We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”

Berkeley Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The clean, comfortable rooms have character. Good breakfasts, great meals. Service above & beyond.
Was warned about potential late night noise from a function, which stopped within minutes of midnight.
Had a non smoking room but hotel had a civilised outside smoking area (covered, seats, heater).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPPP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed at the berkeley in mid February while attending a family wedding at a local venue.My wife and i had a wonderful time ,the accommodation was excellent,our room was situated on the top floor,overlooking the high street.The room was clean ,bed was very comfy .The food served up was delicious and plentiful as was the local cider .Can honestly say we had three memorable days.Many thanks to Tracey, sharon and all the staff who made. us most welcome, oh and not forgetting the locals with whom we had a great time. Cheers everyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robfozzie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at berkeley arms for family wedding on the 15th of feb
The staff were lovely,even gave us a lft to wedding venue as the taxi service wasnt running , they even offered to pick us up again at end of the night even though they had a function on themselves
We were in room 8 which was at the front of hotel overlooking the main high street which wasn,t noisy,room was big with a double bed which was really comfortable and a single bed
We would have liked to have a lamp and a plug for the bath but we didn,t ask
Breakfast was spot on and delicious
The hardressers across the road managed to accomodate us for a few appointments even though they were busy and we hadn,t booked
All in all we are planning to go back for Near Year as they have a big party there for the village
Lovely hotel lovely people

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel wth lovely sash windows overlooking high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacquieclemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding at the castle, which is only five minutes by foot, so great from that point of view. The staff were very friendly, the room was large and comfy, although the decor looked as though it hadn't had any attention for some time. It was convenient and just about good enough, given that the wedding was our main focus. Things that could have been improved on: there was only one small thin towel each in the bathroom, the coffee in the morning was the weakest I have ever tasted; and worst of all, we found we were right across from the function room, where a party was in full swing when we got back ready for a good night's sleep after a long day. The door swung open and shut frequently, letting out bursts of loud laughter, clapping and singing. Luckily, we were so tired we did manage to get to sleep, but we felt later that we should have been told about the situation at the time of booking (several months ago) and/or offered a discount. I have stayed in much nicer places for the same money.

Room Tip: Check where your room is in relation to the party room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venusjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very grand old inn building, bang in the middle of Berkeley. Very friendly staff gave us a perfectly quiet room on the top floor. Couldn't hear the bar at all. Room 11. Comfy warm bed, nice big telly. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benaldo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A group of friends and I dined in the Berkeley arms over the christmas period on a very busy evening. Our choice of restaurant everyone had a fantastic meal which was great value and was delivered with superb service.

A charming historic building lavished with personal care and attention, I have no quibles about return to the Berkeley Arms in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Oakhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Even if they had honored the price quoted over the phone (which they did not), it wouldn't have been worth it.

Carpeted bathroom - need I say more? Everything creaks, so if noise bothers you or if you want comfort then you'd be better off sharing stables with a team of horses.

"Tracy" the manager was also a bit rude. The place is a dive, so she is a perfect fit actually.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TimFF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
4.2 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
40 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
444 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Arms Hotel

Address: Canonbury Street, Berkeley GL13 9BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is assured at this historic coaching inn dating back to the 16th century situated in the heart of the town of Berkeley. With a restaurant, 2 bars a function room and a variety of en-suite bedrooms ranging from family rooms at £125, doubles for £85 and singles for £50, The Berkeley Arms will do whatever it takes to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkeley Arms Hotel Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing