We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda Valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great value for money paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just returned on 22-11-13self drive holiday at above hotel plenty of car parking.
The reception and bar area lovely and clean and a nice log fire burning we was on a turkey and tinsel food excellent every night ,good entertainment,we was inroom 15 a very nice room cleaned every day. The staff are all nice and friendly and helpfull ,manageress nice and chatty some places you dont even see them, rooms lovely and warm i have read many negative reviews on this hotel dont believe all you read if people want 5 star treatment then they must pay 5 star prices for what we payed it was more than excellent 10 out of 10 Prince of wales Many Thanks to you all

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - its rather nice to get a 10 out of 10 !! I will make sure all the staff receive your thanks.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    141
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
46
254
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redruth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Visited on a self drive midweek break. Hotel was easy to find, and has a huge carpark.
Reception, bar and lounge area was very smart. Room 29 was fine. bathroom in need of a little TLC
Meals were excellent as were all the staff .
Ideal base for our walking short break .(we got lucky with the weather ). Only slight downer, bar was a bit pricey, and we could not get a good deal to stay the Sunday night unlike some of the other hotels in the group .
Over all a very good time was had.. Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments I will pass them on to all concerned, sorry you were unable to extend your stay to include Sunday night, this should have been possible and think it may have been down to a new member of staff that was unaware of the procedure.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a National Coach Holiday weekend staying at the Prince of Wales.The room was most adequate.Very clean and well presented with a large bathroom/shower.The meals were excellent,served by Charlotte,who was lovely.The hotel entertainment was the best we have seen so far on our National trips.The tours were excellent with our driver Ian who certainly knew stuff about this area of the country.All in all a thoroughly recommendable trip.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a view over the garden,,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
A 'great' review - thankyou.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have never had a 'Turkey and Tinsel' break before but just wanted to say how lovely the hotel staff made it. Our bedroom was warm, spacious and very clean. The staff made us very welcome and were always happy to help with directions or any query we asked them. The food was excellent we could have tried everything - the waiters and waitresses were lovely. The work they all put in for the week was incredible - the hotel was decorated nothing was spared and the table decorations were wonderful. The hotel is ideally situated for visits to the National Trust and SS Great Britain as well as Bristol and the Cotswolds. We will certainly recommend The Prince of Wales to our friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thankyou for your kind review, I will pass on your comments to all the staff as its really lovely to know all our efforts are appreciated.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Arrived during the half term break having booked at the last minute through Shearings. Probably the 2nd closest Shearings hotel to where we live in Loughborough- the closest Shearings hotel for us is near Stratford on Avon. Uneventful journey to the hotel and easily found on the A38 heading south towards Bristol. First impressions of reception bar/lounge and restaurant areas were that they are of an excellent standard and looked comfortable and welcoming. Our room was of an acceptable standard but we were a little concerned with the on-suite facilities where the panel on the bath, which had a split, seemed to have been repaired with Sellotape.There was also a loose fitting toilet seat which I hope I was able to fix. The restaurant was pleasant and again the food was OK and efficiently served unlike some customers from other reviews who felt that the service was slow etc.
The only downsides to our stay were that the poor weather meant we did not leave the hotel for the weekend (would have liked to see Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust for example); my wife is disabled and had to walk a long way to our room (room 13 - room 1 is not much closer to reception/restaurant either) and although the access to hotel through the entrance into reception, bars and lounge etc is all on one level (good!) the route to the rooms means 4 steps up and there appears to be no ramp or access other than via these steps? The corridors on the way to our the room seemed a little drab, some of the wooden doors had chipped edges and it looked as though the whole area needed redecoration and a lick of paint. Last but not least as other customers have mentioned the hotel is isolated so you do need transport to get anywhere including going out to buy a newspaper from the local garage down the road.
Overall though a pleasant stay which meant we had a chance to rest and relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: Tip for disabled customers- ask for a ground floor room nos. 1-15
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank yo for your review, the small maintenance issues have been noted and will be dealt with. We are glad you had a pleasant, restful and relaxing stay and if you return hopefully you will experience better weather.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Been a couple of times as its local sadly last time we went I had pizza the topping was very watery only managed to eat a couple of slices off a ten inch pizza. The waitress collected plates and asked if food was ok I said no due to pizza topping she said sorry. The manager did not come to our table to follow up complaint and when we went to pay nothing was said and was still charged full price.. poor service disappointed this time will not be returning out of principle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mintyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal here and extremely disappointed that I was not informed at the time of your visit. It is very important to the head chef and myself that every meal is not only served correctly but of good quality so I would ask you to please contact me at the hotel so we may put this right.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visited the Prince of Wales on a coach trip with Shearings. The hotel is located on the A38, obviously a major coach stop/roadhouse in the days before motorways. Unfortunately it is now somewhat isolated, the nearest village is a couple of miles away and there is not really anywhere to walk or shop. However, it is an excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds and surrounding areas, while there we visited Gloucester, Bourton on the water, Moreton in the Marsh, Bath and Worcester. The main attractions of the hotel are the excellent, friendly staff and the nice meals. The hotel is quite small which means that service is personal and homely as well as efficient. There is quite a large bar and another room where evening entertainment takes place. On arrival I had a problem with my room as the toilet would not flush properly but the same evening I was given a lovely replacement room which was very comfortable and quiet. Restaurant service was fantastic, my friend required a gluten free diet and special treats were provided for her in addition to the usual gluten free bread etc. and the restaurant looks out over the pleasant gardens round the hotel. The decor is a little dated, particularly the bathroom plumbing but some rooms, including the second one I was given had obviously been updated to contemporary standards, so i assume this is an ongoing process throughout the hotel. We had entertainment on three nights out of the four we stayed and this was of reasonable standard, though not earthshaking. There is quite a large car park and main roads and motorways are easily accessible making planning your journeys easy. The staff here go out of their way to make sure everyone is happy. Our party was mostly middle aged and up so I can't say how families would find it, or whether it would suit young couples but I'm sure most people would appreciate the cleanliness (everything was spotless), the attention to comfort, and the pleasant aspect. it is also probably a lot more reasonable in price than many hotels in the local towns and cities. Mobility wise, there are two floors, the top one has a lot of steps up and down along the corridors but there are quite a lot of ground floor rooms for those with limited mobility.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms best for people with limited mobility. Rooms at the front may suffer from some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skemjazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for sending in your review which was very well thought out and a great compliment to all the staff, its good to know our efforts are appreciated.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing