We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We decided to take a leisurely weekend break prior to Christmas to recharge our batteries as we had been so busy. It was just what the doctor ordered. Our room was quite and the bed very comfortable. The food was good. The staff friendly. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAnn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    106
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
70
121
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were visiting for the Christmas market.
Clean and comfortable room with good facilities.
Couldn't use the WIFI but didnt report the problem to staff.
Car park could do with improved lighting around the back.
On the whole a great place to stay on a budget

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

we had a very good stay at the comfort inn all staff very helpful ideal for visiting bristol and bath our evening meal was of good quality and staff were very willing to tweek to suit our requirements

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

To be honest the place is in need of a bit of a lift. We had 3 rooms, 2 were ok, but 1 definitely needed updating. As did some of the decor around the rest of the hotel.
Dinner was average too, but very pleasant staff who were nice and helpful.
Breakfast was a disappointment, help your self to the cooked breakfast, which even arriving to at 8.30am was all a little dried out and sorry for itself after sitting under heat lamps for too long! We have stayed at best westerns before, and breakfast has always been very good.
Don't think we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vixyvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

You can always be sure to receive a very warm welcome from Paul, Pen and their staff here at the Compass - just off the M4 this charming country inn is an ideal location for visiting near by Bath and striking North along the Cotswold Way. I've been staying here most weeks since April on business visits to Bristol.

If your into good food and quality wines at very affordable prices this is one not to be missed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms. We usually stop here for a light lunch on our way back from Tunbridge Wells to Bristol and were not disappointed. Huge jacket potatoes with lots of lovely filling. Tracey the waitress is always friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrabgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I had two nights at this hotel 1st and 2nd November. Our room was large and very comfortable with lovely views of the garden. Meals in the restaurant were of very high quality and breakfast choices were excellent. All the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We had family difficulties surrounding our stay at the Compass Inn and Heidi was very understanding and helpful for which we were very grateful.

Room Tip: We were in the Charlotte Suite and would ask for it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunkeeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
9.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
Address: Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing