We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens(Thornbury)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stonehouse(Stonehouse)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
216
167
61
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
167
61
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivecoach drivershearings hotelscoach holidayevening entertainmenthalf boardown transportnational holidaysno lifta ground floor roomweekend breakmain roada large car parkbusy roadberkeley castlelong weekendmy wife and i have just
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Well this was not what we have been used to in any of the hotels that we have ever stayed in before.
we were not allowed to have anything to eat in the Resturant we had to have something from the bar I will say that what I had was lovely but what my husband had was most deffenetly not .

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms so couldn't comment on them but ours was clean and tidy even though there wasn't any toiletries in the bathroom except for two little bars of soap, so bring your own
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for posting your review, I have spoken to the person who gave you the information, she says she explained the restaurant served a set menu for our dinner bed & breakfast guests and that whilst you could eat there most B&B guests chose to eat in the bar. The bar menu is more suited to individual tastes and the times are more flexible enabling you to eat later. You did n,t say what your husband had to eat and I'm sorry he didnt enjoy it but am unable to investigate further without more information.
Toiletries are available free from reception which is listed in the room information pack.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here last year and if anything the service was even better this time . My wife has special dietary needs and the staff could not have been more helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms if a little in need of modernisation but if you are on a budget these are great value for the money. The restaurant offers a good selection of traditional foods and in generous helpings. A good place to stay as it is in easy reach of a lot of interesting places..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your comments 'great value for money' is always good to hear.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year and hopefully if this recession ever ends we will be able to carry out any improvements planned making your stay even more comfortable.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

we stayed over the easter break, we could not fault the bedroom which was a four poster with a jacuzzi bath with overhead shower massive room and so clean and tidy with views over the garden. the food was great and plenty of it. the receptionist louise made our stay she was very welcoming and extremely friendly the whole of our stay, we came as guest and felt we left as friends. the restaurant staff too were also very friendly we would recommend this hotel to anyone and would have hesitation in returning

thanks for a great weekend.

sue and kevin

Room Tip: ask for room 32.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts, I will make sure Louise and the rest of the staff read your review. I would also like to thank you for the lovely comment you made 'we arrived as guests and left as friends' what better recommendation for the hotel could we ask for?

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A very relaxing place to stay with very efficient staff willing to please. Food excellent. It has an olde worlde feel to it but still modern. Ideal quiet location but near to many places of interest and not far from Gloucester itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

You clearly had a lovely relaxing time and I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing, superb value for money break. We both stayed for three nights, dinner bed and breakfast for a total of £154. To avoid the predicted severe weather last Friday we chose to come down on the Thursday but the hotel was unfortunately fully booked and so I picked the Swan near Almondsbury, which cost us £55 for one night BB and £33 for two soups and main meals. The Prince of Wales hotel knocked the Swan on all counts. Their food was superb, home made and served with an exceptional warmth and professionalism. Our bedroom at the back, was very warm, clean and large. There was also lots of choice for the three course dinners and the breakfasts. I have looked on many sites for weekend breaks, booking.com, late rooms etc and none compare price wise to the shearings hotels. Where else could you get DBB for less than £26pp per night. Well done Shearings,your on a winner.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, its good to know you had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. Sometimes you need to experience other hotels to appreciate the benefits elswhere, as you say 'great value for money' what more can you ask for.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Prince of Wales Hotel.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews