We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Wotton-under-Edge)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens(Thornbury)(Great Value!)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
216
167
61
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
167
61
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivecoach drivershearings hotelscoach holidayevening entertainmenthalf boardown transportnational holidaysno lifta ground floor roomweekend breakmain roada large car parkbusy roadberkeley castlelong weekendmy wife and i have just
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Staff helpful, food good.'Gala' dinner consisted of normal meal with a small dish of tinned fruit served between soup and main.Entertainment every night of a good standard. Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast basic, toast cold every morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your response, I would like to point out that we do not serve 'tinned fruit', what you had for your interim course was fresh pineapple and fresh melon. As with the previous review regarding the toast I would ask any guest to bring it to the attention of the waiting staff who will happily provide you with more. I will pass on your compliments to all involved.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to this hotel as a five day break but took our car. The hotel is in the middle of nowhee along side a busy road, but this was no problem for us. The exterior of the hotel in not very appealing but there is a large car park. The check in was swift and the hotel staff are very friendly full marks to them. Our room was on the ground floor as requested although we had to pay an extra £10 to ensure that we had one, surely in can be done on a first come first serve basis? The room was at the back of the hote, along the way the wallpaper and door frames had seen a lot of wear and tear. Our room was clean but I found the bed very hard. The food whilst there is a good choice the portions are rather small. The toast is made and then put under a hot light where it is left till its needed, this meant some days the toast was dry and hard. Again the dining room staff are very friendly and service was good. The gala dinner was just an extra course of melon, not what I would call a gala!
Overall this holiday was as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are in the process of re-furbishing parts of the hotel but because we are busy all year round the corridors do get 'a lot of wear and tear'. I would ask any guest staying here to let the staff know if there is anything they are not happy with ie cold toast, it is done that way to prevent guests having to wait too long but if you find it is cold or hard it is not a problem for them to prepare some more.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A nice hotel. Food lovely, though I don't know why the toast was stone cold every morning. It's almost impossible to digest. The gala dinner was a let down, an extra course was added, which was melon and pineapple ( I only got the core of the pineapple) in a tiny dish. Still the staff were pleasant. Will not be returning for another visit though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read after your comments that it was a 'nice hotel, lovely food and pleasant staff' that you will not be returning.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Being a regular Bay and Coast and Country client, I have yet to be disappointed with any of their establishments, which seem to be improving their standards at a number of the locations that we have visited over these past years. We booked in for a long weekend self drive break and were allocated a well appointed room upon arrival. The room was clean comfortable and well appointed. Our beds were comfortable and we slept well every night,
The quality and choice of menu at breakfast and evening meal was excellent although I must admit that the portions at meal times appear to be decreasing from that offered in previous years.
The hotels location is excellent for touring this interesting area of England. The hotel has ample car parking facilities with disabled areas near the accommodation.
All the staff we encountered during our visit were friendly and courteous and we would have no hesitation in recommending this reasonably priced hotel to anyone wishing to take a short break or longer holiday in this part of England.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review, as you are regular traveller with Bay/Coast & Country Hotels it is good that you have noticed the improvements within the company, we are working very hard to give the best service we can and its been a difficult few years due to the reccession, not everyone appreciates what we have achieved but I am very pleased to see that you do and are happy to reccommend us to others.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend break deal, but due to unforeseen circumstances were unable to get there until after the restaurant had closed at 8pm on the first night, so were not able to have our proper meal. However, having contacted the reception and explained that we would be late, they arranged to plate up two ham salads and two deserts, which we were able to eat in the bar on our arrival. The meal was more than adequate and we were grateful for the co-operation and helpfulness of Megan and Sam who were on duty that evening. The rest of the stay was enjoyable and the meal on the second night was also reasonable. The early finish to the serving of meals was a little disappointing and the service, though good, was almost too quick, making the meal seem a little rushed. A voucher scheme for drinks on the second night was good with most drinks served and others available for just a small supplement. However, the Bay Hotels brochure advertising the break gave the impression that the vouchers would be available on both nights, but they were not. The public areas of the hotel and the bedrooms are tidy enough with a pleasant bar and reception area, but the outside of the hotel is not very appealing as it is positioned right alongside the A38, several miles away from the village of Berkley. However, there is plenty to do in the area within a short car journey. The strength of the hotel is definitely its friendly, helpful staff, but the hotel itself would benefit from some redecoration, particularly outside.

Room Tip: Our room was not on the roadside so was quiet enough, but those next to the road may suffer from traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Island_Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to Megan, Sam and the other staff for looking after you on your arrival and during your stay. If you read pervious reviews some guests comment that they would like to be served quicker so as you can imagine it is quite difficult to please everyone but we do try. We are doing our best with the exterior but as part of the building is by a busy road it does lead to quite a lot dirt & grime, we,ve also just had the worst rainful for many years over the last 3months which does take its toll but hopefully now spring seems to be here we will be able to brighten everything up again. There are no guest rooms on the roadside so hopefully most people will not be disturbed by traffic noise.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews