We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are lucky enough to check in when Charlotte is on duty you will be treated to a huge smile, a wonderful sense of humour and totally dedication to her guests well being - fantastic welcome!
Another rarity is Carl the chef. A chef who actually listens to how you want a steak cooked and delivers! Kay in the bar gave efficient and friendly service and the restaurant staff were quietly efficient and unobtrusive.
The room was excellent - very quiet and very comfortable. Overall, a very, very good experience which started the minute you stepped through the door and saw that huge smile!
The hotel is well situated for walks in the lovely S Cotswolds with easy access to Badminton, Bath and the M4.
We'll done to everyone involved!

Room Tip: Forget my rating re pool! Couldn't un click it! Judging by an earlier review about noise from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I walked from Wotton under Edge to Tormarton on the 7th day of our Cotswold Way walk. Arrived at the Compass Inn Tormarton which is located on a busy road with no footway (care needed!) a short walk out of Tormarton. Checked into a nice room but rather small. Went down for a drink and evening meal which were ok. After a good night's sleep, enjoyed a nice breakfast. Our wet jackets had been dried out by hotel staff, ready to walk the final leg of the Cotwold Way. The Compass Inn is not top quality but perfectly satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

visited the Compass Inn being just a short trip from Tetbury village in the Cotswolds & The amazing City of Bath. on the evening unwind in the bar & relax, or visit nearby villages like Castle Coombe & Marshfield for great country pubs, In the day we visited historical city of Bath with great atmosphere & street entertainment , a must for all weekend breaks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked in a 'quiet' room for a relaxing weekend but could hear what the couple upstairs were saying, where they walked and could also hear their young child crying..... and we paid extra for this. All of the rest was great, friendly staff and good tips on where to go out and about. The restaurant was clean and food good. Overall the hotel was nice and would go back there again providing we stayed on the upper floor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed on 3 occasions so far in the past few months, with one stay just turning up. Staff are always friendly, helpful and pleased to see you. Owners are lovely and cannot do enough to make your stay.

Rooms are a little tired and could do with an update, but they are clean, comfortable and functional.

Food is of good quality, some may say pricey, but is what you expect at a Best Western.

My stays have been business related but would also use for a short break if I was ever to visit the area with the family.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel, our second stay. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our room, The Charlotte Suite, was spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good and there was a selection of fruits and cereals available. We ate at the restaurant each evening and the meals were of an excellent standard and the staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Hotel is well place for visiting Bath, Bristol and the Westonbirt Arboretum. I am sure we will visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MunkeeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
391 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing