We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base To Explore Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Base To Explore Area”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Staff helpful, food good.'Gala' dinner consisted of normal meal with a small dish of tinned fruit served between soup and main.Entertainment every night of a good standard. Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast basic, toast cold every morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your response, I would like to point out that we do not serve 'tinned fruit', what you had for your interim course was fresh pineapple and fresh melon. As with the previous review regarding the toast I would ask any guest to bring it to the attention of the waiting staff who will happily provide you with more. I will pass on your compliments to all involved.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    152
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
50
263
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire uk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to this hotel as a five day break but took our car. The hotel is in the middle of nowhee along side a busy road, but this was no problem for us. The exterior of the hotel in not very appealing but there is a large car park. The check in was swift and the hotel staff are very friendly full marks to them. Our room was on the ground floor as requested although we had to pay an extra £10 to ensure that we had one, surely in can be done on a first come first serve basis? The room was at the back of the hote, along the way the wallpaper and door frames had seen a lot of wear and tear. Our room was clean but I found the bed very hard. The food whilst there is a good choice the portions are rather small. The toast is made and then put under a hot light where it is left till its needed, this meant some days the toast was dry and hard. Again the dining room staff are very friendly and service was good. The gala dinner was just an extra course of melon, not what I would call a gala!
Overall this holiday was as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are in the process of re-furbishing parts of the hotel but because we are busy all year round the corridors do get 'a lot of wear and tear'. I would ask any guest staying here to let the staff know if there is anything they are not happy with ie cold toast, it is done that way to prevent guests having to wait too long but if you find it is cold or hard it is not a problem for them to prepare some more.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A nice hotel. Food lovely, though I don't know why the toast was stone cold every morning. It's almost impossible to digest. The gala dinner was a let down, an extra course was added, which was melon and pineapple ( I only got the core of the pineapple) in a tiny dish. Still the staff were pleasant. Will not be returning for another visit though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read after your comments that it was a 'nice hotel, lovely food and pleasant staff' that you will not be returning.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Being a regular Bay and Coast and Country client, I have yet to be disappointed with any of their establishments, which seem to be improving their standards at a number of the locations that we have visited over these past years. We booked in for a long weekend self drive break and were allocated a well appointed room upon arrival. The room was clean comfortable and well appointed. Our beds were comfortable and we slept well every night,
The quality and choice of menu at breakfast and evening meal was excellent although I must admit that the portions at meal times appear to be decreasing from that offered in previous years.
The hotels location is excellent for touring this interesting area of England. The hotel has ample car parking facilities with disabled areas near the accommodation.
All the staff we encountered during our visit were friendly and courteous and we would have no hesitation in recommending this reasonably priced hotel to anyone wishing to take a short break or longer holiday in this part of England.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review, as you are regular traveller with Bay/Coast & Country Hotels it is good that you have noticed the improvements within the company, we are working very hard to give the best service we can and its been a difficult few years due to the reccession, not everyone appreciates what we have achieved but I am very pleased to see that you do and are happy to reccommend us to others.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend break deal, but due to unforeseen circumstances were unable to get there until after the restaurant had closed at 8pm on the first night, so were not able to have our proper meal. However, having contacted the reception and explained that we would be late, they arranged to plate up two ham salads and two deserts, which we were able to eat in the bar on our arrival. The meal was more than adequate and we were grateful for the co-operation and helpfulness of Megan and Sam who were on duty that evening. The rest of the stay was enjoyable and the meal on the second night was also reasonable. The early finish to the serving of meals was a little disappointing and the service, though good, was almost too quick, making the meal seem a little rushed. A voucher scheme for drinks on the second night was good with most drinks served and others available for just a small supplement. However, the Bay Hotels brochure advertising the break gave the impression that the vouchers would be available on both nights, but they were not. The public areas of the hotel and the bedrooms are tidy enough with a pleasant bar and reception area, but the outside of the hotel is not very appealing as it is positioned right alongside the A38, several miles away from the village of Berkley. However, there is plenty to do in the area within a short car journey. The strength of the hotel is definitely its friendly, helpful staff, but the hotel itself would benefit from some redecoration, particularly outside.

Room Tip: Our room was not on the roadside so was quiet enough, but those next to the road may suffer from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to Megan, Sam and the other staff for looking after you on your arrival and during your stay. If you read pervious reviews some guests comment that they would like to be served quicker so as you can imagine it is quite difficult to please everyone but we do try. We are doing our best with the exterior but as part of the building is by a busy road it does lead to quite a lot dirt & grime, we,ve also just had the worst rainful for many years over the last 3months which does take its toll but hopefully now spring seems to be here we will be able to brighten everything up again. There are no guest rooms on the roadside so hopefully most people will not be disturbed by traffic noise.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.durham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Went to this hotel with national coach travel. I must say before I begin the driver Dave was great top marks to him.

Well the hotel was in the middle of now where. Checked in o k staff fine. Room clean bed terrible bumpy springs every time you turned over.

The meals were like a school canteen, not a lot of choice very small portions no gravy boats so some meals were very dry. Breakfast fine but cold toast. The gala evening we had free drinks but when I asked for a lot of coke I was made to pay for a bottle.

One afternoon came back from Bath went to have shower the dirty towels wet had just been shook and folded and put back on towel rail, also bath not cleaned out also sink still dirty.

All in all would have prefered to pay a bit extra on price for a better deal on meals.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jameslambton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sending in your comments I will be looking into the issue with the drinks on Saturday evening but it may be what you were asking for was considered to be two separate drinks. As per the previous review from the same tour, the room information does state that any towell change requests should be left in the bath so I will ensure all staff are following the correct procedures, also as stated on the previous review there are four meal choices per main course and 3 each of starters & desserts, I would deem this perfectly acceptable for a set dinner menu within the price you paid, as you state you would have paid extra for a 'better deal' on the meals which would have been possible in the bar had you expressed a wish to do so.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Booked as part of a national coach holiday. hotel is in the middle of nowhere. next to a trunk road and railway, so plenty of noise. check in was quick and easy.
restaurant food was only moderate, given child size portions of main meal and veg on side.only limited choice. no buffet.
breakfast was much the same, only allowed to get ur own cereal everything was brought to you by waiting staff, who were very good.
main gripe with hotel, was the fact we put our used towels in bath as instructed, the maids only shook them and folded them and put them on cold radiator to dry. when we informed the girl on reception she looked in amazement said it hadn`t happened and only believed when presented with four wet towels.
would I stay again definite NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sending in your comments, I am sorry you didnt enjoy your holiday, most guests say they are not affected by any noise either from the road or trains but I am afraid it does depend what noise levels you are used to. We provide a large diner menu with four choices of main course and three each of starters and dessert, we do sometimes run out and you do not always get your preferred selection but there is always an alternative. Due to the size of the restaurant it is impossible to have buffet service. I am sorry about the response received when you complained about the towells, the information in the bedroom requests any towells left in the bath will be changed so apologise as this must have been a mistake by the staff.

Melanie Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
5.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,499 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
669 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Prince Of Wales Hotel Berkeley, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing