We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stewart&paula july 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stewart&paula july 2013”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from a wonderful holiday at the Prince of Wales,room was perfect, food to a very high standard, staff were extremely polite and courteous even with the awkward guests,this hotel provided a good base for our sightseeing in the Cotswoldsand to make it even betterthe weather was extremely hot which at times made sleeping difficult but not impossible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review not only did you have a 'wonderful' time but also had fantastic weather, what more could you ask for.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    147
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
49
260
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

just spent a week at the above hotel while touring round the Cotswolds hotel is very comfortable and pretty modern décor,room was very spacious and all staff were very good , good choice for meals on menu with a chefs special also on every day. no complaints another good shearings hotel thanks.

Room Tip: only prob road noise pick one facing away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thankyou for your review, I will pass on your thanks to all the staff

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

firstly - thank you Lawrence for your great driving, terrible jokes and unrelenting good humour - you made the trip. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and efficient, our room (18) was comfortable and the meals were all excellent. Well worth the money. Despite being slightly remote, Shearings made sure our trips were interesting and kept us entertained. Thank you all

Room Tip: try to get ground floor - No 18 would be a little difficult for less mobile guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for sending in your comments, I will pass on your praise to all concerned, especially the lovely Lawrence!!

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a Shearings budget hotel and the value for money is excellent. The rooms are a reasonable size, in good decorative order and were serviced to high standard daily.
Has large well stocked bar, a nice garden to sit out in and provides some basic entertainment.
For breakfast there is a small buffet selection and fairly wide cooked choice, from full English to kippers. Different 3 course table d'hote menu each evening. The standard of the food is very good. The service in the dinning room was overall excellent, fast and friendly, but there were a few minor hiccups caused by Shearings short sighted policy of only serving dinner for one hour when they allow a hour and a half for breakfast which is much simpler for both the waiting and kitchen staff. (Don't quite see the logic in this).
Plenty of places to see in the area but you do need a car or be on a coach trip.
All the staff were smart, friendly, efficient and as helpful as they could possibly be.
And despite what some say there is free Wifi.
Overall at the current prices this hotel is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stonehengedeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your observations and indeed praise are much appreciated, it was fair and well thought-out. As you say 'big value, small price' I will pass on your comments and thanks to all concerned.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is elderly, but clean and well presented, the room we were in was spacious and the beds were comfortable. We appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities after a hard day sightseeing.

The food was of a good standard and choice, and the staff were really pleasant people so very little to complain of at all.

Only one little criticism, free wifi is available in so many places these days, not only is it not free here, it is not available at all. I do think that if Bay Hotels want to attract a younger clientèle, this is something they should be looking at

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable weekend. I would just like to point out that free Wi-Fi is available at the hotel and is accessible in the bar and reception lounge areas.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just returned from the Prince of Wales Hotel. The journey down from Lancashire was very pleasant, thanks to Alan the driver using the scenic route rather than mostly Motorway. We stopped for lunch in Hereford - a nice change from a motorway Services.

The hotel has a good layout - several places to sit and a comfortable bar lounge area. A downside we found is that the 'entertainment' room was rather featureless and lacking in atmosphere, especially as on average there were never more than about 20 people watching the entertainment. We thought the gentleman entertainer from Carmarthen on the Wednesday was brilliant and deserved a much bigger audience.

As regards the dining, there were so few staff, that the evening meal was a long drawnout affair, and I agree with several other reviewers that the portions , especially vegetables, were too small and every time, the same boiled potations were served, a bit more variety would have been nice.

The excursions were good. An excellent guide boarded the coach in Bath and the drive and commentary around Bath was most enjoyable. We really enjoyed Slimbridge Wildfowl Centre. It's such a beautiful, relaxing place it should be on the NHS ! On the Cotswold villages trip I would have liked to see somewhere other than the ujsual Bourton-on-the-Water and Moreton -in-Marsh, such as Burford or Broadway, but I appreciate some places are perhaps too small to accommodate coaches.

All in all, thank you for another pleasant Shearingvs holiday.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Edith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in your thoughts, I agree that it is a shame more people didnt attend the entertainment when you were here as we have exceptionally good artists but it does vary from week to week, sometimes its full to bursting!! With regards to the restaurant not everyone is able to eat the same quantity of food and we do try to control wastage but as always any diners having our set menu are welcome you ask for extra should it not be enough, there are two choices of potato available at every dinner so I am not sure why you only had new potatoes. Staffing levels are correct for the number of guests staying but as with previous comments there will be a slight delay if everyone elects to come to the restaurant at the same time.
Slimbridge is wonderful especially with the lovely weather you had, I am so glad it is currently one of our excursions as there is so much to see and all at your own pace.
As you say 'all in all another pleasant Shearings holiday' and may you enjoy many more with us.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

I have just got back from staying at the Prince of Wales hotel. Me and my Mum travelled with Shearings. Both of our rooms were very clean and nice to stay in.

Alan our coach driver was just brilliant. Very informative and very friendly. Alan - you're a true gent and it was a pleasure meeting you. I hope your Hayfever gets better!

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere which is great if you want a bit of peace but not so great if you want to have a walk around. The village of Berkeley is roughly 2 miles away and there are no pavements to walk on so It was a relief that everyday we went out for excursions to Bath, Gloucester, Cheltenham and The Wildlife Wetlands sanctuary in Slimbridge.

Breakfasts were great, however evening meals took their time getting to your table. Adrienne who is a lovely young lady worked really hard and I felt sorry for the poor girl as she was clearly rushed off her feet. Perhaps this was something to do with too many staff taking holidays all at once? I would like to see for evening meals things such as Lasagne, chips and sausage and mash not things like beef with a hint of cream and whisky!

The hotel has Wi-Fi and Adrienne showed me how to use this as my mother thought it was an air freshner! The two leather chairs at the top of the stairs are very comfortable. I nearly fell asleep in them!

Overall a very good Shearings holiday, well worth it. My sincere thanks to staff especially to both Alan and Adrienne.

Kind Regards - John Dawson

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review I am pleased you had a good break and you both enjoyed your stay here. All menus are carefully chosen to try to cover all tastes and hopefully all age groups so its a shame you didnt enjoy the 'Beef Balmoral' we had lovely feedback as it was for a special dinner for coronation day and all courses had a royal theme. We do try to vary the 'specials' and have done some of your suggestions previously but unfortunately not the week you were here, maybe next time? There is a timescale for dinner service but if our guests opt to come down to the restaurant at the same time there will always be a slight delay, all the staff at the hotel work very hard to provide the best we can and its always good to be appreciated I will ensure your lovely comments are passed on especially to Adrienne and Alan.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing