We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vale of Berkeley Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent two nights here in June and the hosts were fantastic (they were even kind enough to lend me some cufflinks when I forgot mine)! The rooms were great, very clean and with good internet (and biscuits :-) ) Breakfast was also delicious. All in all, great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Toasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review,
We are glad you enjoyed the biscuits & breakfast.
It is also very important to us that the rooms are clean, so thank you for recognising this.
You weren't the first to forget your cuff links, Luckily Harri has a variety to choose from & lend out!
It was a pleasure hosting you & we hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards Claire & Harri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
38
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a very enjoyable 1 night stay & Claire & Harri are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel very very welcome. Absolutely spotlessly clean, well appointed rooms. We slept very well & very comfortable bed (didn't notice any road noise) Excellent value for money and close to Bristol & surrounding countryside. Keep up the good work guys :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Perhaps we could go for a curry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

As soon as we drove up to the guesthouse, which is very easy to find, we were warmly greeted by Claire and Harri and were shown to a very well appointed, clean and bright room. We were offered a lift to the venue we were attending that evening and were made very welcome. After a comfortable nights sleep which was not affected by the proximity to the road we enjoyed a very well prepared, hearty and flavoursome breakfast. We would certainly recommend the Vale of Berkeley Guest House to others and wish Claire and Harri a successful future in recognition of their efforts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertP754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
It means such a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Guest House, Thank you for such kind feedback.
We hope you had a good meal at 'The Pepper pot' and look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in the area,

Best wishes Claire & Harri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight stay. Claire and Harri were very welcoming and hospitable. The guest house is spotlessly clean. The room we stayed in was next to the road but we couldn't hear the traffic. Our room had been freshly painted (they had just finished the day we arrived), we were offered the choice of two rooms in case the smell of paint bothered us. We opted for the newly decorated one, which was perfect for us. We went out on the evening we arrived and were given a lift (at no extra charge) to our party, a very nice touch. We had a very restful nights sleep and enjoyed a stunning breakfast, all cooked fresh by Claire in her Chef's Whites. Claire and Harri were very helpful and chatty, they both very much care about their guest house and it really shows. We will definitely be staying again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
It was truly a pleasure having you both come to stay with us, We really enjoyed your company. Perhaps on a future visit we could all go out for a drink together.

Best Wishes Claire & Harri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Chose to stay here as it was the nearest place to my friends wedding. Was pleasantly surprised that there was very little noise from the main road straight outside. Rooms nicely decorated, very pleasant hosts, would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank runkaterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for your friends wedding, It was a shame you were a bit rushed & had to come on your own, We hope your Husband is feeling a lot better now.

Best Wishes Claire & Harri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Made to feel very welcome and inviting. Beds are super comfortable. Breakfast is very filling and lovely. Harri & Claire are very friendly, helpful, charming, and make you feel at home. Rooms are spotless and great views countrysides. We really loved staying here and will 100% use them next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelMara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Hi Guys, Thanks for spending your Anniversary at our Guest House. We enjoyed having your company especially on Saturday night whilst watching 'The Voice'
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to 'Slimbridge'
If the weather is warmer next time maybe you will get to relax in the garden.

Best Wishes Harri & Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We chose to stay at the Vale of Berkeley as we were visiting friends in the area. I chose the guesthouse based on reviews here and we weren't disappointed.

The owners were really friendly, couldn't do enough for us and had even left some chocolate for my daughter. Our family room was spotless, well decorated and spacious and had a brilliant power shower.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast time and my husband raved about the coffee.

We'll definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DunderMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireandHarri, Manager at Vale of Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review, It was a pleasure having your family to stay this Easter, I'm glad your Daughter enjoyed the chocolate she is so cute and well behaved.
By the time you come back we hope to have our pony at home, so maybe she would like have a go at grooming it.

Kind Regards Harri & Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
669 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Perrots House Bed and Breakfast
9.5 mi away
The Close - Bed & Breakfast
The Close - Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Minchinhampton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale of Berkeley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale of Berkeley Guest House

Property: Vale of Berkeley Guest House
Address: A38 - Bristol Road, Berkeley GL13 9EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Guests receive a warm welcome from Claire & Harri, Check in is smooth and easy at our reception desk where you will be given your Key, and can pay by card or cash. We have 8 guest rooms here at the Vale of Berkeley, 6 on the first floor and 2 ground floor. These comprise of: Room 1-Single. Room 2-Petite Double. Room 3-Standard Double. Room 4-Large Double. Room 5-Large Double Ground Floor. Room 6 Superior Double or Twin-Ground Floor. Room 7-Small Double. Room 8-Superior Double or Twin. All rooms are en-suite & have TV/DVD, Desk/Chair, Hair dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities. Other facilities at the guest house include: Conservatory Dining Room. Dovedale Dining Room. Lounge. Pool Room. (With Pool Table) DVD Library. Numerous outdoor seating areas. Over an acre of gardens to enjoy. Plenty of Free onsite parking. Exclusive hire is also available, perfect for wedding parties for up to 17 guests, where you can relax with family and friends, knowing you have the run of all facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vale of Berkeley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Of Berkeley Guest House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing