We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk out”

Werneth Low Country Park
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hyde
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great walk out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent place to walk round the lake especially when it's sunny
Also if you've got kids it's great to take them down and feed the ducks,,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Afternoon with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed a rainy afternoon with 6 kids and our doggy , took some bacon butties and a flask of coffee x

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissEngland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

You would think I would be biased in favour of this local attraction, having grown up in this area, but, although there have been changes to make this better it is now so well used by walkers and their dogs, it is now a challenge to get to the top without stepping in the abundant piles of dog poo! Yes - dog poo! Many people clean up after their dogs, many others don't and leave either a steaming pile - or not, depending on the age of it - or, and I don't know if this is worse - a bag of dog poo, tied up and left on a path, or a bench. Either way it is disgisting, and as a result I avoid walking in this "beauty spot"

It's such a shame - no, it's a disgrace - that dog owners are mistreating this place because there is some lovely, and lively walking to be had, not to mention the panoramic views to be had from the top. There's a large compass, set in a stone table, at the top of the hill with all the landmarks marked on it; on a clear day you can see all the way over to Jodrell bank - and standing on the top when one of the Emirates airbus planes glides majestically on its way to Manchester airport, is breathtaking.

The war memorial, or cenotaph, right at the top dominates the skyline for quite a few miles. On a clear day you should be able to see wind turbines and Hartshead Pike, way in the distance. So, yes, there are positives about a walk up to the top of Werneth Low, but is it marred by the aforementioned canine contributions being left by their owners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jood2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lived near here most of my life and spent many hours walking around this place up hill and down hill with our dogs and without. Just a pleasant place to be especially when the sun shines

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Amazing place. Just a few miles from the hustle and bustle of Manchester you can stand on top of the hill and look down over Manchester, Derbyshire, as far away Winter Hill in one direction and the Welsh Hills in another. Its worth going to the Visitors Centre and the War Memorial. Or just wander about as we do.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Werneth Low Country Park also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Hyde, Greater Manchester
 
Stalybridge, Greater Manchester
Greenfield, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Werneth Low Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing