We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
276
200
75
24
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
276
200
75
24
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Just coming to the end of a wonderful stay at the hotel prince of
wales in berkeley.

Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Rooms were really nicely done.

Food was excellent for the price
Will definately come again.

If your looking for 5 star hotel then book a 5 star hotel.

If your looking for a really good mid week cheap break, this is it.

At £99.00 for 4 nights half board, You wont get any better than this.
I have been to lots of shearings hotels and this is by far the best yet,for accommodation and food.

The only drawback is the location on the busy A38. But that also means good links to surrounding places if interest.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank SALLY ANNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pow33, General Manager at Prince Of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Thank you so much for posting your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your mid week break. I will pass on your praise to all concerned and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

we spent the week at the hotel from the 23 to the 27 of dec it was great the staff were tireless and could not do enough for us even though they were working on xmas the food was very good indeed compared to some of the other hotels tn the chain the compare come host come father xmas and his wife went out of their way to ensure a good time all round the management and staff get a huge thanks from us

Room tip: they all looked good to me
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank craftytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pow33, General Manager at Prince Of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you so much, we all really appreciate your kind words, I will pass on to all of the team. So glad you had a lovely Christmas with us, even though we are working we enjoy ourselves too.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

We have spent many New Years Eves at Shearings and other hotels and this was one of the best. It does not look great from the road but once inside the staff were excellent, the food very good and some great entertainment. The rooms were warm and clean. It is a bit like the tardis as it seemed to have little lounges every where and a great room for the gala dinner where you sat for the entertainment too. There was no rush to get the food out and back which we have experienced before in other hotels. All in all very good value for money.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pow33, General Manager at Prince Of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your New year break and gala dinner with us and agree that whilst outside appearances are important. what is on the inside of our 'Tardis' should have far more impact on the enjoyment of your holiday. I will pass on your lovely comments to all of the team.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

We have just returned from our New Year’s Break!
Fabulous in every way!
This was our 9th consecutive year, need we say more!
Melanie and her wonderful team, are all excellent, making sure everyone has the best time! Thank you to all your wonderful team!
Food was excellent, as always!
Not forgetting The Host & Hostess Clive & Bernie Cope, Entertaining guests, and
keeping everything running smoothly!
Plus a variety of Cabaret artist keeping us entertained, with special mention Simon Kelly, a fabulous singer!

We have already rebooked for New Year 2020..

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pow33, General Manager at Prince Of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for your fabulous review, so pleased you enjoyed it, as always its a pleasure to welcome you both back. Its wonderful to have so many guests return year after year and fantastic to meet new guests who then become regulars, a smashing crowd who I know enjoyed a lovely few days but especially the dinner dance on New Years Eve, amazing feedback which makes it all the more enjoyable for us too.
Look forward to seeing you for your 10th year!!

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Stayed here at the weekend whilst on a Twixmas break with National/Shearings. It was a friendly welcoming place and all the staff both on reception and in the dining room. The bedroom was fine, the common rooms werre very nice and dining room was especially nice-very good food indeed-4 choices for each course. My only complaint was that there was no lift. This was ok most of the time but was difficult when carrying up your suitcase, I had to ask for assistance-which they willing gave me-would recommend this Hotel

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bluequeen2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pow33, General Manager at Prince Of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your Twixmas break, my apologies about the luggage, we would normally offer to take suitcases but maybe you were missed during check in, pleased we were able to rectify, I would urge any guests to ask for assistance during their stay here as I know my team will always be happy to oblige. Thank you for recommending us to others.

Melanie Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews