We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

stayed three nights, have been to other bay hotels and this on is one of the better ones.
although décor in rooms are showing signs of wear ,they are very clean. staff are very helpful and cant do enough to make your stay more pleasant . food was very good with a good selection. entertainment on Saturday and Sunday night was good . will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room 21 at the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldertraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for sending in your review, I will pass your comments on to all the staff involved, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel with a coach tour and it was warm clean good food and friendly. Near the M5 so makes a over night stay possible. I would say contact first as this place does get busy with coach tours. Young staff but they give there all even when playing bingo what a laugh that is.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sully G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay here especially the bingo!!

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Came here for a wedding reception and my god! Awful is the word to use if I'm going to be polite! We got shown into the function room then were told we weren't aloud to be in there so were told to wait back in the lobby by the very same man who showed is where to go! Waited outside for at least an hour. We're shown our seats and then we had to work around the kitchen for the food so it came out as buffet as we said, the tables came up one at a time and by the time last one had sat down with their food only the first two tables came back up for seconds, and they started taking the food away! We asked if we could have it left out and they said no!! Health and safety! What rubbish! No longer than 5 minutes they were bringing puddings out and the same happened again!! And then 10 minutes after that they portioned out the wedding cake! (The wedding cake was fine to leave out all night because it wasn't theirs) bar staff could not pour a pint to save her life and the prices are extortionate! Even the barman thought so!! By then end of the night, what do we see??? The staff eating the left overs from the Buffett! I was furious as so was the bride and groom! Absolutely disgraceful! Never step foot on that place again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria_atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Im sorry you didnt enjoy your day here but having read your review and after speaking to my wedding co-ordinator and staff working on the day I am afraid your comments are not only unfair but inaccurate. If I may answer point by point, when you arrived you were unfortunately sent into the function room, this was a mistake, but made by a member of staff that was fairly new to the hotel and inexperienced in dealing with weddings but soon rectified by my wedding co-ordinator as it is customary for the bride and groom to greet the guests on arrival.
With the buffet food as with any meals served here we abide by strict environmental health rules and therefore must correct you, all the guests were also invited to visit the buffet table three times before the food was removed and it was not '5mins' later as stated by yourself, this would be physically impossible to achieve with 60+ wedding guests (we also record all times and temperatures when serving any meals) Any left over food will be disposed of and any meals eaten by my very hard working staff at the end of a long busy day will be excess food prepared for this purpose. The wedding cake was portioned as per the brides request and as it was not prepared by ourselves it is not regulated by our health & safety policy. The bar prices are set by our head office but having researched other hotels and pubs in the area the prices are on a par locally. I am surprised at your comments regarding the bride as my wedding co-ordinator was given the impression she had a lovely day and in fact left flowers as a thankyou, not something generally done if dis-satisfied.
I am happy to accept any comments and also constructive critisism but find your comments rather personal towards my staff and hotel and as such will defend and correct where necessary.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Before arriving at hotel I phoned to request a low floor due to my disability this was sorted out with no fuss, so I thought this was going to be a good experience. Rooms on a arrival were good, unfortunately the TV was broken after several requests it never got fixed, even after several attempts. Lighting in the hotel was poor. Breakfast was good, but dinner was average with small portions. There was no entertainment the 1st night, and the other 3 nights were average. The driver Lawerence was excellent and made the holiday a better experience. Day trips were excellent. Staff were warm & friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Shayman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your review, I will pass you comments on to Lawrence and the staff. (The Tv,s were beyond our control as it was due to transmitter problems which have now been resolved)

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very good hotel prices. Good The food. Is. Fine. And. Value. For. Money rooms. Clean and staff very. Helpfull and. Friendly Hotel is clean reception and. Dining. Areas. Clean. Hotel is. On a main road which. MAy. Put a. Lot. Of. People. Off. But. Noise. Wasn't. Bad

Room Tip: Choose. Back. Of. Hotel away from. Main road and. A. View. Of the. Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Your review ticks all the boxes so thankyou for taking the time to send it in.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We paid £90 for 2 nights bed and breakfast for 2 and got great value for money. The hotel mainly caters for shearings coach parties and we were kept seperate from these holiday makers at dinner and breakfast! They did come into the bar with their coffee each evening though! The food is adequate, we have had worse and paid more, the bar food is very basic ( I asked for a jacket potato and was told that they only do chips!). There is a pub called the malt house in berkely that served lovely food. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the location is great as its on the main road between Bristol and Gloucester.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelarower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your review, great value for money is exactly what we hope to achieve.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Superb Food from Marie and Kerry, Great Service from Sam and Jess, welcoming reception from Louise. No better value traditional Sunday Lunch in the UK. Homely atmosphere.Hence why we've been going there regularly for 15 years. Nothing too much trouble and an assurance of being well looked after.Have no fears when taking family and friends, all have enjoyed their lunch and come back for more

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to send in such a lovely review, all the staff mentioned will be pleased to know they are so appreciated, we also value your loyalty to us and as always its a pleasure to see you both, we look forward to looking after you for the next 15years.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
187 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing