We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Allocated room 4 which was spacious, clean, well decorated and has a lovely en-suite.
Breakfast was excellent. Staff were all very friendly and willing to help in any way.
Regrettably we didn't try the restaurant as we were partying in another establishment.
Location is very good for touring the area and the hotel has a good car park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
53
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Malt House with a group of friends for a long weekend, using it as a base for a walking tour of the West Cotswolds.
The accommodation was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and set us up well for the day's walking ahead. We also had 2 lovely evening meals
However, what really stood out was the wonderful service provide by Wendy and her team. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
A whole hearted recommendation without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Traveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed two nights here (Friday & Saturday) and found it very comfortable (room 8), clean and spacious. The hosts are very welcoming and attentive - as is their staff. Breakfast is excellent! We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings and found the food to be extremely good - I don't usually eat chips but on this occasion could not resist especially as the waitress said they were delicious (!!), so chose that option and they were indeed exceptional! The price reflected the menu and was very reasonable. All in all we had a lovely, relaxing time and wouldn't hesitate in returning and also recommending The Malt House in Berkeley.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglight_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is in a good location for lots of attractions hence our choice.
The service from the staff was very good and nothing seemed a problem.
The food is a typical bar meal type of food with a few choices on the menu for the main meals.
The breakfast was very good with fresh cooked food and a choice of cereals.
The room itself had a double bed what was very hard indeed and made up of two single beds joined together with large bedding to suite and the pillows were quite flat.
The curtain track and curtains in the bathroom were hanging down and was very difficult to close.
The two windows in the bedroom was very drafty as the diy draft exclude was missing in places and a very poor seal.
The heating was on for a very short time on the morning and evening leaving it a bit cold at times.
A lot of door slamming and noise from the two adjoining rooms as they shared one bathroom.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room ask for one away from the ones who share the same bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed en route from Devon to Yorkshire to break the journey. We couldn't have chosen a better place: our room (No 4) was very spacious, with a good sized bathroom (bath with shower) and wardrobe, a dressing table/desk for laptop, wifi, trouser press, hairdrier, a large bed (two singles together). Everything was very clean and tidy. The food was great and would have liked to stay for the Sunday carvery had we had more time. Wendy, Stuart and all the staff (particularly Calum behind the bar) were exceedingly friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend The Malt House as being an excellent place to stay which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CakieBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at the Malt House now for almost 7 years whilst working at Berkeley. So whether you want somewhere to stay long term, a home from home, or just passing through. I strongly recommend staying here. The owners Wendy and Stuart will make you feel welcome. Behind the bar Calumn will have you laughing and the girls will always be willing to talk to you and make sure you don't feel like a stranger.

I will struggle to find a more friendly place than this, they have certainly given me loads of fun and made me feel like part of the family. Someone in the bar will always be willing to have a chat if that is what you want.

The Food is excellent and plenty of choice with the specials regularly changed.

I can't say enough to praise Wendy and the staff at the Malt House, you should try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, rooms were very clean and tidy. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is fantastic and plenty of it. Would definitely stay here again, cannot praise our stay highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 22 Marybrook Street, Berkeley GL13 9BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malt House has 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which are tastefully decorated in the traditional charm and style of the hotel. All rooms have a T.V, tea/coffee making facilities and a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere which gives the feeling of a home from home.The restaurant is on two levels,seating nearly sixty, bookings for large parties are readily accommodated. It is always advisable to book well ahead, especially for weekends. Menus at the Malt House are extensive, with something to suit every taste and requirement, there are regular specials displayed as well as the Speciality Sausage Board and a vegetarian selection.The traditional pub offers an excellent range of beers, wines and spirits, which can be enjoyed in a relaxed and informal setting. The comfortable environment is ideal for a friendly conversation with friends and also boasts a selection of traditional pub games, including Darts,Pool and a full size Skittle Alley. Berkeley is two miles West off of the main Gloucester/Bristol trunk road (A38) and sits at the head of the Berkeley Vale, some of Gloucestershire's most beautiful countryside. Berkeley is situated about 8 miles north of Exit 14 and 8 miles south of Exit 13 of the M5. The town of Berkeley is the birthplace of Edward Jenner, a pioneer of English medicine, and you can visit his old house which is now a Museum dedicated to his work . The Malt House(Small Family Run Hotel/Pub Accommodation) is located just 5 minutes from Berkeley Power Station and 20 minutes from Oldbury Power Station at Oldbury on Severn a small village near the mouth of the River Severn. We welcome business clients looking for accommodation in the area.The most famous attraction in the area is Berkeley Castle, which has stood for over 900 years, while there are a multitude of walks and sceneries to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malt House Hotel And Restaurant Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing