We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Compass Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Attended an afternoon Wedding at the Compass Hotel. Everything that the happy couple wanted was taken care of by a very organised and professional team. The venue looked fantastic and the smooth transitions from the Service, to High Tea and later to evening Disco was brilliant. Food was excellent and the evening Hog Roast a real delight. Would recommend any couple take a look at what's on offer for their special day. Hotel rooms available at reasonable costs were a bonus and really convenient for those with further to travel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked the Inn by chance and were very pleasantly surprised. The Inn was quiet, peaceful and had everything we were looking for. Our room was spacious, and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The standard of the food was excellent and catered for special dietary needs. We wanted to visit Bath and this was certainly the best way to go, using the park and ride service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent a very enjoyable afternoon at The Compass yesterday on the occasion of our granddaughter's naming day. The room we hired was perfect, being big enough to accommodate 50 of our family and friends yet remaining cosy and having an intimate feel, nicely decorated and furnished. As the weather was pleasant we spilled out onto the patio and gardens which are perfect for photos.
We hired a celebrant for the occasion and it was a very happy and memorable day.
We enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea, with a nice range of freshly made sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream and a selection of lovely cakes, the carrot cake was yummy.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We chose The Compass because 7 years ago we celebrated my sons wedding there and had a wonderful day.
I would thoroughly recommend the venue for any wedding, christening, family party etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed one night as friends were having a party there, our superior room was certainly not superior. Cleanliness was not good as there were hairs on the dressing table and in the shower on arrival. Bed was hard and uncomfortable with lumpy pillows. Shower was very small with poor water flow and difficult to control the temperature. Room décor was very dated. Location and hotel grounds were very good but overall could do with some modernisation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Compass Inn was a surprising find. Convenient for both Bath and Bristol, it was a very comfortable and quiet hotel. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent quality. No frills just good food and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are lucky enough to check in when Charlotte is on duty you will be treated to a huge smile, a wonderful sense of humour and totally dedication to her guests well being - fantastic welcome!
Another rarity is Carl the chef. A chef who actually listens to how you want a steak cooked and delivers! Kay in the bar gave efficient and friendly service and the restaurant staff were quietly efficient and unobtrusive.
The room was excellent - very quiet and very comfortable. Overall, a very, very good experience which started the minute you stepped through the door and saw that huge smile!
The hotel is well situated for walks in the lovely S Cotswolds with easy access to Badminton, Bath and the M4.
We'll done to everyone involved!

Room Tip: Forget my rating re pool! Couldn't un click it! Judging by an earlier review about noise from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I walked from Wotton under Edge to Tormarton on the 7th day of our Cotswold Way walk. Arrived at the Compass Inn Tormarton which is located on a busy road with no footway (care needed!) a short walk out of Tormarton. Checked into a nice room but rather small. Went down for a drink and evening meal which were ok. After a good night's sleep, enjoyed a nice breakfast. Our wet jackets had been dried out by hotel staff, ready to walk the final leg of the Cotwold Way. The Compass Inn is not top quality but perfectly satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
8.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
394 reviews
9.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
94 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,194 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Compass Inn

Address: Tormarton, Tormarton GL9 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tormarton
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Compass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Compass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Compass Hotel Tormarton
Tormarton Best Western
Best Western Tormarton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing