We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice house, peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Noades House

Noades House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tormarton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Noades House
Omaha, NE USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice house, peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on our walk from Chipping Campden to Bath on the Cotswold Way. The house is very nice and well-kept. The garden is lovely. Breakfast was very good. Tormarton is well suited as a starting point for the final, long leg of the walk to Bath, and though it's near both the A46 and M4 it manages to retain a quiet small-town atmosphere. I'd certainly recommend Noades House to travelers passing through this area, especially those walking the Cotswold Way.

Room Tip: A short walk to The Major's Retreat for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lap2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Noades House is a Cotswold stone house just a few yards off the Cotswold Way, making it an excellent stop for Cotswold Way walkers. The house is bright, clean, and roomy, and Jane is a friendly, welcoming host. The bathroom in our room was unusually roomy and pleasant. Noades house has beautiful gardens, and is a short walk from a good pub (Major's Retreat). Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Although the Wi-Fi signal was weak in the room, this was not a major problem. A fine B&B experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Noades House. Mrs. Smart was an excellent host and even drove me to a start off point for my walk the next morning. The room was acceptable. The bathroom had recently been renovated and was especially nice. Good breakfast. Short walk into the center of the village and the one pub, which incidentally looks pretty run down--but has excellent food--a real find (and independently owned). WiFi coverage was available but with a weak signal in the bedroom. I've found this to be pretty much a universal problem with small B&Bs in England. Overall, I strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was doing a solo walk on the Cotswold Way and arrived at Noades House at the end of the next to last day. Jane provided a very warm welcome, an excellent breakfast and the company of Ted, a border collie she was boarding. The room and bathroom were large and well furnished. Only two (very) minor issues: Wi-Fi is available but did not work well in my room and the lack of any signage made it slightly difficult to identify the right house. All in all, an excellent facility directly on the Way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thank you so much Jane for a lovely stay. We were so tired from hiking and your smiling face and walk welcome were so appreciated. Lovely room with view of the garden. Great size bathroom. Lovely cake and tea on arrival and the best scrambled eggs and salmon breakfast you'll ever have. Right next to the Cotswold Way, this is a fantastic B&B to stay the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This B&B I would highly recommend, the host Jane was very friendly and welcoming. The house was a beautifully appointed historic home with a beautiful garden. The room was very comfortable and the en suite had a shower as well as a deep bath that my sister made good use of. The village Pub was close, also welcoming and had good food, especially for long distance walkers as we were. The breakfast was really lovely, fresh raspberries from the garden, cereals with fresh yoghurt and scrambled eggs with salmon was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I arrived on the sixth day of a seven-day walk of the Cotswold Way interested only in a quiet room, a tub to soak in, and a nearby pub. I got all that and more. This is an outstanding location for anyone traveling through the Cotswolds. Jane couldn't have been more accommodating, and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast were excellent and a welcome change from a full week of the "full English." While you're there, have a pint and a meal at The Major's Retreat - a very short walk away, and a great traditional pub.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tormarton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
1.3 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
1.5 mi away
The Cross Hands Hotel
The Cross Hands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Old Sodbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Noades House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noades House

Property: Noades House
Address: Noades House Old Hundred Lane, Tormarton GL9 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tormarton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tormarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing