We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Coach House, Tastefully Modernised”

Berkeley Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This building certainly has a lot of character and plenty of original features but the rooms have been updated to meet the standards of a modern hotel. The bar and dining areas have big open fires and the food was okay and reasonably priced.

My colleagues sleep was disturbed by slaming doors, creaky floors and the traffic outside, but I slept very soundly indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adebond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at the Berkeley Arms during my wedding in November, and i have to say that not only is the hotel clean and up-to-date, but above all the staff are INCREDIBLE.

Tracey who owns it, really cares about every one of her guests and so does everyone else who works there. If you have a problem, they will see to it. If you want something, they will do it.
They kept the bar downstairs open for us so our guests had somewhere to go after we left the venue and they let us party on until well after hours (it was ok because we had booked the whole hotel).

If you want somewhere simple, nice, HONEST and clean - come here.

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely and has two double beds in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbourneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We eat here a lot and the food is consistantly great, I especially like the steak.

All the meat is locally sourced. I love the choice of bubble and squeak. Lite bite menu is good too. Good selection of local beers and ciders. Interesting imaginative menu. Great staff, but sometimes not enough staff on and they have to work really hard!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlywurly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Small village hotel. When I arrived late in the evening, I could collect my key in the bar. Very friendly personel, very cooperative, but my room was the smallest I have ever seen.
It was ok, because I arrived late in the evening and left the next morning. The internet was free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed one night in order to attend a funeral. The wake was held in the hotel. As usual the service was very efficient and friendly. We ate in the restaurant, with friends, that night and the food was outstanding and served by a very friendly waitress. This was our third stay at the Berkeley Arms and the standards have remained very high. The rooms are a little bit tired, but the sleep quality was good and the room was well provided for. I recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. The Owner and staff are both friendly and efficient. The Bar is highly recommended as it has an ever changing range of reasonably priced real ales. I must also state that the breakfast is superb!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed here a couple of times on business and cant fault it. More than comfortable rooms, excellent food and a top notch breakfast to set you up for the day.

Not to mention the choice of beers and ciders at the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Stayed for 1 night for a friends wedding reception at the nearby venue 'The Barn'.
Hotel is easy to find, with ample free parking to the rear. Check-in was very quick/informal, basically arrived at the bar and was handed the room key. Room decor was a little tired, and the bathroom was not spotless. Generally the staff were friendly, and the full english breakfast was great.
On the whole we wouldn't recommend this hotel, as we don't think it was worth £80 for a double. (note: price increase since January to £85).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_and_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Berkeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Arms Hotel

Address: Canonbury Street, Berkeley GL13 9BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is assured at this historic coaching inn dating back to the 16th century situated in the heart of the town of Berkeley. With a restaurant, 2 bars a function room and a variety of en-suite bedrooms ranging from family rooms at £125, doubles for £85 and singles for £50, The Berkeley Arms will do whatever it takes to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkeley Arms Hotel Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing