We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value For Money Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Value For Money Break”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked our first coach holiday through Shearings and picked this trip partly due to the Cotswold area but also by other reviews on Tripadvisor. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after by friendly, courteous and efficient staff. The food was excellent and although some people have commented on the small portions, there was always enough! The hotel was clean, warm and our room, 22, was lovely and quiet. This hotel is a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside and there are so many different places to visit within a short drive. We cannot believe the value for money we had on this holiday and would definitely recommend it to anyone on a budget. Special thanks to Andy, our waiter in the restaurant who was always smiling, and Alan the coach driver who made sure everything when smoothly despite the atrocious weather!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room (at the back of the hotel), some rooms were noisy due to the evening enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoloGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great that you appreciate all our efforts to give you a good holiday which as you say was an 'amazing value for money break'. I will pass on your praise to all involved and hope that you will carry on recommending us to future guests.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    147
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
49
260
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This was a weekend away with friends. The hotel and staff on the whole were very good. The food was excellent and always very hot. On the down side the bath in our room was rusty and infect dangerous as it had sharp edges to a very poor attempt to repair it. The TV is in need of replacing and bring up to date but having said that it was adequate. Value for money this was a great weekend with great friends and certain didn't break the bank. Would we stop there again, O yes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, I am pleased you had a great weekend and I will pass on your praise to all the staff involved including the Chefs for the 'excellent' food they provided. I will look into the maintenance isssues so we are able to rectify the faults for future guests. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I may be giving the wrong impression of this hotel with average markings but having just spent five days with my wife on a shearing break we were a little up set with a few things but when you add them all up it makes it difficult for me to recommend. I do try to be fair as we don't pay a lot for these breaks but when there is not enough staff on and the corridor by the bedrooms stinks due to a earlier bath flood, we think it could be easily remedied with a little effort, and although the porter chappie was doing his best it required a little money throwing at it . So come on Bay hotels spend a little in 2014 for the benefit of your paying clients.


The staff were working to there best each day,but sometimes hard work needs a little help further help.




Woodleywag.

Room Tip: We were in room three on the ground floor and apart from the smell outside in the corridor it was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I am disappointed to read your comments and whilst clearly you are 'upset', I am a little confused as to what more you think could have been done, the leak was due to a blocked pipe which was totally unforeseen, it flooded part of the corridor and happened prior to your arrival on Monday, the flood water was cleaned up immediately after and we then hired an industrial machine to shampoo the whole area again to ensure there were no further issues. You also comment that 'there were not enough staff on' I am not sure as to what you are referring to as there were no staffing issues during your stay here. As with any guests staying at the hotel I would ask that you let us know if there is a problem whilst you are here so we are able to either rectify the situation or give an explanation instead of having to respond in this way which I feel is rather unfair to all concerned.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was the first time that we stayed at an hotel for new year and we picked one of the best.
The staff we very efficient at the jobs and the food was some of the best we have had any where, the entertainment was very good and we would recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Manny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your review as I said in previous reviews its great to welcome back old 'friends' but also so good to meet new, we are pleased you had a good time and are happy to recommend us to other guests. I hope your time here has encouraged you to book again for a New Year break and if not here at another of our hotels.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Although big Shearing holiday fans this was our first venture on a New Years Eve break. As a couple in our mid 60s we thoroughly enjoyed the stay at this hotel.
The staff in all quarters were excellent, friendly , helpful and full of enthusiasm. We even had an impromptu cabaret from one of the young lady chefs and some of her colleagues on New Years Eve itself despite the fact they had worked very hard all day making our day a memorable one.
The food was faultless the rooms spotlessly clean. A little decorating in room 19 wouldn't go amiss but I understand this is already scheduled this year.
The three nights of live musical entertainment were purely first class and we were well looked after by our host and compere Clive and his lovely wife Berni.
All in all the whole experience was a very good one. Would we go again? Already booked for next year so we don't miss out.
Thank you all very much for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your thoughts, it is always a pleasure to read such praise and good to know that despite all the hard work put in by my team they are also able to have a bit of fun too ( I hope someone recorded it, as most guests know I was absent due to my clumsiness and missed the performance!!)
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another fantastic new year break at the Prince of Wales hotel. This is the third year we have celebrated New Year there and each year just gets better. The food this year has been outstanding, complements to the chief as well as Melanie and all her staff for there hard work looking after everyone. Entertainment every night by varied artist, especially enjoyed Ian Lockyer on New Year's Day, a great musician and all hosted by the fantastic Clive Cope as MC and assisted by his lovely wife, Bernie, who kept us all entertained from the first evening till the close of play.
We enjoyed it so much we have rebooked for New Year 2014. We are self drive and find it an excellent base for visiting Gloucester, the Cotswolds and Bristol.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you both for your 'fantastic' review I will pass on your kind words to all the staff especially the Chefs who are so often hidden behind the scenes. As you know all play a part including the entertainment team lead by Clive and Bernie and its wonderful to be appreciated. We enjoy seeing 'old & new' faces and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in Walkden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just returned from a Shearing Turkey an Tinsel and not what we expected. Reception staff not always very helpful. Food could have been better. Plates always hot but variety poor, especially the Xmas dinner. Our young waiter was very pleasant. Toast at breakfast was always cold and I think they just popped in toastr and took out straight away. Asked about bingo on first night and was told it would be played if enough people wanted to play but none of the staff enquired if people wanted to play so it was just on the last night.First night entertainment was not announced and the artists was singing to about 4 people till people realised where the entertainment room was. We had quite a nice room but very cold as the wind blew in from the windows and th window ledge was always wet. Will not be going on anymore trips to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not mind being miles from nearest village on a main road-great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we try to give as much information as possible when you arrive, there is also a hotel notice board plus bedroom information pack and as we are a very small hotel with public areas ie bar, restaurant and entertainment room all leading from the main reception area on the ground floor I am not sure how the entertainment could be missed, we cannot force guests to attend either the entertainment provided or make them play bingo so if anything is under attended I am afraid there is very little we can do.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing