We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend break deal, but due to unforeseen circumstances were unable to get there until after the restaurant had closed at 8pm on the first night, so were not able to have our proper meal. However, having contacted the reception and explained that we would be late, they arranged to plate up two ham salads and two deserts, which we were able to eat in the bar on our arrival. The meal was more than adequate and we were grateful for the co-operation and helpfulness of Megan and Sam who were on duty that evening. The rest of the stay was enjoyable and the meal on the second night was also reasonable. The early finish to the serving of meals was a little disappointing and the service, though good, was almost too quick, making the meal seem a little rushed. A voucher scheme for drinks on the second night was good with most drinks served and others available for just a small supplement. However, the Bay Hotels brochure advertising the break gave the impression that the vouchers would be available on both nights, but they were not. The public areas of the hotel and the bedrooms are tidy enough with a pleasant bar and reception area, but the outside of the hotel is not very appealing as it is positioned right alongside the A38, several miles away from the village of Berkley. However, there is plenty to do in the area within a short car journey. The strength of the hotel is definitely its friendly, helpful staff, but the hotel itself would benefit from some redecoration, particularly outside.

Room Tip: Our room was not on the roadside so was quiet enough, but those next to the road may suffer from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to Megan, Sam and the other staff for looking after you on your arrival and during your stay. If you read pervious reviews some guests comment that they would like to be served quicker so as you can imagine it is quite difficult to please everyone but we do try. We are doing our best with the exterior but as part of the building is by a busy road it does lead to quite a lot dirt & grime, we,ve also just had the worst rainful for many years over the last 3months which does take its toll but hopefully now spring seems to be here we will be able to brighten everything up again. There are no guest rooms on the roadside so hopefully most people will not be disturbed by traffic noise.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    146
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
47
260
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co.durham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Went to this hotel with national coach travel. I must say before I begin the driver Dave was great top marks to him.

Well the hotel was in the middle of now where. Checked in o k staff fine. Room clean bed terrible bumpy springs every time you turned over.

The meals were like a school canteen, not a lot of choice very small portions no gravy boats so some meals were very dry. Breakfast fine but cold toast. The gala evening we had free drinks but when I asked for a lot of coke I was made to pay for a bottle.

One afternoon came back from Bath went to have shower the dirty towels wet had just been shook and folded and put back on towel rail, also bath not cleaned out also sink still dirty.

All in all would have prefered to pay a bit extra on price for a better deal on meals.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jameslambton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sending in your comments I will be looking into the issue with the drinks on Saturday evening but it may be what you were asking for was considered to be two separate drinks. As per the previous review from the same tour, the room information does state that any towell change requests should be left in the bath so I will ensure all staff are following the correct procedures, also as stated on the previous review there are four meal choices per main course and 3 each of starters & desserts, I would deem this perfectly acceptable for a set dinner menu within the price you paid, as you state you would have paid extra for a 'better deal' on the meals which would have been possible in the bar had you expressed a wish to do so.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Booked as part of a national coach holiday. hotel is in the middle of nowhere. next to a trunk road and railway, so plenty of noise. check in was quick and easy.
restaurant food was only moderate, given child size portions of main meal and veg on side.only limited choice. no buffet.
breakfast was much the same, only allowed to get ur own cereal everything was brought to you by waiting staff, who were very good.
main gripe with hotel, was the fact we put our used towels in bath as instructed, the maids only shook them and folded them and put them on cold radiator to dry. when we informed the girl on reception she looked in amazement said it hadn`t happened and only believed when presented with four wet towels.
would I stay again definite NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sending in your comments, I am sorry you didnt enjoy your holiday, most guests say they are not affected by any noise either from the road or trains but I am afraid it does depend what noise levels you are used to. We provide a large diner menu with four choices of main course and three each of starters and dessert, we do sometimes run out and you do not always get your preferred selection but there is always an alternative. Due to the size of the restaurant it is impossible to have buffet service. I am sorry about the response received when you complained about the towells, the information in the bedroom requests any towells left in the bath will be changed so apologise as this must have been a mistake by the staff.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

we have just returned from a four night break we had a lovely time from entering into reception we were met with friendly staff took straight to our rooms our friends room had been decorated ours needed new wallpaper but this did not mar our stay on the first night we were shown to our table and the meal was excellent and breakfast the next morning was good every meal after that was great we relaxed in the lounge most nights saw the entertainment one night which was good I would recommend this hotel to more of our friends

Room Tip: ring the hotel for a room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I rather like the heading 'wonderful hotel' we are due to start re-decorating some bedrooms very soon so hopefully next time you return it will be lovely, fresh and new. Look forward to seeing you again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just had a good week at the Bay Prince of Wales. Staff all efficient and friendly, from reception to restaurant/bar to house keeping. Rooms are a reasonable size and clean. Food was ok for the price we paid. Entertainment was good helped along by 4 free drinks each per night. It is isolated so no where else to go, but we knew that beforehand. Our coach driver Alanwas very friendly with loads of info on each place we visited.
Would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard1958811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we look forward to your return.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked our first coach holiday through Shearings and picked this trip partly due to the Cotswold area but also by other reviews on Tripadvisor. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after by friendly, courteous and efficient staff. The food was excellent and although some people have commented on the small portions, there was always enough! The hotel was clean, warm and our room, 22, was lovely and quiet. This hotel is a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside and there are so many different places to visit within a short drive. We cannot believe the value for money we had on this holiday and would definitely recommend it to anyone on a budget. Special thanks to Andy, our waiter in the restaurant who was always smiling, and Alan the coach driver who made sure everything when smoothly despite the atrocious weather!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room (at the back of the hotel), some rooms were noisy due to the evening enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoloGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great that you appreciate all our efforts to give you a good holiday which as you say was an 'amazing value for money break'. I will pass on your praise to all involved and hope that you will carry on recommending us to future guests.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This was a weekend away with friends. The hotel and staff on the whole were very good. The food was excellent and always very hot. On the down side the bath in our room was rusty and infect dangerous as it had sharp edges to a very poor attempt to repair it. The TV is in need of replacing and bring up to date but having said that it was adequate. Value for money this was a great weekend with great friends and certain didn't break the bank. Would we stop there again, O yes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, I am pleased you had a great weekend and I will pass on your praise to all the staff involved including the Chefs for the 'excellent' food they provided. I will look into the maintenance isssues so we are able to rectify the faults for future guests. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing