Great value children’s menu too.Starters ~ Snacks and light bites ~ Main Courses ~ Catch of the day ~ From the grill ~ Burgers ~ Side orders~ Traditional Sunday lunch roast ~For those warm and sunny days, there is a large beer garden at the back of the pub.Picture of beer garden)The Majors Retreat offers basic (1 star) accommodation of 4 ensuite rooms: three twin bedrooms and one family room with a double bed and two singles, at very reasonable prices.As well as being on the Cotswold Way, the Majors Retreat pub is surrounded by the best of what the Cotswolds offers Local Attractions, with Badminton House, Badminton Horse Trials, Dyrham Park & Horton Court National Trust, Westonbirt Arboretum, Castle Combe historic village and the city of Bath, all just down the road.
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent two nights at a local B & B and went to the Major's Retreat each night for our meals. We are two senior couples who walked the Cotswold Way. While we enjoyed the walk and the lovely British countryside another high was eating in pubs such at the Major's Retread. This is Britain at its best: friendly and welcoming. There was a variety of menu choices and evening specials at good prices.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Debbie - 17 Sep 11
What a Jewel in The Crown! Fabulous mixed age family party for 36, meals varied and all delicious, really nice and friendly venue in seperate dining area, very clean with white tablecloths and flowers, Roy Godden and staff so efficient, accommodating and nothing too much trouble, Roy even took our group photos outside! Do pay them a visit, wish we lived nearer but will be back!

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Don't expect fancy atmospherics at the Majors Retreat. This is an informal, friendly relaxed pub that serves great food in a relaxed atmosphere. It is the only place I have ever been to say that they would serve me custard with whatever pudding I chose and then to deliver double helpings. Large helpings of well cooked standard pub grub are the order of the day at the Majors Retreat.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greesa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I loved the place when I first stepped in asking for the way to my accom. I came back later for dinner and had a delicious meal and a nice chat with the owner and some people at the bar, everyone being very friendly. The beer, a local one recommended by the landlord, was excellent as well. I felt very comfortable there and can just recommend to have a meal or a drink there when you get close to Tormarton in any way.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I recently walked the Cotswold Way. Tormarton was our last overnight stop before we got to Bath. The Major's is the only pub, though there is a hotel nearby. However, being keen 'pubbies', we were always going to go here. And we were so pleased we did. It was a Sunday and quite quiet, beyond other walkers we'd met over the week. The landlord mentioned in passing that few locals use the place which is a great shame. It had a lovely, comfortable bar area, a large 'games' area for locals and a table-clothed restaurant. There was a good choice of, mainly local, ale and the menu, though very pubby, was varied. Everything appeared home-made and those who had the venison pie were waxing lyrical. For £9, it was terrific value.
I left feeling slightly flat because, though I may be way off mark, I would worry that, if we returned to the area in two years' time, the place would no longer be open. The Landlord has been there 20 years and it is the kind of place that should remain as it is for years to come. Please visit if in the area.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neilmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Major's Retreat also viewed

Hinton, Gloucestershire
Acton Turville, Gloucestershire
 
Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
Tormarton, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Major's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing