We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Turkey and Tinsel Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Well what lovely place to stay ,, upon our arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who booked us in and directed us to our room and a very comfortable room it was .. Lovely bed and furniture ... Very nice bathroom with shower over bath ... Meals were excellent and served by very polite staff ,,, which brings me to two very helpful and profession bar staff those being Zoe and Sam but may I say that other bar staff were very good too but I failed to get their names.
Anyone that has stayed at the Bay Prince of Wales and writes of poor findings are obviously on the scrounge (professional and habitual complainers) - plenty of people that set out to do this.

Room Tip: If physically challenged then ask for a ground floor room when booking as wasn't aware of a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CliveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us, it is lovely for the staff to get such praise and even more so to get a special mention, they all work very hard and are a great little team.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went with Shearings by coach on a Turkey and Tinsel 5 day break, there were outings everyday. This was essential as there was no foot path from hotel to walk or any town nearby. I thought this may be a problem, but it turned out to be the opposite, we were entertained all day and evening. The best quality evening entertainment and prime places to visit daily. The food was of very high standard and could not fault the service from Hotel and coach driver, Alan. Everything and everyone was excellent including the other fellow passengers. Thank you everyone for a most enjoyable time, not forgetting our other coach drivers who tok us to and from Clacton. Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildagronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your 'excellent' review I will ensure your comments are passed on to all concerned as it is lovely to receive your praise.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just back from a National Holidays break which we really enjoyed taking-in the local sights and Christmas markets. This clean, well-maintained roadside Hotel (which is more like a Motel) was very good overall as was the service and overall facilities. Food was excellent, which included a superb Christmas meal and the general feeling overall was that nothing was too much trouble and efforts were made to give the place a festive feel.
The downside is the somewhat remote/isolated situation of the hotel with no facilities of any kind within around 3 miles. The location is hardly the fault of the hotel (although no doubt the usual Trip Advisor cranks will say it is!!!) but it would therefore have been preferable to have access to basic facilities such as morning newspapers...... and.an alarm clock would be useful too for we.technophobes!!! All-in-all though an enjoyable visit and thanks to all for a good value stay. .

Room Tip: Due to the location, ensure your days out are properly filled with alternatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffhtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments as you say somewhat remote but hopefully we make up for it in other ways. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife & I spent 4 days at this very enjoyable hotel for my birthday, it's easy to find, only 6 miles off junction 14 of the M5, the hotel staff were excellent in every way, the rooms very clean and spacious, the food was very good and entertainment OK. Berkeley is a small village and not much to do, it was ideal for us as we were looking for a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle of city life, but in Berkeley there is quite a remarkable castle for people to have a look around and enjoy, nearby the ladies can enjoy the wonderful shopping in Bristol or Gloucester only about 30 minutes either away where there are many shops, restaurants, etc.
I would recommend this hotel for a good relaxing experience just to switch off and enjoy the hotel's hospitality, food & service.

Room Tip: most rooms are spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyD-S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review, I am pleased we were able to look after you on your birthday and glad that you both had a good relaxing time here.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just returned on 22-11-13self drive holiday at above hotel plenty of car parking.
The reception and bar area lovely and clean and a nice log fire burning we was on a turkey and tinsel food excellent every night ,good entertainment,we was inroom 15 a very nice room cleaned every day. The staff are all nice and friendly and helpfull ,manageress nice and chatty some places you dont even see them, rooms lovely and warm i have read many negative reviews on this hotel dont believe all you read if people want 5 star treatment then they must pay 5 star prices for what we payed it was more than excellent 10 out of 10 Prince of wales Many Thanks to you all

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - its rather nice to get a 10 out of 10 !! I will make sure all the staff receive your thanks.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Visited on a self drive midweek break. Hotel was easy to find, and has a huge carpark.
Reception, bar and lounge area was very smart. Room 29 was fine. bathroom in need of a little TLC
Meals were excellent as were all the staff .
Ideal base for our walking short break .(we got lucky with the weather ). Only slight downer, bar was a bit pricey, and we could not get a good deal to stay the Sunday night unlike some of the other hotels in the group .
Over all a very good time was had.. Thankyou

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Many thanks for your comments I will pass them on to all concerned, sorry you were unable to extend your stay to include Sunday night, this should have been possible and think it may have been down to a new member of staff that was unaware of the procedure.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a National Coach Holiday weekend staying at the Prince of Wales.The room was most adequate.Very clean and well presented with a large bathroom/shower.The meals were excellent,served by Charlotte,who was lovely.The hotel entertainment was the best we have seen so far on our National trips.The tours were excellent with our driver Ian who certainly knew stuff about this area of the country.All in all a thoroughly recommendable trip.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a view over the garden,,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

A 'great' review - thankyou.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
186 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing